No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - MacDonald Arms Hotel

3Self Classified Small Hotel Ratings explained
Mcdonald Arms Hotel, Main Street Balbeggie, Perth, PH2 6EU
The MacDonald Arms Hotel has been open since 1780 and is currently owned by husband & wife team Euan & Kirsten Smith. Having purchased the hotel in August 2007 they have been making improvements continually ever since.

Great food is served all day everyday from 12 noon.

Accommodation is available at very competitive rates and is used regularly by business clientèle, shooting, golfing & fishing parties.

The bar & lounge are open every day for light snacks & refreshments.
Picture of MacDonald Arms Hotel, Perth at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 62 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
97% recommended this accommodation to a friend 97% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

excellent hotel
Everything about the Macdonald Arms is good. The owners and staff are hard working, efficient, friendly and helpful; the food is great and the hotel is spotless. The location is peaceful without being remote, within easy reach of Perth and Perth Racecourse and is ideal for exploring the lovely Perthshire area. A real gem.

Reviewed by
Sandra F

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great place to stay
Stayed here for one night for our wedding anniversary. Room was nice and clean with everything you would need. Tea and coffee, tv, towels.
Food was lovely, we had the steak pie for dinner and it was probably the best I've had.
Prices were reasonable for food and drink.
Would definitely recommend it.

Reviewed by
lyndsay m

From Kilmacolm, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

great quality country pub / inn
well worth a visit ,if you like a quality inn/pub. rooms medium size don't let this put you off they are quiet and very clean.great food and a reasonable range and price..our fish was fresh from aberdeen and was first class and large...the owners are more than helpfull...if i had a pub they could run it.many thanks for a grand stay...willl be seeing you again.

Reviewed by
d griffiths

From Pontypridd, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Enjoyable Stay
Would highly recommend - Well run friendly establishment. Food was delicious and excellent value for money. I had a excellent nights sleep. Cleanliness was to a very high standard. Will definitively stay again.

Reviewed by
MICK W

From Hartlepool, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

country hotel
country hotel in small village just north of Perth, outside tables for good weather, lots of car parking, quiet at night. V good meals for vegetarian, dinner and evening. Friendly helpful couple in charge and had good cycling on v quiet country roads.Single room a bit on small side but v clean and ensuite.

Reviewed by
c o'hara

From Edinburgh, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely staff and excellent service
Good choice of beer and good food

Reviewed by
D Foster

From Maryport, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly, welcoming stay
This was a friendly pub in a rural location a few minutes from Perth centre which was ideal for us. The staff were exceptionally welcoming and helpful and the food was very tasty although we only had breakfast. The room was very standard and basic but had everything you needed including a decent TV! The best part about this place was the location and exceptional staff but maybe a bit too basic considering the money - although I would definitely recommend and would return myself. Lovely stay!!

Reviewed by
G Ryan

From Oakham, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Food and Accomodation couldnt fault it, brill value for money, food abs beautiful at all times whatever time you go in, always made very welcome by Euan and Kirsten and all the staff who work there, even the regulars make you very welcome lovely hotel

Reviewed by
isobel t

From Buckie, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Helpful
A wonderful place to stay , the owners were most helpful right from getting there
I highly recommend this place

Reviewed by
neil macdonald

From Isle of Lewis, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic relaxing few days
What a lovely hotel and pub. The owners are very very friendly and welcoming. Nothing is too much trouble and they provided information about the surrounding area to help us enjoy our days out.
We travelled down from Aberdeen and this trip was last minute and we are so glad we chose to stay here. Would definitely recommend and we would definitely return.
Brilliant relaxing atmosphere. Many thanks :-)

Reviewed by
lorna blake

From Inverurie, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next