You have not entered any valid search criteria.

Please enter your destination and perform your search again.

Reviews - MacDonald Arms Hotel


Mcdonald Arms Hotel, Main Street Balbeggie, Perth, PH2 6EU

Price From 71.71 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.


All reviews (18)

100% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service

Food quality

Room quality


  • chris p

  • October 2016

MacDonald Arms Hotel

Welcoming owners, good food, comfortable bed - shame the TV in the bar kept freezing in the middle of the match.

  • Margaret R

  • August 2016

Enjoyable Stay

Stayed for 3ngts with another couple.

Great location for touring the east coast just 6mls from Perth. Owners Euan and Kirsten are very friendly, the hotel is basic so if you're looking for luxury and comfort it's not for you, but it's clean, friendly and the food is great. We'd stay again if we were travelling that way but not in room 1, if I was staying longer I'd definitely re-arrange the furniture, the dressing table with mirror has no socket to plug in hairdryer etc unless you pull the dresser out to reach the plug hidden down behind it, the sockets are on the opposite side of room with the hospitality tray which I may add had a plentiful supply of everything you need to make a cuppa with lovely biscuits. The shower has quite a high step into it which can be difficult for anyone disabled.

  • Walter M

  • August 2016

Gem of a hotel

Comfortable and homely.

Owner was very pleasant and helpful. Good food and overall excellent value for money. Had a great stay. Thanks.

  • Debbie N

  • July 2016

Very Friendly

Great service, very friendly.

Very comfortable and clean. Good food

  • Robin M

  • June 2016

First Class Accomodation

A lovely place to stay.

The room was very clean and the hosts Euan and Kirsten were perfect hosts and looked after us very well. We would recommend this excellent hotel.

  • Naomi W

  • March 2016

MacDonald Arms Hotel

Very comfortable pub accommodation.

Plenty of parking for those like me who are doing a driving holiday. This was the first time in weeks that I actually took my suitcase into the hotel as there weren't any tiny stairs to climb. Staff were lovely.

  • Alexander Robertson

  • September 2015

Overnight oasis

After driving some 200 miles I was ready for a meal and a good nights sleep.

What I got was much more than that. Nice ambience and great welcome, excellent steak and very friendly and helpful staff. I had a great nights sleep and an excellent breakfast next morning. I would not hesitate to recommend the hotel and will definitely stay here again

  • Neil Holliday

  • September 2015

An excellent all round service - Really EXCELLENT!

We had no complaints about any aspect of our stay at the MacDonald Arms Hotel.

Every aspect of our stay was first class and we could have been in a four star hotel. The staff and management were extremely helpful, the accommodation was first class and the food would impress John Terode as to the quality. We enjoyed the family atmosphere that was evident in the hotel and all of our needs were met to the full and more. We would very happily return to stay here again and highly recommend this service to our family, friends and anyone reading this feedback. All rooms are at ground level and easily accessible from either of two car parks. I was offered assistance with my luggage; the only hotel where this was offered during our trip and there was a back door to the accommodation area which was between the car parks and easily accessible from our room and all the rooms in the hotel. An all round excellent experience!

  • a lowe

  • September 2015

Weekend stay

this is our second visit and I am sure it won't be our last,as our stay was a very pleasant experience.

We found the owners to be extremely friendly and always happy to ensure that guests have an enjoyable time.

  • Sheila S

  • August 2015

MacDonald Arms Hotel

Stayed here overnight, the room was clean and comfortable.

Hosts were friendly and helpful.