Villa Esplanade Apartments & Hotel Rooms

3

South Cliff Esplanade, SCARBOROUGH, YO11 2AQ

Price From 142.92 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (121)

72% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • Colin Shearer

  • June 2015

Review of Villa Esplanade

Hotel is in a great position.

Apartment was clean and tidy with plenty of room to move about. The rooms could do with a little modernisation but on the whole they were excellent. The staff were excellent and were well looked after. We would definitely go back to the hotel if we go back to Scarborough.

  • Kim Olivier

  • June 2015

Mixed experience

Arrived and the owner was immediately giving us 'but' comments about the apartment, which we'd booked as they had no rooms left.

He mentioned a double and a twin (which was what we'd booked through late rooms and what we'd expected) but not both in the same room. He said he was full but offered us another bedroom on the top floor but with no toilet etc so no good. He also offered us our money back - bit late to find somewhere as we were going to a 50th birthday party that evening and had travelled 4 hours to get there. We settled for moving single mattresses into living area and getting a complimentary late checkout (you have to check out by 9.30am otherwise!) which would have cost another £10. He was also going to charge us for towels as it was an apartment but let us off. The water never got hot enough for a shower or bath unfortunately. Saying all this the apartment was lovely and huge and would be great for a family. it overlooked the beach/sea, you just need to know what you're getting first.

  • Ian M

  • May 2015

James Gig

Stayed in the apt for one night in May 2015 .

The flat was clean and spacious and the hotel receptionist was very helpful . My only regret is not staying for the weekend.

  • A Ellis

  • May 2015

Scuffy dump

We booked this accommodation very last minute as a last resort over the telephone.We didnt get chance to look at reviews.

If we had done there is no way we would have booked it. On our return and looking at the tripadvisor website, the photos are nothing like the room we were given. Room 23 was in the annexe part of the building, it consisted of a bedroom, kitchen and a bathroom. All 3 were not up to standard and the flat should not be let out to paying guests. Wd paid £99 for the one night for two people with no breakfast. Complete rip off. I dont know how this premise get away with charging outrageous prices for substandard accommodation. The reception area says it all and dont know what the other apartments look like but we certainly drew the short straw. The only reason we stayed was because we had no other option. Would we return, never in a million years. Laterooms, you should be monitoring the accommodation you advertise on your website and not allowing Hoteliers to rip guests off.

  • austen jones

  • April 2015

excellent room, building a bit tired but great value and location and served the purpose well

  • C Beddow

  • April 2015

scarborough stay

Reception was good, very helpful.

Stair & corridor looking aged, but our room had been updated, was clean & comfortable.

  • S Worton

  • April 2015

Cheap n Cheerful

  • Pauline M

  • April 2015

Shabby not chic

Dated and grubby

  • Pete S

  • April 2015

Things got a lot better...

Arrived and no-one at reception but waited for 5 mins and owner's daughters appeared with key.

They were very helpful. Got to room and found a number of problems including TV that wouldn't budge from ITV, no curtain on toilet window allowing full view to people walking past and glass table top that was very loose and dangerous. However, on reporting these, they were dealt with immediately and without fuss. All in all, we enjoyed our stay but could have done without the problems to start off with.

  • Helen S

  • April 2015

Draughty but perfectly located

The Villa Esplanade was perfectly located for Olivers Mount, it was around a ten minute walk to the spectators foot entrance.

The accommodation was spacious, but the draught from the poorly fitting sash windows made it a cold evening, although the spare quilt in the wardrobe meant we were warm enough once we were in bed. The bathroom had been fitted out with quite modern tiles and was pleasant and spacious. The bedroom had a large wardrobe, bedside tables, dressing table and chair and plenty of room to move around. (The mexican under the hotel is not connected to the hotel apparently and was fully booked so if you want to eat there make sure you book well in advance.)

At the end of the day we paid a budget price for our accommdation which was in exactly the right location for us, the room was large if draughty, but met our needs and yes, I'd probably book there again for another visit to Olivers Mount, although I'd make sure to take some warmer clothing next time. Staff were friendly and helpful, but the free wifi only seemed to work in reception. The rooms are on electric meters but ours was well charged when we arrived so it didn't cost us anything and we only used around £1 overnight and that was charging a phone, using a hair dryer and straighteners and switching the electric heater on for an hour to take the chill off the room.