No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Edendale House

3Visit England Assessed Guest House Ratings explained
83 Avondale Road North, , , Southport, PR9 0NE
Resident owners, Shirley and John Rose, would like to welcome you to Edendale House which is situated at the northern end of Southport, in a leafy residential area of wide streets, offering peace and tranquillity; where all the houses were built in the Victorian era. One of the very few hotels that can offer an off road parking space for each bedroom; there is a large car park and attractive gardens. Shirley and John were thrilled to be awarded a Breakfast Award by Visit Britain in November 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012 and 2013 We offer an Over 60's discount, and for children sharing with two full paying adults. All rooms have a comfortable seating area to relax after a day out, we have an honesty bar for drinks to enjoy in your room. For our guests comfort and safety this is a no smoking guesthouse. The dining room is delightfully decorated. Breakfast is served at separate tables. The breakfast menu is quite extensive offering healthy, vegetarian and fish dishes. We have an arrangement with an excellent local restaurant for evening meals. There are eight bedrooms situated on the first and second floors. Every room has a flatscreen freeview colour TV, direct dial telephone, free wi-fi, alarm clock, hairdryer, tea and coffee making facilities, complimentary toiletries and en-suite facilities. Each room is individually decorated and has its own thermostatically controlled central heating radiator. Edendale House is only a short walk from most of Southport’s main visitor attractions, but less than an hour away from Liverpool, Manchester, Chester, Preston, Lancaster and the Lakes, prefect for a touring base. Therefore, business or pleasure you can be assured of a warm welcome at Edendale House where we are proud to offer you warm friendly service in a relaxed comfortable atmosphere.
Picture of Edendale House, Southport at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 44 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
97% recommended this accommodation to a friend 98% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent value
Excellent value - nice rooms and nice and quiet.

Reviewed by
Kathryn E

From UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Happy father & daughter

Reviewed by
B Mason

From Salford, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Home from home
Lovely stay this weekend, breakfast choice was the best we have had in a B&B. The bed was comfortable and the room warm.

Reviewed by
B Barnes

From Manchester, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent from start to finish
This is a hidden gem. The owners are thoughtful and helpful. I had an early breakfast which was willingly provided and delicious. All freshly cooked to order. Plentyof safe parking, Pubs and restaurants within easy walking distance. Highly recommended.

Reviewed by
Keith R

From UK
Who stayed in September 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good value for money pleasant hotel
Edendale house was a last minute booking and we were pleasantly surprised as we were expecting a tiny room as it was described as a small double. The room was quite large compared to others we had stayed in. It was very clean and comfortable with tea and coffee making facilities. Slight problem with odour in the bathroom but this was due to the type of plumbing system that was installed. Couldn't fault breakfast..lots of choice cooked to perfection and served by lovely staff. All in all an enjoyable stay.

Reviewed by
Julie W

From Cannock, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Edendale House
The room and hotel was very clean and suited what we were after the breakfast was good and for our evening meal they suggested places to eat

Reviewed by
G Paternoster

From UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good Location-quiet area-no problems with parking-neat and tidy-good value for money-any staff encountered were very good.

Reviewed by
Jeannie Rae

From Grangemouth, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Perfect base for our short family break
We stayed for two nights with our girls (4 & 7 years) in the family room which was very comfortable and spacious. The owners seem to have thought of everything we could have needed, including kid's cutlery at breakfast, a helpful visitors guide & special deals with local restaurants. Would recommend without hesitation.

Reviewed by
Lisa R

From Stoke on Trent, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Certainly worth a visit
Booked via Late Rooms and was looking for the cheapest option possible. Always dubious when paying well below the price at budget chain hotals but hey I only sleep there. £27 B&B and was upgraded to an ensuite on my arrival. Met by the proprietor who was extremely friendly. Explained the house working (door locks etc) and then showed me the honesty bar which is I think a great idea (despite not having had the need to use it). Room was small but comfortable (only a single room so wasnt expecting much anyway) and plenty tea/coffee etc. TV with freeview and plenty of storage for clothes. Ensuite also small but functional, very clean apart from a bit of black (I presume mildew) around the bottom of the shower tray edge but I am one of those people that just gets on with things so no problem for me, don't want to be critical but this is supposed to be an honest review so feel had to be mentioned. Bed comfortable and sleep well even on one of the hottest nights of the year. In the morning the breakfast was wonderful. I chose(as always) the full english with black pudding, proper ground coffee. Large selection of cerals, yoghurts, fruit juices and other cooked breakfasts available. I say again the breakfast was wonderful and set me up for the day nicely. The owner again very chatty and i thanked him for his recommendation of a local curry house where the food was also well above average. Overall a decent stay in a location a short walk away from the waterfront.

Reviewed by
r watt

From Lincoln, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Booked this stay to attend a family birthday in Southport. Was very relaxed and quiet and only a short walk from the promenade. Lovely big adjoining family room and lovely food with a warm welcome.

Reviewed by
Heidi Wadsworth

From UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Family with teenage children

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 Next