No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Edendale House

3Visit England Assessed Guest House Ratings explained
83 Avondale Road North, , , Southport, PR9 0NE
Resident owners, Shirley and John Rose, would like to welcome you to Edendale House which is situated at the northern end of Southport, in a leafy residential area of wide streets, offering peace and tranquillity; where all the houses were built in the Victorian era. One of the very few hotels that can offer an off road parking space for each bedroom; there is a large car park and attractive gardens. Shirley and John were thrilled to be awarded a Breakfast Award by Visit Britain in November 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012 and 2013 We offer an Over 60's discount, and for children sharing with two full paying adults. All rooms have a comfortable seating area to relax after a day out, we have an honesty bar for drinks to enjoy in your room. For our guests comfort and safety this is a no smoking guesthouse. The dining room is delightfully decorated. Breakfast is served at separate tables. The breakfast menu is quite extensive offering healthy, vegetarian and fish dishes. We have an arrangement with an excellent local restaurant for evening meals. There are eight bedrooms situated on the first and second floors. Every room has a flatscreen freeview colour TV, direct dial telephone, free wi-fi, alarm clock, hairdryer, tea and coffee making facilities, complimentary toiletries and en-suite facilities. Each room is individually decorated and has its own thermostatically controlled central heating radiator. Edendale House is only a short walk from most of Southport’s main visitor attractions, but less than an hour away from Liverpool, Manchester, Chester, Preston, Lancaster and the Lakes, prefect for a touring base. Therefore, business or pleasure you can be assured of a warm welcome at Edendale House where we are proud to offer you warm friendly service in a relaxed comfortable atmosphere.
Picture of Edendale House, Southport at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since May 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 51 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
97% recommended this accommodation to a friend 98% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A good value B&B
This is a good value B&B and I have rated it as such. Don't expect an big hotel with all night bar. However it is excellent value, clean, in a good location and with a very helpful manager. Do bear in mind though that this is a small establishment with not many staff. I gave them a ring to let them know I was going to be late (Traffic on the M6) and they were very helpful and stayed up for me.

Reviewed by
R Bower

From Sheffield, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

First stay at Edendale House
A gem. Pleasant, peaceful neighbourhood. Spacious parking. Feels comfortable immediately.Prompt welcome and information. Excellent room. Full facilities. Spotless. Easy walk to evening eating places. Comfortable bed. Fine breakfast quickly served in a light,, bright and uncrowded dining room. Great value. A pleasure. Highly recommended.

Reviewed by
michael l

From UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Perfect stay
Just needed to break my journey but could have stayed longer. Owner went out of his way to accomodate me. Highly recommended.

Reviewed by
David C

From Exeter, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A cracking B&B.
I was really surprised at the quality of this establishment. I was welcomed at the door, check in was swift and easy and the room was comfortable and clean. Breakfast was excellent and the over all ambience was very pleasant indeed.

Reviewed by
A Spencer

From High Peak, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely stay
Accommodation was very clean and comfortable. Plenty of parking for guests and close enough to the town or sea front to walk. There is a choice of menu at breakfast and the food was nicely presented. John the owner was very helpful and hospitable.

Reviewed by
Christine C

From UK
Who stayed in December 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Thank you
Despite late booking and arrival, a warm welcome from John and plenty of helpful advice on eating out etc. Incredible value. Scrupulously clean and well kept hotel in quiet road but only 10 mins walk from main street. Excellent breakfast choices after a comfortable night. Will definitely use again.

Reviewed by
Ian B

From York, UK
Who stayed in December 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

good value. room modern and clean

Reviewed by
james h

From UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very good hotel!
I booked this hotel the night before on laterooms.com. The manager was very friendly and accommodating. It was very good value for money. The room was very clean and the bathroom was very nice. I would definitely stay here again.

Reviewed by
Donna Kennedy

From UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent value
Excellent value - nice rooms and nice and quiet.

Reviewed by
Kathryn E

From UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Happy father & daughter

Reviewed by
B Mason

From Salford, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Family with young children

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 Next