No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Pontins - Southport Holiday Park

2Self Classified Guest Accommodation Ratings explained
Pontins Southport Holiday Centre, Shore Road , Southport, PR8 2PZ
Southport is one of our great traditional seaside resorts with miles of open stunning sand dunes and award winning beaches. A scene of tranquil parks and gardens by day that transform into a vibrant nightspot when the sun goes down.
Picture of Pontins - Southport Holiday Park, Southport at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 71 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
36% recommended this accommodation to a friend 37% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Disappointing.
Accommodation in poor state of repair and needed cleaning. I feel the price paid was excessive for the standard of accommodation.

Reviewed by
Tina F

From Nottingham, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

you get what you pay for !!!!
pontins southport was an education !!! the customer service on the reception desk was none existent .. we booked in with no problem but as we walked away I realised that we hadn't been provided with wristbands for the breakfast & dinners we had booked ... so went straight back to the desk to explain ... we were then told we hadn't paid for these ... luckily my email was still on the desk and we used this to confirm we had .... the snotty girl on reception told us we don't do dinner bed and breakfast we only offer half board !!???!!!! she was really rude to us and didn't even have the courtesy to apologise and admit she was mistaken and didn't return with our wristbands instead sending a colleague to do the job for her, again with no apology ... I am just so thankful the email was to hand .... the actual camp cannot accommodate the number of guests it has and so after 7pm it is impossible to find a table in the main club house where the main entertainment is provided which apart from the free swimming is the only other free thing pontins offers ..... don't get me wrong this was a bargain break so were under no illusions it would be 5 * however customer service should be a dead certainty regardless of price .... pontins saving grace are their restaurant staff who do a stirling job and must put up with some right grief ... the dinner slots are pointless and sometimes means you can be queuing 40 mins before you even get your meal ..... if you're looking for a cheap family holiday then you'll be fine ... southport is absolutely beautiful but please do not expect to be wowed by pontins as you will be left sadly disappointed !

Reviewed by
a clarke

From Barnsley, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We booked 4nights half board,accommodation was poor,fridge filthy and foot missing off it.it had some dirty paper rolled up trying unsuccessfully to keep it level.Lino rough and dirty throughout,windows filthy,microwave dirty,whole site totally run down.Had to cue for keys for an hour on arrival,staff said they didn't know what the deay was when guests began shouting.Meals were very poorly organised and very limited choice.We were given a 30 minute time slot for our coloured band acd had to cue for a minimum of 25 mins to be served.We were booked in mon-fri but left on the Wednesday morning as we couldn't stand it anymore.We would strongly urge people not to go there.

Reviewed by
stephen cavanagh

From Sunderland, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good fun, friendly staff
Had a good weekend break, spacious room, clean plenty to do

Reviewed by
katie F

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Yes Pontins is dated,but for the price, it was a great stay room was clean, site was clean, swimming pool was excellent and all the amenities are cheap.

Reviewed by
richard m

From Birmingham, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Customer service was excellent and the park was family friendely, kids loved the whole park and we will definately be returning next year for a longer period of stay

Reviewed by
c douglas

From Paisley, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Had a great time at pontins no complaints ( and I'm normally a complainer!!) kids had a great time ... Grown ups did too

Reviewed by
Linzi B

From Manchester, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

you get what you pay for
This was a last minute booking, wanted to stay near the Magull area because we were attendindg a family funeral, all other hotels suggested were booked for the dates we needed .
Dirty chalets, breakfast was stone cold on first morning , didnt have it the second.If this had been booked for a holiday would have left straight away If you decided to go there take cleanig equipment

Reviewed by
valerie e

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

never agAin
Its dirty the food is disgusting
Needs a good clean and a new chef

Reviewed by
m bennett

From Preston, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Urgent overnight stay
A mistake with a pre booked stay in southport left us with nowhere to stay for one night. Pontins had availability and cheap so booked 1 night at last minute. Arrived at site and it took over an hour to book in as they had no information of our booking . Reception area very hot, noisy and busy but staff helpful. Room adequate for one night.
Given breakfast vouchers and to be fair food was pretty good but the 45 minute queuing was a bit off putting and for many people it was like a free for all with food on the floors and cereals in the milk dispenser.
Pontins seem to be working hard on improving the site but still have a long way to go.

Reviewed by
Stella T

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 Next