No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - MacDonald Arms Hotel

3Self Classified Small Hotel Ratings explained
Mcdonald Arms Hotel, Main Street Balbeggie, Perth, PH2 6EU
The MacDonald Arms Hotel has been open since 1780 and is currently owned by husband & wife team Euan & Kirsten Smith. Having purchased the hotel in August 2007 they have been making improvements continually ever since.

Great food is served all day everyday from 12 noon.

Accommodation is available at very competitive rates and is used regularly by business clientèle, shooting, golfing & fishing parties.

The bar & lounge are open every day for light snacks & refreshments.
Picture of MacDonald Arms Hotel, Perth at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 55 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
97% recommended this accommodation to a friend 97% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Helpful
A wonderful place to stay , the owners were most helpful right from getting there
I highly recommend this place

Reviewed by
neil macdonald

From Isle of Lewis, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic relaxing few days
What a lovely hotel and pub. The owners are very very friendly and welcoming. Nothing is too much trouble and they provided information about the surrounding area to help us enjoy our days out.
We travelled down from Aberdeen and this trip was last minute and we are so glad we chose to stay here. Would definitely recommend and we would definitely return.
Brilliant relaxing atmosphere. Many thanks :-)

Reviewed by
lorna blake

From Inverurie, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent friendly service

Reviewed by
Kathleen Leggat

From Glasgow, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Two night stay in August 2014
We stayed at the McDonald Hotel for two nights in August 2014 and it was lovely. Very friendly owners Euan and Kirsten took great care of us. We arrived late (7pm) and I phoned ahead to make sure that would be ok, it was fine, but Kirsten was more concerned we would be too late for dinner! We had one of the quickest check-ins I've experienced (they handed us the keys and showed us to our room, none of those long forms to fill in), and we had plenty of time for dinner. The food was lovely, and I tried the haggis starter which was fab. Breakfasts were well catered and Euan's cooked breakfasts were better than those we had at a hotel chain we stayed at after we moved on. Overall we wanted somewhere nice to stay whilst travelling on a budget, and the MacDonalds arms exceeded our expectations. The room was slightly small but it didn't matter as we could still watch TV on the bed, both the room and bathroom was clean, and the bathrooms were the same size as you would find in any hotel chain. We will definitely look to come back!

Reviewed by
L Craggs

From Gateshead, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very welcoming lovely little bar. excellent food. altogether a fantastic nights stay. everyone very
Will be back

Reviewed by
Sylvia D

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good value.
Enjoyable stay. Staff excellent. Food good value. Will stay again.

Reviewed by
Elliott H

From Alfreton, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

very nice stay, ideal for a visit into perth.

Reviewed by
m kelly

From Coventry, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Enjoyable
Nice hotel with good service and pleasant staff.

Reviewed by
Carol B

From Falkirk, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Escape from the huzzle and bussel

Reviewed by
Grace Noble

From APO, USA
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

would recomend
I would reccomend this hotel and go back myself it was lovely and clean the owners are the nicest people you could meet and food was lovely

Reviewed by
martin f

From Ellon, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 Next