No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - MacDonald Arms Hotel

3Self Classified Small Hotel Ratings explained
Mcdonald Arms Hotel, Main Street Balbeggie, Perth, PH2 6EU
The MacDonald Arms Hotel has been open since 1780 and is currently owned by husband & wife team Euan & Kirsten Smith. Having purchased the hotel in August 2007 they have been making improvements continually ever since.

Great food is served all day everyday from 12 noon.

Accommodation is available at very competitive rates and is used regularly by business clientèle, shooting, golfing & fishing parties.

The bar & lounge are open every day for light snacks & refreshments.
Picture of MacDonald Arms Hotel, Perth at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 66 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
97% recommended this accommodation to a friend 97% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Took a chance based on the reviews from others and the percentages but it was absolutely fine.For me,very good value for money based on the standard and prices in the locale and only just out of Perth (minutes).

Reviewed by
JOHN D

From Derby, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

excellent
we stayed due to close location for the Ryder Cup and have to say was an excellent stay and everything was fantastic. Thank you Euan

Reviewed by
andrew lee

From Cannock, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Perth was hard to get accomadation due to the Ryder cup found this little gem great value for money

Reviewed by
william d

From Aberdeen, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

This was a last minute booking. We had never stayed near Balbeggie before. The reviews were very good and the accommodation and service exceeded expectations.

Reviewed by
S Black

From Tain, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Overnight stay
Comfortable and clean room with facilities to match. Only stayed one night but found the staff cheerful and helpful. Ate in the restaurant which supplied good quality food and reasonable prices and overcalled very satisfied with the standard.
A little far from Perth if you wanted to have a drink in the town but for a one night stop it was excellent.

Reviewed by
C Yates

From Manchester, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

I can strongly recommend that place.
I dont normally write any comments, but I must say this was one of the best place I've ever stayed. Not becouse of quality of the hotel (bare in mind its not 5* hotel), but the quality of the service I had received from people running that place. Dont believe me? Go and check Yourself.

Reviewed by
Daniel D

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

excellent hotel
Everything about the Macdonald Arms is good. The owners and staff are hard working, efficient, friendly and helpful; the food is great and the hotel is spotless. The location is peaceful without being remote, within easy reach of Perth and Perth Racecourse and is ideal for exploring the lovely Perthshire area. A real gem.

Reviewed by
Sandra F

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great place to stay
Stayed here for one night for our wedding anniversary. Room was nice and clean with everything you would need. Tea and coffee, tv, towels.
Food was lovely, we had the steak pie for dinner and it was probably the best I've had.
Prices were reasonable for food and drink.
Would definitely recommend it.

Reviewed by
lyndsay m

From Kilmacolm, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

great quality country pub / inn
well worth a visit ,if you like a quality inn/pub. rooms medium size don't let this put you off they are quiet and very clean.great food and a reasonable range and price..our fish was fresh from aberdeen and was first class and large...the owners are more than helpfull...if i had a pub they could run it.many thanks for a grand stay...willl be seeing you again.

Reviewed by
d griffiths

From Pontypridd, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Enjoyable Stay
Would highly recommend - Well run friendly establishment. Food was delicious and excellent value for money. I had a excellent nights sleep. Cleanliness was to a very high standard. Will definitively stay again.

Reviewed by
MICK W

From Hartlepool, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next