No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Harleys Inn

4Self Classified Small Hotel Ratings explained
Harleys, Market Street Staveley, Chesterfield, S43 3UT
Keith and Linda welcome you to Harleys Inn,Staveley, Chesterfield. With a diner, overnight bedrooms, and a welcoming environment, Harleys Bar is the perfect choice.

Breakfast, bar snacks & evening meals
Relax in our superb restaurant, offering a varied menu of traditional homemade food
Vegetarian Menu available
Lunchtime 12 - 2pm
Evenings 5 - 8pm
Sunday Carvery 12 - 3pm

8 en-suite bedrooms
All rooms are en-suite with satellite/television and tea & coffee making facilities.
Free parking & CCTV in operation.

Big screen TV's with satellite
Internet access
Late bar Friday and Saturday with our resident DJ
Covered smoking area

OUT AND ABOUT;
2 minutes walk to The Healthy Living Centre with fitness suite, swimming pool, health spa and climbing wall.
Fishing - Chesterfield Canal, Poolsbrook Country Park & Ringwood Park
Golf - Barlborough Links & Tapton Golf Course
Snooker - Staveley working mens club with full sized snooker tables
Markets - Staveley every Friday & Chesterfield every Monday, Friday & Saturday
Gateway to the Peak District - National Park, home of Chatsworth House,
Abraham Heights, Bolsover Castle, Crich Tramway Museum, Matlock Bath, Barrowhill Railway Museum and much more.

WE ALSO OFFER HARLEYS FOR ALL PARTIES, INCLUDING CHILDRENS PARTIES, CHRISTENINGS AND FUNERALS
WHATEVER YOUR OCCASSION HARLEYS IS THE PLACE TO CELEBRATE IT.
Picture of Harleys Inn, Chesterfield at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since May 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 15 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
69% recommended this accommodation to a friend 69% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

There was a party down stairs until 2am in the morning with music playing which was not good

Reviewed by
J Teale

From Stratford upon Avon, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic
Spent 3 nights there and wanted to stay longer. On late rooms it stated there was no card machine and everything had to be paid cash. This is wrong. I used my card to pay several times. Drinks are very reasonably priced. The meals were excellent. Breakfast was a full English, with juice,cereal,toast,tea or coffee. all for £6-95. Dinnner and evening meals were of the highest standard. The best of it all was the Sunday Carvery. Famous for only one reason the quality and standard. At a fantastic price of £7-00 for an adult it was very good reason to enjoy it. the host Keith and Linda were really friendly and hospitable. Even the late disco on the Saturday night was fun. I look forward to going back.

Reviewed by
Richard Snowden

From Llandudno, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Clean enough, but you get what you pay for
Check in was smooth enough, although I was not given a receipt which I had to ask for again later.
Breakfast is only served at 9AM, I said that was too late, but there was no other time given. The room was very clean, but up in the attic, and far to hot. The only mirror is in the bathroom, there isn't one in the bedroom area.
I got back to the pub after an evening out about 10PM, there was about 7 people in the bar, and everyone just stopped talking and looked at me when I walked in, all that was missing was the tumbleweed! Been a female on my own, this is very intimidating. The area where the pool table is next to the security coded door could do with a light in so that you can see the code on the key fob. Thankfully the door was open anyway (great security) so I didn't have to go back into the bar and be stared at again.

Reviewed by
Louise B

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Brilliant little gem tucked away
Don't be put off by the location - first appearances very deceptive. The staff who booked me in were very welcoming, efficient, helpful.I was a late evening arriver, so it was quiet, getting dark - but when they lead you to the accomodation - light airy, away from public areas, and quiet! Some people may want fancy frills and chintz - the room I was in was clean, tidy, had everything I needed. Comfortable? After a long day at work, I really fancied a drink in the bar, so I thought after a wash and a sit down, I'd nip back down. I woke about fourty minutes later - thats how comfy it is. And quiet.And if you order a breakfast - wow! Great service, friendly, and a real family feel to it (in my opinion) - didnt seem like I was away at all! Travelled alone for this stay due to a Business meeting that day - it was that good, I intend going back and staying with the wife when we visit that area. Top banana - cant say any more!

Reviewed by
Kevin W

From Withernsea, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

night out in chesterfield
We were attending a 30th birthday party in Chesterfield.
We booked a room for 4 adults which only cost £71 (£18 each) which was a bargain.
The room had 2 singles and a double as well as an en suite bathroom with shower and bath.
The room was not luxury but was ideal for a short overnight stay for cheap.
The hotel is easy to find and has a morrisons opposite.
Taxi's are also very cheap from Chesterfield town centre to the hotel, even at 2:00am it only cost £9.
They also gave us the side door key so we could come back in late at night, for a £10 refundable deposit.
Would recommend for anyone who wants to stay overnight in Chesterfield.

Reviewed by
craig b

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good
Clean and tidy, very good value for money.

Reviewed by
P Richards

From Droitwich, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Feedback
Lovely staff and the room was great!

Reviewed by
Lorraine E

From Wolverhampton, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Staff were very welcoming and friendly. The breakfast was lovely and plenty of it. Room was clean
We really enjoyed our stay here. The only drawback was the disco which was on until 02.30 which sadly did keep us awake. We were unaware of this when we booked.

Reviewed by
Julie B

From Immingham, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

WORST HOTEL.
The hotel was horrendous. Staff were, however, friendly and sorted out an issue with the rooms when we first arrived. The room was filthy, thick dust behind the chair, hairs on the chair and bed, stains on the bed cover, shower didn't work at all.
There are no words to describe how awful the food was.
The place was completely dead, despite being told it would liven up at 8. It got to 11 on a Saturday night and still we were the only people in the place - never a good sign.
After a horrible nights sleep due to a disco going on below (even with the lack of people) we were ready to leave. We skipped breakfast and got out of there sharpish.
There is no way on this earth it is a 4* hotel. Just don't bother with it.

Reviewed by
I Normington

From Norwich, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A great place for a stag party
The Harley is a place for guys, mainly for working contractors who stay there during the week, returning home at weekends. It would be a great place for a stag night. There is a massive screen in the lounge for Sky Sports and another good sized one in the bar so that you don't have to miss any action while buy your round. The lounge is filled with music and sport memorabilia, vinyl records with photos of rock stars, guitars, etc. As for the rooms, they are very basic. We had booked two rooms as we were travelling with my elderly mother. The rooms are very clean, but very Spartan. There are no bedside lamps/lights for reading; I guess most male guests don't need to read at night before falling asleep as they have usually consumed large quantities of beer! The bathrooms were basic but very clean, although, the shower proved very problematic running from blazing hot to freezing cold. The beds were okay but contained only sheets and bedspreads, no duvets or spare blankets which would have been appreciated because it was quite chilly in the rooms. They do serve a full English breakfast which I was told cost £6.95 although it is advertised on their lobby for £5.95 so we may have been misinformed. We did not partake but saw two platefuls being served as we left in the morning. The servings looked very generous and well presented. This wasn't our sort of place, but it was all that was available at the time and we could have done a lot worse. The owners and staff were very accommodating considering we probably were not what they are used to as guests.

Reviewed by
Brenda Harvey

From UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Family

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next