No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - BEST WESTERN Compass Inn

Not Classified  Hotel Ratings explained
Tormarton, Badminton, GL9 1JB
The BEST WESTERN Compass Inn stands in six acres of beautiful grounds in the heart of the countryside near Bristol, with its prettiness perched on the edge of the Cotswolds for complete convenience! The walking is wonderful, and of course, the world famous Badminton horse trials are held in the neighboring village should you want a little pedigree with your personality. We're lucky to call this quiet rural location home, as we hope you will be during your visit... with such fantastic access to both the M4 and M5 motorways! If you're here for a quick stopover, we'll be no less accommodating than if you were with us for an extended stay, and Heathrow airport is only one and a half hours by car to make it easy to leave us when the time comes (though our high standards and commitment to your comfort may make your exit a tad harder to complete!). Ideally suited for visiting Bristol, Bath and the Cotswolds, guests will benefit from excellent access in and out, whether choosing us to host meetings, functions or relaxing breaks.
Picture of BEST WESTERN Compass Inn, Badminton at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 13 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
76% recommended this accommodation to a friend 76% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Close to M4
helpful staff and convenient as a stopover. However, food leaves something to be desired. How can you mess up a breakfast?

Reviewed by
P Snook

From Pulborough, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very nice place for a good price!
Very nice place for a good price!

Reviewed by
garry f

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Sorry to only stay one night
Very friendly staff. Hotel was very busy due to a wedding being held there but we were treated very well and courteously.

Reviewed by
D Morgan

From Newry, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Will stay here again
The hotel was easy to find just off the main road so a quiet location. The people on reception were friendly and helpful. The room was large (a family room), it was nicely decorated with modern lighting. However, there was a slight smell of damp and the corners of the ceiling had large cobwebs and dead spiders in them and the windowsill could have done with a clean . The bathroom was the same really. Basically clean, but needed a really good clean above eye level. On the plus side, the shower was excellent! The bed were comfy and clean. The fridge in the bedroom was a bit annoying going on and off during the night.k I'm not trying to be negative but if it was just a little cleaner then i would give it a 6! The food was excellent as was the restaurant set in a lovely conservatory with grape vines growing from the ceiling! Would stay again.

Reviewed by
A FAIRBURN

From Wetherby, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

I'm very happy!
A very good experience, Good value for money!

Reviewed by
Maria A

From Henley on Thames, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely hotel
Very helpful and friendly service from staff members.. Good value for money. Would definitely stay here again!

Reviewed by
Gemma K

From Oldbury, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely stay & fantastic wedding venue
I stayed for my mothers wedding & the staff were so friendly, helpful & polite. We requested an early check in prior to arrival (as wanted to get ready before wedding) & reception were more than happy to help, barely had to wait. I only marked the room down purely because of the bathroom, which I feel needs a little attention / refurb, other than this, room was clean & bed was super comfy! We obviously ate quite a bit as the wedding breakfast was also in the hotel, the food was absolutely amazing!
I think Penny (????) was in charge of the day & she was great, all from start to finish no hiccups & ran smoothly, would definitely stay again!!!

Reviewed by
Clare H

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Pleasant Hotel
Nice friendly staff, room was clean and functional, food was ok. Just off the motorway, good for an en-route stop.

Reviewed by
Phil W

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

This hotel was well situated being just off the motorway. We were given the Orchard room which was very spacious and clean, it is an old building but the room had been updated well. The staff were friendly and helpful. Unfortunately there was a wedding on during our stay which meant to get to the (small) bar, we had to go out on to the road and walk round to bar entrance. We had a bar meal, my lasagne was ok but not brilliant for £10.50, my partner had the steak pie, again about £10.50 but was microwaved to the point that some of the pie was rock hard. During the day the bar was full of locals which meant we were forced to sit in the garden which was ok because the weather was nice. After an evening out, we came back to find the staff had taken over the bar so again we were forced to sit outside.
Although the staff were very friendly, I feel this 'hotel' is more geared up for weddings and hotel guests came second.

Reviewed by
j rowley

From Fareham, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A good place to stay. Unfortunately, in this instance, there was a limited menu on the bank holiday weekend

Reviewed by
brian b

From UK
Who stayed in May 2013

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next