No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Mitre Hotel

3Self Classified Small Hotel Ratings explained
1 3, Cathedral Gates , Manchester, M31SW
Built at the foot of Manchester Cathedral in 1815, the Mitre is one of the oldest hotels in Manchester city centre. It has a restaurant and a stylish bar with Sky Sports and pool room, and provides free Wi-Fi in public areas.

Each room features a TV and free tea and coffee, with most also boasting lovely views of Manchester Cathedral, the Corn Exchange, Selfridges and Sinclairs Oyster Bar. Rooms are available both with a private bathroom and with shared bathroom facilities.

With its grand exterior, The Mitre Hotel has retained its period charm, but now boasts modern interior design in the bar and guest areas. The front desk is open 24/7.

Placed next to Victoria Rail Station, the Manchester Evening News Arena is 5 minutes’ walk away. The hotel is in the centre of Manchester’s vibrant night life, across the square from the Printworks, with the Arndale Shopping Centre just a 4-minutes walk away.

The hotel is ideally placed near Shudehill tram station, making journeys to both Old Trafford and The Etihad Stadium a formality for football fans.
Picture of The Mitre Hotel, Manchester at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 399 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
74% recommended this accommodation to a friend 77% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

You get what you pay for!!
Tired and neglected hotel. Must have been a lovely place in the past. Needs a full refurbishment. That said, the staff were helpful and friendly and the room was adequate for a one night stay. Next time, I would request a room facing the Cathedral, as our rooms overlooked a very noisy pub with a large seating area at the front. Too hot to close the window, but too noisy to hear the TV with it open! Didn't get to sleep until after 11pm. This may not be a problem for most people who go to bed later anyway! Beautifully cooked breakfast. Brilliant location.

Reviewed by
Susan V

From Canterbury, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Located in a busy vibrant area, ideal at weekends for shopping , bars, restaurant etc. Busy area for evening entertainment and surpringly quiet after closing times. Ideal location for party groups

Reviewed by
A B

From England
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

great value.
For the price it would be difficult to fault the mitre, all members of staff were very polite and friendly, the room was very comfortable and well appointment and the breakfast is not to be missed.

Reviewed by
Adrian C

From Oxford, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

brilliant!
brilliant!

Reviewed by
d taylor

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Location, good value, not good for quiet if you are on business
A good welcome, the room was tired looking but for the price and location was acceptable. However after falling asleep at around 11pm I was rudely awoken from 2am continuously though the night by guests or staff (not sure) passing by my room that had creaky floor boards, talking and shouting with either music or mobile phones playing by 5am I was extremely frustrated.. The main door to the bedrooms was next to mine so this was continuously left to bang closed... With a 24 hour reception close by I was a little disappointed that they did not take it upon themselves to monitor this. I was not prepared to get dressed to visit the reception and there is no internal phone. I would stay again but maybe not in a business capacity and not in room 2 !!!!

Reviewed by
Vanessa Pryor

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly, a value, bit basic, amazing location
The hotel has a bit of a time warp quality to it, but can't be faulted in terms of the location, the friendliness of the welcome, and the value for money. The bed, pillows, etc are not of a good quality but if, like me, you're in the neighbourhood for a night on the town, there's not much to worry about on that score. It was good to be in a proper independent hotel, rather than a chain, and you've got to take things as you find them.

Reviewed by
Matt D

From London, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great value!
Recently spent a Friday night there with my girlfriend, the staff are friendly and helpful. We stayed in a standard double room which was quite basic but did the job. We did find the people who were stopping in the non en suite rooms wondering around in their skimpies quite concerning. We also had no power in the hotel on the Saturday, which wasn't ideal. All in all a pleasant enough experience , but don't expect anything other than a basic does the job hotel.

Reviewed by
C Taylor

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

honeymoon room
it area is hard to find, but we stayed in room number 1 the honeymoon room and it was utter amazing and glamous I was god smacked for £35 one of the best hotel rooms ever been too. customer service and welcoming was amazing thank you for the stay deffo going back to you and highly recommend would love that room again

Reviewed by
j howard

From Derby, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good stay, and thanks for all the fish!
I enjoyed my stay very much, and found the staff friendly and helpful. The aquarium in reception was especially attractive! The room was clean and comfortable, and the situation very convenient for the Cathedral. Being Friday night it was rather noisy downstairs, and the lack of a lift might have caused difficulties for guests with mobility problems, but I was offered help if required to carry my luggage up to the third floor. I would certainly stay at the Mitre again - it was excellent value.

Reviewed by
Susan H

From Oxford, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

great hotel
We had a great time here, good location, lovely room. Thankyou.

Reviewed by
I Evans

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next