No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Queen's Royal

3Self Classified Guest Accommodation Ratings explained
MARINE PROMENADE , New Brighton, CH45 2JT
The Queen's Royal, located on New Brighton waterfront is an impressive Victorian building with modern and contemporary interiors. The restaurant/bar serves hearty home cooked British cuisine and is open daily for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Along with a great tasting, ever popular menu and a good choice of local cask ales, the Queen's Royal is well known for being outstanding value for money.

A room for the night? We have a number of newly refurbished bright and airy bedrooms from basic to boutique, all with breakfast included. Excellent waterfront location suitable for holidaymakers as well as people involved in The New Brighton regeneration project over the road. Also available are family friendly rooms, right through to a boutique style bridal suite adjoining the function room on the first floor.

Conveniently located close to the M53 motorway, and just minutes walk along the promenade from The Floral Pavilion theatre. New Brighton train station is within minutes walk, with frequent trains connecting directly to Birkenhead, Liverpool and national rail links.

All in all a great place to eat drink and sleep!
Picture of The Queen's Royal, New Brighton at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 33 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
88% recommended this accommodation to a friend 85% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

carole and pete morris
management and staff were very friendly. and helpful, the room and en suite spotless
enjoyed the food (my double breakfast especially)

Reviewed by
peter morris

From Crewe, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The hotel was excellent, the food was good, the staff were pleasant and helpful, the beer range was excellent and it was only the choice of cider for my wife which let it down. We would definitely stay here again if we are visiting Liverpool.

Reviewed by
john daws

From Seahouses, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Could do so much better.
We were surprised when we were shown to our room. Couldn't remember whether I'd booked a double, twin or family room. I certainly didn't expect to find 3 single beds in the room.
The TV was wholly inadequate - my laptop screen is bigger.
Showering was far from pleasant. The water pressure was not stable and the temperature of the water ranged from very cold to almost scalding with no warning.
A plethora of plug sockets - a very pleasant change - but none in a position whereby we could plug in the kettle. We had to use the floor.
Housekeeping was almost non-existent. The bin wasn't emptied, the kettle remained on the floor and towels went unchanged. Two were re-folded, one hung on the hook on the door, all three were still wet. They were replaced with no problem, though.
I don't remember the last time I slept in such an uncomfortable bed; made worse by the fact that the mattress protector was plastic-coated and very uncomfortable given the temperature.
One saving grace was breakfast. Fantastic food, excellent quality and friendly waiting staff.

Reviewed by
Michelle O'Grady

From Salford, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The hotel was lovely, the staff friendly and helpful. We had a twin room which was spotless. There was a bit of noise from the fans outside our room but we slept quite well. All in all a really nice place to stay for the price and we would stay there again should we be up that way.

Reviewed by
J Wicks

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely hotel, shame about the breakfast service!!!!
A lovely little hotel and the bedroom was plain but clean and roomy.
A shame that when we came down for breakfast we had to ask if they were serving as there was no one about taking orders. We then waited for 50 minutes before we got served and even then the order was incorrect which caused another delay.
I would recommend this hotel but advise not to have breakfast which really defeats the object of staying in a bed and breakfast !!!

Reviewed by
j trantum

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great hosts! Very welcoming. Only minus: Not very soundproof, as doors are thin.

Reviewed by
Johan L

From Sweden
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

although we only stayed one night we found the hotel and the staff very helpful. and the breakfast was excellent

Reviewed by
david r bradshaw

From liverpool, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice place lovely and helpful staff 10 out10

Reviewed by
m brannan

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good choice.
Was late trying to find somewhere,but very happy with 'Queen's Royal'.

Reviewed by
John Ferguson

From Scotland
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Theatre stay
Booked an overnight stay after watching a show at the Floral Pavilion. Location excellent. Stayed in Room 10 on the second floor with a sea view. There is lift access, so no problem having to climb stairs. Breakfast was good and waitress was very helpful in getting you what you wanted. The only disappointment was that we had an evening meal before the show from the early doors menu. My partner ordered the salmon and asked could she have cauliflower instead of the broccoli which the waitress said would be fine. It was clear it had been frozen broccoli, and it hadn't been thawed and cooked through properly as parts of it were cold. She also thought she was getting boiled potatoes as stated on the menu, but it came with mashed potato. But she said the salmon was excellent. I had the hunters chicken with no problems. There are plenty of places to eat on New Brighton promenade though. It was our second stay at this hotel, and we would return but maybe dine somewhere else.

Reviewed by
N Downs

From Liverpool, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 Next