No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Edendale House

3Visit England Assessed Guest House Ratings explained
83 Avondale Road North, , , Southport, PR9 0NE
Resident owners, Shirley and John Rose, would like to welcome you to Edendale House which is situated at the northern end of Southport, in a leafy residential area of wide streets, offering peace and tranquillity; where all the houses were built in the Victorian era. One of the very few hotels that can offer an off road parking space for each bedroom; there is a large car park and attractive gardens. Shirley and John were thrilled to be awarded a Breakfast Award by Visit Britain in November 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012 and 2013 We offer an Over 60's discount, and for children sharing with two full paying adults. All rooms have a comfortable seating area to relax after a day out, we have an honesty bar for drinks to enjoy in your room. For our guests comfort and safety this is a no smoking guesthouse. The dining room is delightfully decorated. Breakfast is served at separate tables. The breakfast menu is quite extensive offering healthy, vegetarian and fish dishes. We have an arrangement with an excellent local restaurant for evening meals. There are eight bedrooms situated on the first and second floors. Every room has a flatscreen freeview colour TV, direct dial telephone, free wi-fi, alarm clock, hairdryer, tea and coffee making facilities, complimentary toiletries and en-suite facilities. Each room is individually decorated and has its own thermostatically controlled central heating radiator. Edendale House is only a short walk from most of Southport’s main visitor attractions, but less than an hour away from Liverpool, Manchester, Chester, Preston, Lancaster and the Lakes, prefect for a touring base. Therefore, business or pleasure you can be assured of a warm welcome at Edendale House where we are proud to offer you warm friendly service in a relaxed comfortable atmosphere.
Picture of Edendale House, Southport at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 44 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
97% recommended this accommodation to a friend 98% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

September break
Very pleased will stay again next time I visit Southport.

Reviewed by
David T

From Loughborough, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lots of stairs
We really enjoyed staying at this B & B. Everything was very good except the loose tiles at the front door, which were safe if you knew about them, and the stairs to our room on the second floor. Try for a room on the first floor if you can

Reviewed by
G Carvell

From Coventry, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Edendale a lovely warm welcome
We arrived at Edendale later than planned to a warm welcome. lots of information given about the hotel with a tour up to our room. All the parking spaces were taken but lots of parking on the road ouside The road was quiet and the car quite safe there Our twin first floor room was clean and spacious with two chairs, tv, hairdryer, tea coffee and hot chocolate plus fruit teas. The ensuite was small but adequate fir our needs. There was an honesty mini bar fridge with fresh milk for use by guests. Milk jugs provided. Breakfast served for just one hour but suited us. The food s lovely. Homemade yoghurts and fresh fruit, cereals, full english or a choice of two fish dishes this breakfast was perfectly cooked and presented and served by a lovely young lady whom we were told was there just 3 weeks and was a credit to the owner. We had internet usage by permission of the owner in our room. Nothing too much trouble. Would definitely recommend and would book again if in the area.

Reviewed by
Melanie Drewery

From Louth, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely!
Stay was too short. Nice homely place with a wonderful breakfast and good facilities.

Reviewed by
D Turner

From Stirling, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great service and room. Excellent choices for breakfast, all very tasty and to suit every taste.

Reviewed by
T Campbell

From Lochgelly, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Highly recommended
On arrival met by the owner who greeted us with warm and friendly manner - the accommodation was clean and fresh with quirky decor ie clouds painted on a sky blue ceiling, the honesty fridge was good with reasonable prices on the items within. The breakfast was aplenty and the service excellent. would definitely stay there again.

Reviewed by
P MACHIN

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very impressed; very comfortable single room with separate private bathroom/toilet opposite side of corridor with good powerful shower. Cooked breakfast was excellent and the only minor criticism would be the cafetiere of coffee took a long time to arrive as I was half way through the cooked breakfast but it was freshly brewed and was worth waiting for.

Reviewed by
Duncan Chandler

From Leicester, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Edendale House - a great B&B
Friendly and accommodating service and a choice of breakfasts (including tasty home made yoghurts) that will keep you going all day.
A first class B&B

Reviewed by
Paul Connor

From Doncaster, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

This is the second time we have stayed at this hotel as we have family in Southport. Excellent service and very comfortable accommodation.

Reviewed by
Christine C

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Edendale House Southport
The guest house was exactly as described the room was very clean.John did very well with the breakfasts as he was training a young lady as well.Nothing was too much trouble and he explained what to look out for in Southport.

Reviewed by
JOY S

From Reading, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 Next