No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Edendale House

3Visit England Assessed Guest House Ratings explained
83 Avondale Road North, , , Southport, PR9 0NE
Resident owners, Shirley and John Rose, would like to welcome you to Edendale House which is situated at the northern end of Southport, in a leafy residential area of wide streets, offering peace and tranquillity; where all the houses were built in the Victorian era. One of the very few hotels that can offer an off road parking space for each bedroom; there is a large car park and attractive gardens. Shirley and John were thrilled to be awarded a Breakfast Award by Visit Britain in November 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012 and 2013 We offer an Over 60's discount, and for children sharing with two full paying adults. All rooms have a comfortable seating area to relax after a day out, we have an honesty bar for drinks to enjoy in your room. For our guests comfort and safety this is a no smoking guesthouse. The dining room is delightfully decorated. Breakfast is served at separate tables. The breakfast menu is quite extensive offering healthy, vegetarian and fish dishes. We have an arrangement with an excellent local restaurant for evening meals. There are eight bedrooms situated on the first and second floors. Every room has a flatscreen freeview colour TV, direct dial telephone, free wi-fi, alarm clock, hairdryer, tea and coffee making facilities, complimentary toiletries and en-suite facilities. Each room is individually decorated and has its own thermostatically controlled central heating radiator. Edendale House is only a short walk from most of Southport’s main visitor attractions, but less than an hour away from Liverpool, Manchester, Chester, Preston, Lancaster and the Lakes, prefect for a touring base. Therefore, business or pleasure you can be assured of a warm welcome at Edendale House where we are proud to offer you warm friendly service in a relaxed comfortable atmosphere.
Picture of Edendale House, Southport at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since May 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 51 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
97% recommended this accommodation to a friend 98% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

happy train
could not have been looked after better first class service, a little gem many thanks for a lovely stay

Reviewed by
b burford

From Stourport on Severn, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Dj from Manchester got there a warm welcone off John the owner lovely clean warm place
Warm and welcoming the breakfast in the morning was top draw as good as any I have had I slept in a single room with tv tea making clean bedding only fault I had was the bed was a little hard for me but I'm sure ok for most
John thank you for everything and you have a lovely place great staff

Reviewed by
Stephen Day

From Manchester, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

lovely hotel
Very clean and comfortable. Lovely breakfast and the owner was very friendly. Would stay again.

Reviewed by
NICHOLAS D

From Dudley, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Well situated double fronted older style guest house . With off road parking .
I booked a last min room as I was visiting the area for a weekend .as I was traveling for 3 hours after leaving work on a Friday evening I needed to ring for a late checkin . This was no problem , I was greeted and shown to my room by the proprietor , shame I still don't know his name as he didn't introduce himself . Nevertheless I was impressed when he explained I could help myself to milk and fill the small jugs for my tea and coffee from the fridge on the landing , where there was also a good selection of nibbles , wine , beer and chocolate :-) My room was small but well equipped , including a feather duvet and a comfy bed , free wifi with a code . I had a good nights sleep , hot shower and was greeted in the dinning room for a 5 star breakfast , great choice and quality including my own caffitiere of coffee ( impressed I was asked if I wanted my toast with my breakfast or after it ) would I go back , yes absolutely if I needed to be in the area again , great value for money with a personal touch .

Reviewed by
Joyce Eyre

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Recommended!
My wife & I occupied a Family Room (Room 7) on the second-floor for four nights. We picked Edendale on the basis of the reviews here and we weren't disappointed. The welcome was wonderful and the renowned breakfasts nearly overwhelming - I can heartily recommend the smoked haddock and the kippers. Despite being fully-booked over the weekend, the breakfast service was faultless, though you do have to be up early to get the table in the bay-window! Steep stairs and awkward fire-doors but once up there our top-floor room was comfortable, quiet and spacious, though as might be expected with any converted Victorian-era house, the en-suite bathroom was tiny. This is where we'll be booking for all our future visits....

Reviewed by
Richard A

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

excellent accommodation. proprietor will do anything to assist you in any thing you try to do. find the places you wish to visit, how to get there and which train or bus required to get you there. only drawback is the walking distance to amenities. around 40 minutes walk

Reviewed by
f hamilton

From Glasgow, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

.
.

Reviewed by
A Dodd

From High Wycombe, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good location ideal for getting around southport town, and visit to the theatre . Excellent breakfast with lots to chose from will keep you going all day. Nice touch with fridge on landing full of drinks and chocolate at a very fair price . Comfortable bed what more could you ask for, will be back whenever coming to town .thank you John

Reviewed by
william G

From Bolton, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Beautifully clean
Bedding and towels were beautifully clean, which is a real plus for me. Breakfast was superb, with every taste catered for. John had to be head cook and bottle washer, due to his wife being very poorly and coped admirably. Would not hesitate to recommend.

Reviewed by
irene Bent

From Leigh, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A Gem :)
Friendly welcome, lovely room and facilities, although the single wasn't en suite I had my own shower room toilet across the landing. Breakfast was superb with a wide range of choice, including two home made yoghurts !! All for less than £25, EXCELLENT

Reviewed by
David B

From Grimsby, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 Next