No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Pontins - Southport Holiday Park

2Self Classified Guest Accommodation Ratings explained
Pontins Southport Holiday Centre, Shore Road , Southport, PR8 2PZ
Southport is one of our great traditional seaside resorts with miles of open stunning sand dunes and award winning beaches. A scene of tranquil parks and gardens by day that transform into a vibrant nightspot when the sun goes down.
Picture of Pontins - Southport Holiday Park, Southport at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 76 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
34% recommended this accommodation to a friend 36% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

I lasted 15 minutes and that was too long
Worst place I have ever been to. Took one look and handed the keys back.
It was a case of cutting my losses as I had already paid in advance.

Reviewed by
George B

From Worksop, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Stayed here with my daughter, had a really good time, brillliant value for money, no complaints at all

Reviewed by
SHAUN C

From Liverpool, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Pontins prison camp
Oh my god . What a dive . I have stayed in many many places over the years through work and holidays , and this was the most shocking by far . I stayed here through work because of location but if this was for my family holiday would have left and demanded refund . The room was filthy , dated and very poor quality. The windows all had a very thick layer of dirt on them , skirting boards black and mouldy . Shower head disgusting , rusting hinges on doors which had tracked down walls . I can safely say this room had never been cleaned . I could go on and . I have enjoyed holidays at butlins , haven , parkdean , park resorts but this was unbelievable . Pontins should be ashamed

Reviewed by
Kevin Dennis

From Southampton, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Pontins - A Step back in time!
Going to Pontins was like taking a step back to the 70's! The chalets are very basic, and some of hte staff pretty unhelpful, especially the ladies in the Java Coffee "Lounge" ( A prefabricated hut) a smile might not have gone a miss!

Reviewed by
Janet Cooney

From Malaga, Spain
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Could do with a good clean
Won't be back really dirty bathroom did it for me. Don't expect to go on holiday and have to clean pubic hairs from toilet before it can b used. Room itself was okish as far as cleanliness. One good thing was food was good on half board option. And entertainment one night was good. Won't go again unless they clean up a lot

Reviewed by
Susan G

From Huddersfield, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Do not stay here you will not feel safe
This holiday park is a Nightmare! We had mistaken identity, flooded room and people actually knocking on our door very late in the evening asking if our room was free as pontins' s computers said it was. This lady also had our room key in her hand in case no one answered! Customer services was a joke and mamy many people were being given hotel rooms in town instead of staying in such a mad chaotic place. We would highly recommend that you avoid this place

Reviewed by
Jim S

From Bournemouth, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Checked in at four o clock and was told not all the rooms had been cleaned. At eight o clock i went to reception to report that our room still had not been cleaned. Then at ten o clock i had to go back again to ask for the room to be cleaned. The dirty sheets where still on the bed from the previous people and i was waiting to put my three year old and 20 month old children to bed. The cleaners did come at approx 10.20. The people on reception didnt seem very concerned that i had young children to put to bed or for the fact that 6 hours after my check in time i was still waiting to use the room.

Reviewed by
a lock

From Peterborough, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Disappointing.
Accommodation in poor state of repair and needed cleaning. I feel the price paid was excessive for the standard of accommodation.

Reviewed by
Tina F

From Nottingham, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

you get what you pay for !!!!
pontins southport was an education !!! the customer service on the reception desk was none existent .. we booked in with no problem but as we walked away I realised that we hadn't been provided with wristbands for the breakfast & dinners we had booked ... so went straight back to the desk to explain ... we were then told we hadn't paid for these ... luckily my email was still on the desk and we used this to confirm we had .... the snotty girl on reception told us we don't do dinner bed and breakfast we only offer half board !!???!!!! she was really rude to us and didn't even have the courtesy to apologise and admit she was mistaken and didn't return with our wristbands instead sending a colleague to do the job for her, again with no apology ... I am just so thankful the email was to hand .... the actual camp cannot accommodate the number of guests it has and so after 7pm it is impossible to find a table in the main club house where the main entertainment is provided which apart from the free swimming is the only other free thing pontins offers ..... don't get me wrong this was a bargain break so were under no illusions it would be 5 * however customer service should be a dead certainty regardless of price .... pontins saving grace are their restaurant staff who do a stirling job and must put up with some right grief ... the dinner slots are pointless and sometimes means you can be queuing 40 mins before you even get your meal ..... if you're looking for a cheap family holiday then you'll be fine ... southport is absolutely beautiful but please do not expect to be wowed by pontins as you will be left sadly disappointed !

Reviewed by
a clarke

From Barnsley, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The kids will love it
My kids are 12 and twins are 7.. They loved the swimming pool and the evening entertainment.
The Blue coats were friendly and great with the kids.
The room was basic and ours was clean... However heard other people saying that theirs was in a very poor state.
We went half board.. They food was good.. The problem is that you had the queue for at least 30 mins..
Also can get very noisy at night...
But for a cheap get away could not complain

Reviewed by
Barrie M

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Family with young children

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 Next