Reviews - Mercure Newcastle George Washington Hotel Golf and Spa

3

Stone Cellar Road, High Usworth Washington, Tyne and Wear, NEWCASTLE, NE37 1PH

Price From 143.46 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Good

All reviews (24)

67% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • S Robinson

  • January 2016

Mercure Newcastle George Washington Hotel Golf and Spa

Fantastic food in the restaurant.

Pricey, but worth the money. Cocktails were superb. Spa was lovely until a group of pre teen girls came in screaming and shouting on ruining a quite, restful time in a relaxing spa. The staff should have confronted the girls however no staff were at hand at the spa to monitor this.

  • J Hufton

  • September 2015

Stopped for Great North Run

We were overall satisfied with our stay, we were disappointed that because it was for the Great North Run we had to pay for 2 nights when we could only stay the one night due to family commitments and the price we paid did not include breakfast, that was an extra £13 each if not booked in advance.

I did phone up to try and swap the days we stopped so that we were able to take advantage of what we had paid for and because we booked through late rooms they wouldn't even look into it for me which I thought was a bit harsh. Also just been a bit picky the net curtain in our room was ripped, which again for the price we paid I did expect things like that to be in good condition. other than that it was a pleasant stay, very clean, good room sizes and good sized beds. It had everything you needed in a room for a comfortable and enjoyable stay.

  • Chris W

  • April 2015

Friendly staff, good facilities

  • J Baker

  • February 2015

Room well above 3 star standard

We received a warm welcome from reception and the room was a very pleasant surprise well above what we had expected for a 3 star rated hotel and what we had paid.

Our granddaughter was staying with us and we were able to use the leisure facilities all within the very favourable cost. The breakfast menu was very extensive and well presented, the only minor detraction was that the coffee/tea had been left standing for some time in heated jugs.

  • P Moody

  • January 2015

Good one night stopover

Excellent hotel ,only one would have bothered me we had room 236 which was a good way from reception luckley we only had a overnight bag if we a couple of bags it would have been a pain dragging them up an some stairs.Other than that the hotel was excellent.

  • s risby

  • December 2014

Gemma was amazing at customer service there was no hesitation in helping me get an early breakfasts

The room did not smell very nice

  • Mark Baxendale

  • December 2014

What Happened to a Previously Good Hotel?

This was my second stay at this hotel.

For whatever reason the management at Mercure have decided to change it into a "theme" hotel with the "theme" being Hollywood. Very odd as the extent of this runs to a few depictions of the world famous Hollywood sign from the hills in Los Angeles dotted around the venue and some large posters of blockbuster movies in the bar. The room numbers have changed but the signage has not resulting in many confused guests with bags wandering around looking for their rooms for the night. The restaurant is very over priced with poor quality food. The waiting on staff are very pleasant but forgetful and not experienced in any way.

  • carol m

  • December 2014

Anniversary stay

As always we had an excellent and enjoyable stay.

Staff friendly as always made us feel at home.

  • Chris Burfitt

  • November 2014

Lovely friendly staff, quality accomodation.

I stayed for two nights - the staff were really friendly and helpful, and the accomodation was very good quality.

I would have no hesitation in staying again and recommending this hotel to others. It's relatively convinient for the city centre, either by a short taxi ride to the nearest Metro station, or 15 minute taxi ride into the town centre. A good alternative to staying in the city centre.

  • stephen turner

  • November 2014

Rooms

The allocated room was very warm, and although we mentioned this the next day, we were not moved as expected but given several Fans to cool the room.

This didn't work so we had to mention it again. This time we were moved, however the room was not very good with very tired décor throughout. Rather gave the impression it was due redecoration but sufficed for us. There was no offer of recompense for our disruption and we moved rooms ourselves. Altogether it seemed the staff were not too bothered, and when we mentioned it at check out the reception appeared embarrassed to have asked, and the question of " how was your stay" merely lip service. The breakfast on the Saturday was not buffet and yet cost £13.95 (less a discount apparently - we were not aware of that at the time)