No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Peel Aldergate

4Visit England Assessed Guest Accommodation Ratings explained
13-14 ALDERGATE , TAMWORTH, B79 7DL
The Peel Aldergate has 19, 4 star rated guest bedrooms with an excellent and popular restaurant, serving English and European food. Christopher’s restaurant is open residents and the public for breakfast, lunch and dinner.

The Peel offers free parking (for 16 cars) and free Wi-Fi for all guests. Rooms all feature hospitality tray, flat screen TV, air conditioning and are all en-suite.

Situated right in the centre of Tamworth very close to local bars and international restaurants, the Peel is a 6 minute walk from Tamworth train station and a 25 minute drive from the NEC/NIA/ICC.
Picture of The Peel Aldergate, TAMWORTH at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 29 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
90% recommended this accommodation to a friend 90% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Gracious hospitality, limited by size of restaurant, but made up for by recommendation of nearby excellent Indian restaurant, not two minutes walk away (hotel restaurant was booked out for evening meal which was a pity!). Room clean and pleasant, air con was great. Great customer service and excellent attention to detail. Would recommend to friends to stay here if in Tamworth area.

Reviewed by
A Prince

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Easy to stay at
Enjoyed fuss free but warm welcome, great evening meal and breakfast and comfortable bed. 'Single' room is actually a double bed but bathroom across the landing. Noone else was staying and they said they would not have booked the other single room on the same landing anyway as I was travelling alone. With families, both rooms would share the bathroom. I was quite happy with this and would stay again! Parked no problem and felt safe.

Reviewed by
Annette B

From Sherborne, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very good
Close to the town but still quiet enough, very helpful staff.

Reviewed by
Nick D

From Woking, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Perfect Easter weekend
Great service, staff were all polite and friendly, and made out stay as a couple worthwhile, the rooms were clean, cosy and welcoming. Couldn't ask for much more!

Reviewed by
L Ward

From Beverley, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Home from home
The review is in the title!

Reviewed by
Christopher Hipkiss

From Melton Mowbray, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Peel Aldergate
Friendly staff, good location

Reviewed by
Erik Butchert

From South Shields, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hidden Gem
Though I had trouble finding it, it was worth the search , exceptionally claen and tidy and an excellent room with probably the best cooked breakfast I have had for a long time.

Reviewed by
Lee W

From Hatfield, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Over booked room
We booked this hotel and when we got there we were told they had overbooked and they didn't have a room for us so the manager was called he said he had a double room available but I don't think this room would have been one they let out normally it was very basic ,small and we had to use a shared bathroom and toilet which was on the landing which had a terrible smell of urine and need upgrading.we had booked a family room and all rooms were described as having ensuite bathrooms. The only plus was that the staff were lovely and the food was great.

Reviewed by
M Lane

From Cardiff, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A very pleasant surprise..
We only stayed for one night after a visit to the Snowdome. I had originally opted for a night at the nearby holiday inn express but could not get a room but when we arrived at The Peel I was glad that we hadn't as it had loads more character & being situated right in the heart of Tamworth gave us a choice of evening entertainment right on our doorstep. Staff were very friendly and helpful, showed us to our room even asked if we needed help with our bags. Room was nicely decorated and spacious. The hotel restaurant menu looked good and although there was no room service available it did say that you were welcome to take food to your room. Was nice to have full size toiletries in the room instead of small bars of wrapped soap that most rooms usually have! Breakfast was nice and staff very attentive. Dining and bar area was nicely decorated and welcoming.
All in all a very pleasant stay ..would recommend!

Reviewed by
Rebecca M

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Pleasant accommodation at The Peel Aldgate
We found all the staff pleasant and helpful, The room was well appointed and cleaned each day. The food was excellent and plentiful. An enjoyable stay.

Reviewed by
D Hurley

From Ramsgate, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next