No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Shrewsbury Lodge

3Self Classified Guest House Ratings explained
31 Shrewsbury Road, Oxton, Prenton, Birkenhead, CH43 2JB
Independently owned and proudly run – It is a friendly family run, comfortable and spacious Victorian Guest house, we offer comfortable bed and breakfast accommodation close to Birkenhead town center yet right in the heart the Wirral We are within easy walking distance to Oxton Village, which has excellent local pub, excellent restaurants, & and wine bars. The hotel is a firm favourite with the supporters of our local football clubs and is ideally situated for easy reach of local motorways, Liverpool (city centre 10 minutes) and Manchester Airport (40 minutes) and all the main tourist attractions. Ideally located for easy access to Aintree and Chester race courses also a great base for golfers visiting one of the world best golf location, such as world famous Royal Liverpool Golf Club, home to the 2008 and 2014 Golf Open For your own comfort & hygiene, all of our rooms are non-smoking. Additional facilities for the hotel include free car park, self parking, left luggage, cots/cribs, high chairs, ironing facilities, free wifi, and fully stocked comfortable bar. Please note: Reception closes at 10pm, please contact us with your ETA if travelling from abroad. Please contact the hotel (email is fine) with your flight details and your ETA
Picture of Shrewsbury Lodge, Birkenhead at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 30 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
82% recommended this accommodation to a friend 83% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

As a female travelling on her own I felt very comfortable and safe. Very friendly helpful staff nothing was a problem would recommend to any of my friends. Will definitely stay there again.

Reviewed by
Jean S

From Downpatrick, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly staff,clean room,nice breakfast

Reviewed by
A H

From , Wales
Who stayed in April 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Mersyside GEM
nice little hotel,easy access from Liverpool center friendly staff. thankyou

Reviewed by
philip m

From Malton, UK
Who stayed in December 2012

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Business trip
Fairly basic rooms.very small and the ensuite toilet was tiny but everything was clean including the showers.
Suitable for short stay. The pub around the corner 5mins walk is very good and has a great menu.
Car parking is adequate.
I would stay again if I were in the area.

Reviewed by
Philip M

From Cardiff, UK
Who stayed in November 2012

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent Choice
Very friendly and helpful staff. I would definitely stay there again. Lovely place and lovely people.

Reviewed by
Phil Marshall

From Esher, England
Who stayed in October 2012

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great stay
Had a really good stay at Shrewsbury Lodge. The service was excelent as we had problems with our car on the way to Birkenhead and came late, that was not a problem.
Great value for money on this stay.

Reviewed by
Kjartan Reinholdsson

From 270 Mosfellsbaer, Iceland
Who stayed in October 2012

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very poor
Very poor for £38 plus extra charge for breakfast not included (£6.50)

Reviewed by
Richard Cockerill

From Hemel Hempstead, England
Who stayed in September 2012

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Value for money
Basic accomodation shared facilities

Reviewed by
C Worrall

From Corwen, UK
Who stayed in September 2012

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

fantastic hotel, A** and will hopefully be visitting again soon!
On arrival i was greeted by a very friendly man who was very helpful and also gave me some suggestions as where to go that evening. The next day a lovely girl was able to direct me to the shops. fantastic room and everything was even better than id hoped :)

Reviewed by
Rebecca Hawthorne

From Limavady, Northern Ireland
Who stayed in August 2012

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Bon Hotel
Bon hotel et personnel serviable

Reviewed by
Jérémy B

From France
Who stayed in March 2013

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3