No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Shrewsbury Lodge

3Self Classified Guest House Ratings explained
31 Shrewsbury Road, Oxton, Prenton, Birkenhead, CH43 2JB
Independently owned and proudly run – It is a friendly family run, comfortable and spacious Victorian Guest house, we offer comfortable bed and breakfast accommodation close to Birkenhead town center yet right in the heart the Wirral We are within easy walking distance to Oxton Village, which has excellent local pub, excellent restaurants, & and wine bars. The hotel is a firm favourite with the supporters of our local football clubs and is ideally situated for easy reach of local motorways, Liverpool (city centre 10 minutes) and Manchester Airport (40 minutes) and all the main tourist attractions. Ideally located for easy access to Aintree and Chester race courses also a great base for golfers visiting one of the world best golf location, such as world famous Royal Liverpool Golf Club, home to the 2008 and 2014 Golf Open For your own comfort & hygiene, all of our rooms are non-smoking. Additional facilities for the hotel include free car park, self parking, left luggage, cots/cribs, high chairs, ironing facilities, free wifi, and fully stocked comfortable bar. Please note: Reception closes at 10pm, please contact us with your ETA if travelling from abroad. Please contact the hotel (email is fine) with your flight details and your ETA
Picture of Shrewsbury Lodge, Birkenhead at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 31 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
82% recommended this accommodation to a friend 83% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Weekend in Liverpool
I really enjoyed the Shrewsbury Lodge Hotel. The room was wide and clean, such as the toilet. Also, the neigbourhood was quiet and pleasant. The staff members were very attentive and helpful. It is an ideal place to relax.

Reviewed by
B Andrade

From Brazil
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Family celebration near by
We were lucky that we arrived from another hotel in Port Sunlight very early to book in before a family celebration in a church hall near by as the printing on the form was unclear and we were booked in for the folliowing night instead. However we were found a room but although it had everything we needed for one night ( and it was quiet) it was very small hence a lower mark.
The staff were all very pleasant and the breakfast was freshly cooked.

Reviewed by
O Sinclair

From Wolverton, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Early Summer Surprise
What a gem of a place. Its stunning location, amidst elegant detached Victorian and Edwardian residences, on a hill, set amongst tress; all set off by a truly glorious early summer's evening. To cap it all the nearby church had a bell ringing practice.
Its proximity to Birkenhead, the Tunnel and Liverpool, makes this a must stay place. The staff both in the evening and the following morning were so friendly and helpful.

Reviewed by
Mike Hope

From Portsmouth, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great service & friendly staff
The location was perfect for our needs and would recommend on the service from the pre arrival phone call, friendly on arrival and helpful with directions and taxis. First room was lovely and large, clean but some elements dated, there was a problem with the lock on the door and this was resolved quickly with a swift move to another room. Described as smaller but much fresher regarding wallpaper and a lovely 4 poster bed. Tasty breakfast with equally attentive and friendly staff. Would use again when need in area as clean and pleasant.

Reviewed by
Joanne P

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Quiet neighborhood, friendly service. You can relax after or before the next busy day.

Reviewed by
Zibigniew Glodowski

From Rugby, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very poor value for money
I was very disappointed and whilst I did not expect the Ritz for a price of £68 I did not expect to be staying in such a small room and bathroom with such poor furnishing. The bed was hugely uncomfortable, the radiator was boiling hot all night and would not turn off at the thermostat (which was faulty) and as a result one of our party felt very ill due to the heat. Upon checking out it took nearly 10 minutes to locate someone to give the key to. The only plus was the lady who checked us in who was friendly and helpful.

Reviewed by
louise b

From Nottingham, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely family run hotel
Greated with a smile from the moment i walked in. conveniently located just outside of the main town. Room was basic but comfortable and clean. relaxed atmosphere.

Reviewed by
Mike Peach

From Luton, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

lovely welcome
Nice hotel with lovely staff room was basic was disappointed that the kettle was on the floor as the wire didn't reach the plug socket and also when we arrived back to the hotel at 11 the bar was closed so our evening had to come to an end other than that nice stay and lovely breakfast.

Reviewed by
Melanie Bennett

From Blackpool, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Was ok deco a bit dated but was clean and tidy , shower not very good , stayed at cheaper accomadation and better , little bit over priced , breakfast. Was good ,

Reviewed by
Alan W

From Llanrwst, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

great value for money
excellent value

Reviewed by
g edwards

From bury st edmunds, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 Next