Last Minute Accommodation > World > Europe > UK > England > North England > North East England > Tyne and Wear > South Tyneside > Washington Hotels > Mercure Newcastle George Washington Hotel Golf & Spa
No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Mercure Newcastle George Washington Hotel Golf & Spa

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Stone Cellar Road, High Usworth Newcastle Upon Tyne, Washington, NE37 1PH
This hotel has its own 18-hole championship golf course, a gym and an indoor swimming pool. Easy access to nearby cities of Newcastle, Sunderland,and Durham.Also nearby the famous Metro Centre shopping Mall, and Beamish Open Air Museum.The hotel has recently received a £9million investment with the majority of the 103 bedrooms completely refurbished, a newly renovated restaurant, bar and brasserie area, new golf clubhouse and beauty salon.Free Wi-Fi throughout the hotel
Picture of Mercure Newcastle George Washington Hotel Golf & Spa, Washington at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since January 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 52 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
66% recommended this accommodation to a friend 71% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Anniversary stay
As always we had an excellent and enjoyable stay. Staff friendly as always made us feel at home.

Reviewed by
carol m

From Kinghorn, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

What Happened to a Previously Good Hotel?
This was my second stay at this hotel. For whatever reason the management at Mercure have decided to change it into a "theme" hotel with the "theme" being Hollywood. Very odd as the extent of this runs to a few depictions of the world famous Hollywood sign from the hills in Los Angeles dotted around the venue and some large posters of blockbuster movies in the bar. The room numbers have changed but the signage has not resulting in many confused guests with bags wandering around looking for their rooms for the night. The restaurant is very over priced with poor quality food. The waiting on staff are very pleasant but forgetful and not experienced in any way.

Reviewed by
Mark Baxendale

From Cambridge, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely friendly staff, quality accomodation.
I stayed for two nights - the staff were really friendly and helpful, and the accomodation was very good quality. I would have no hesitation in staying again and recommending this hotel to others. It's relatively convinient for the city centre, either by a short taxi ride to the nearest Metro station, or 15 minute taxi ride into the town centre. A good alternative to staying in the city centre.

Reviewed by
Chris Burfitt

From Llangollen, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Poor accommodation
Request a course view room. Was located in an "enclosed" room with no view except looking in on other guests rooms. (Room 7). Requested a change but unable to provide due to coach party arriving the next day. outside of the patio window was full of cigarette butts (even though rooms were non smoking).
Bed was uncomfortable and could feel all of the springs on the left side of bed. Right side of bed was
fine.

Ordered evening meal. Starter was nice but main meal was cold and did not eat it. We were offered a 20% discount but chose to pay in full and gave feedback to manager regarding meal.
Room was dusty especially near bed and by radiator and bathroom towel rail did not work.
Used the swimming pool and spa area - steamroom and sauna - which was nice.
Was woken by other guests (coach party) arriving in late from a night out (3am) on the Sunday morning.
Did not have breakfast but was given discount vouchers for the 2 nights stay (£10 vouchers).

Check out was quick and efficient.

Reviewed by
LINDA HILL

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Rooms
The allocated room was very warm, and although we mentioned this the next day, we were not moved as expected but given several Fans to cool the room. This didn't work so we had to mention it again. This time we were moved, however the room was not very good with very tired décor throughout. Rather gave the impression it was due redecoration but sufficed for us.
There was no offer of recompense for our disruption and we moved rooms ourselves. Altogether it seemed the staff were not too bothered, and when we mentioned it at check out the reception appeared embarrassed to have asked, and the question of " how was your stay" merely lip service.
The breakfast on the Saturday was not buffet and yet cost £13.95 (less a discount apparently - we were not aware of that at the time)

Reviewed by
stephen turner

From Cullompton, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Service!
I arrived late, so just wanted some room service rather than going down to the restaurant. My food was delivered very promptly, piping hot and of a fantastic quality, could not be faulted.
All of the staff I met were really friendly and as this is a golf course, it's a peaceful place to stay.

Reviewed by
Leon W

From Kenilworth, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Stop in NE England
The GW is THE place to stay in the northeast

Reviewed by
K D

From Liverpool, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good Hotel
This is a good hotel with a really good golf course.

Reviewed by
Robert H

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room 1
Room 1 is noisy all night at it is above the bar/dining room and gets all the extractor fan noise droning all night. Horrendous night sleep. Came back to our room later on Saturday night and no hot or cold water in shower,sink or flush on toilet. Hotel full so no other room available - had to use 'general' toilet facilities in night! Next morning no apology or real explanation given by hotel staff and these rooms are not cheap!

Reviewed by
John N

From Pershore, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Mixed results
Initially we were given a double bed room in the same general vicinity as wedding party guests (only 6/10 for this, but we appreciate that this was because the room was less of a walk), and the room above was creating a lot of noise as they had invited other guests in. We requested an alternative and were given a different room immediately (10/10 for prompt action). Unfortunately the alternative room had twin beds (3/10 for not thinking this through) and we informed the front desk. Hotel manager appeared promptly and put us in the next room which had a double bed, so 10/10 for swift action. We understand the hotel is designed for travelling sales/ golfing/wedding guests, and was not really suitable for our stay, costs of a stay are too high for the level of accommodation, which is basic, but we would recommend it to people who are overnighting on a company credit card. please note that the bar seating area is too small. Some serious consideration must be given to doubling its seating capacity. We went for a pre-dinner drink, but had to leave as there was no seating and we drove into Concorde . Some hotel fixtures and fittings need to be repaired (metal signage on doors was broken or hanging).

Reviewed by
malcolm m

From Houghton le Spring, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 Next