Reviews - Holyrood apartHotel


1, Nether Bakehouse, Edinburgh, EH8 8PE

Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (156)

87% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • S Robinson

  • December 2014

Great Accomodation for weekend away.

Great Value for money, clean and spacious.

Friendly staff and great location.

  • A Hurley

  • December 2014

Poor standard and not 4 star rating

The aparthotel is in need of refurbishment and is a bit basic.

The room wasn't clean with dirty floor and mildew in the bathroom. We didn't find the room comfortable or welcoming. Don’t believe it lives up to its 4 star rating. On the positive side the parking is excellent, and the hotel is well located..

  • Diane M

  • November 2014

Too basic for price

The studio I got was advertised as £300 per night although I booked at the last minute and it was reduced.

It was far too basic for this price. The room was very plain & functional - not particularly welcoming & certainly not luxurious- which is what you'd expect for that price.

  • Robert H

  • November 2014

other short stay appartments have tea/coffee/milk sachets. this one does not.

  • R Wright

  • November 2014


Fabulous apartments.

Well equipped and serviced. Excellent location and value for money, would recommend and stay again if in Edinburgh

  • Christine H

  • November 2014

one night stay

On arrival late at night everything looked great, but in the daylight we soon noticed some things that let the standard down.

In the lounge the - upholstery was worn and very grubby - made you not want to lay your hands on it. The furniture was old and shabby and the carpet was filthy.

The kitchen was lovely, clean and well equiped which was a very good point.

The bathrooms looked really good until you looked inside the shower and could see the black mould starting on the tiling grout and on parts of the shower door.

The bedrooms were dated and the bed cover was really torn and worn and smelt. We threw this off immediately. The mattress was old and uncomfortable - the owners should spend a night in this apartment to understand fully. I could put up with an uncomfortable bed and the shabbiness throughout without complaint, if it had just been clean - which goes to prove that any establishment is only as good as the cleaners. Having said all this, we got the apartment cheap via laterooms and it was passable for the one night with a good location for all activites in town. I own a self-catering cottage myself and know how to clean - perhaps a housekeeper/manager is the way to go so that they can do spot checks on their room and keep the cleaners on their toes

  • Rex K

  • November 2014


2 bed flat on my own, great place and great location.

  • Keith H

  • November 2014

Good accommodation, although a little hard to find, in a great location for shopping/sight seeing.

Will definitely use this hotel on our next visit to Edinburgh

  • Ross T

  • November 2014

Good location, a short 10 minute walk from nightlife and shopping.

Good sized apartments, with everything needed. This was a ideal stay for our weekend in Edinburgh, and a lot cheaper than the more centralized hotels/apartments.

  • Neil O

  • November 2014

Very good hotel, spacious apartment at a very reasonable price. Lack of parking space the only issue

We enjoyed our weekend stay at the hotel.

It's located centrally - about 10 mins walking from Grassmarket, the apartment was spacious with 2 bedrooms a living room and kitchen as well. We felt the value was excellent for the almost luxurious accomodation. However the hotel ran out of parking spaces and therefore we had to use an NCP car par about 2 blocks away. Make sure you book parking along with the room. Otherwise we would go back.