BEST WESTERN Whitworth Hall Country Park Hotel

3

Spennymoor, Durham, DL16 7QX

Price From 229.66 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (23)

91% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • D Hetherington

  • April 2015

When we arrived, our room was not ready, but they upgraded us to a fab room.

We had Afternoon Tea was was lovely, ate in the Library restaurant for Dinner which was wonderful. Breakfast also good

It is a really nice location, very quiet

Also fed the Deer

  • Margaret M

  • January 2015

Slight refurbishment required

Certain areas of our bedroom needed attention re painting & tidying up

  • Tricia H

  • November 2014

Perfect venue

An excellent place to stay in easy reach of Durham, lovely building, views of the deer park from bedroom window.

Delicious food, the liquorice icecream was a delight!

  • G Sidaway

  • August 2014

Great location

Lovely oasis of calm as surrounded by a deer park.

Only criticism is the shower which was very under powered.

  • Robin Wickenden

  • July 2014

Nice Setting

Have stayed at this hotel a few times before.Beginning to look a bit jaded but to be fair there was quite a lot of redecoration going on so hopefully this will make a lot of difference.

A nice setting in the middle of a Deer Park.

  • Margaret L

  • May 2014

Transported to another time

Beautiful surroundings and a magnificent property – it felt as though we were in another era – great atmosphere.

  • J Warren

  • May 2014

Bad experience

Firstly couldn't find our booking, secondly wi-fi rubbish couldn't access anywhere in hotel & thirdly meal & service was awful in brasserie, ended up refusing to pay for food.

Shame as hotel lovely, could do with new carpets & curtains in areas as stained but setting is wonderful.

  • m guy

  • March 2014

Work stop over

Second visit here, as last time the accommodation was really spacious, clean and well specified with everything needed for a pleasant stay.

The staff are helpful and attentive however my colleagues and I found the food let the venue down, could be better but certainly wont distract us from staying again, we would just eat elsewhere.

  • ALAN G

  • March 2014

Comfortable and characterful

Lovely quaint and quiet old mansion house.

Nice neat and tidy room and didn't have to go up stairs. Bathroom immaculate. Bed maybe a bit firm for some people's likings. Room nice and warm on bitter cold weekend. Food v good , would have preferred buffet style breakfast but still plenty. Black Sheep real ale excellent. Staff nice and friendly, maitre d gent top bloke. Needs a bit of new carpet here and there in the corridors but no other comments, would stay again. Loved the super cute deer right outside.

  • W THOMSON

  • February 2014

Great Weekend

First visit to Whitworth Hall.

Reassuringly reviews held true and Whitworth Hall was all as expected. Extremely welcoming, friendly staff who ensured a great three night stay over Valentine's weekend. Upstairs front bedroom, room 7, was perfectly placed with extensive views over parkland and deer enclosure. Although the hotel was busy there was no noise either from within the hotel or from the driveway access to and from car park. Room was spacious, well furnished, clean and warm. Decoration and furnishings within the hotel were comfortable and relaxing, with an interesting mix of wall hangings. Quality and presentation of food was exceptional and good value in formal, less formal and breakfast restaurants. Hotel is well situated for easy travel to the many visitor centres and remain a quiet retreat from the bustle in the evenings. Return visit guaranteed.