Last Minute Accommodation > World > Europe > UK > England > North England > North West England > Cheshire > Chester Hotels > ABode Chester - Home to Michael Caines Restaurants
No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - ABode Chester - Home to Michael Caines Restaurants

4AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Grosvenor Road , Chester, CH1 2DJ

Simply The Guest Awards Winner

Based on 100% genuine guest reviews in our 2012 awards.

ABode's fifth opening and the first new build. The hotel features 84 Comfortable, Desirable, Enviable and Fabulous bedrooms all fitted to ABode'€™s high standards and boasting magnificent views of Chester and the Welsh hills.

At the centre of it all is a stunning fifth floor Michael Caines Restaurant and Champagne bar. There is also a vibrant MC Cafe© Bar & Grill and an intimate Lounge Bar which are located on the ground floor and offer the opportunity for alfresco eating and drinking. ABode Chester also offers private dining and versatile meeting and event spaces for up to 100 guests.

The Secret Sanctuary within ABode Chester offers a wide range of luxurious and relaxing beauty treatments and there is also a residents€™ gym equipped with state of the art Technogym equipment.

Situated alongside Chester'™s historic racecourse and five minutes walk from the city centre ABode Chester is the perfect place to stay whatever your reason for visiting.

Group bookings constitute over 6 bedrooms and the hotel may contact you to issue a separate cancellation policy.
Picture of ABode Chester - Home to Michael Caines Restaurants, Chester at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 145 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
90% recommended this accommodation to a friend 92% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent hotel
2 minutes walking distance to city centre, great restaurant. Rooms light and airy, upgraded to room with balcony overlooking racecourse, balcony very small and could only fit one chair but good to have the outdoor feel. Excellent free parking facilities. Really attentive staff. definitely stay here again.

Reviewed by
Robert C

From Ashton Under Lyne, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Stunning
Having travelled and stayed in a large number of hotels, this review comes with experience. The rooms are wonderful with all of the small details thought out. The staff are professional and very helpful, clearly in tune with the needs of their guests. We ate in the bar on the ground floor and the food was fresh, hot and tasty again served with great care. I can't wait to go back.

Reviewed by
Katie Bancroft

From Wilmslow, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Loved it!
We stayed for two nights. Reception staff were very nice & helpful.
Our room was spacious, stylish and had an enormous bed & beautiful contemporary décor.
We didn't eat at all at the hotel as we had other plans so can't comment on dining.
The location was great for us, just a short walk into town or down to the river.
Car parking is £10 for 24 hours, which we didn't mind because the parking bays were generously-sized compared to most hotel car parks so we weren't concerned about our car.
We will definitely stay again next time we are in Chester.

Reviewed by
Sue T

From Durham, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

great location and lovely reception staff
stayed for two night as a treat. All good except the service for the second evening- bed sheets although visabably stained with make up were not changed. Drinks, crisps and biscuits had not been replenished and neither were toiletries which I discovered when I started running the bath. Tried to phone reception but no reply so had to make the trip to reception for more. Felt a little cheated but reception arranged for clean bedding and water etc. Didn't eat here as seemed expensive when trip to town minutes away. Would stay again as bed so comfy and fab location.

Reviewed by
TRACY W

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great location in Chester
Stayed here for three nights. Hotel in a great location for city centre, five minute walk. Parking on site but £10 per day so disappointing to have to pay on top of nightly rate. Free wifi good and balcony on room. Used restaurant for breakfast, very good. Thought the restaurant lacked atmosphere so chose to eat out in the evenings. Lots of eateries nearby and would highly recommend place next door for drinks and food. Out of front door, turn left and short walk, about 300yards .

Reviewed by
J Mackenzie

From Inverness, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Beautiful hotel, location to the city centre is perfect. service in restaurant is a little slow. I would highly recommend this hotel

Reviewed by
Jason B

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Super
Beat place we have ever stayed

Reviewed by
david taylor

From Y Rhyl, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Decent. Restaurant was booked out for a function, which was disappointing.

Reviewed by
Paul M

From Winsford, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

excellent choice
Had a balcony room even though small it suited the room and made a pleasant change to some hotels where opening the window seems impossible.
great location have stayed at the blossoms and the Grosvenor before and even though the Grosvenor has the edge on luxury ( but you do pay for it) but the ease of parking and excellent friendly and professional team here made for a very pleasant stay.
Cant comment on Michael Caines as we only had breakfast there but that was excellent and once again service excellent.
That impressed we booked again for 2 nights for my wifes birthday next month and also a good excuse to try the restaraunt

Reviewed by
steven boardman

From Blackpool, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

40th birthday stay
Stayed at the Abode for my 40th birthday with my wife and my parents. The hotel itself is lovely, the rooms are very clean and to a high standard of decor, the bed is the most comfortable bed I've ever slept in, didn't want to get out of it haha. The breakfast was lovely, as much as you could eat for £11.50, sounds a lot but it was great value for money all in all. The staff were exceptionally helpfull and the girls in reception went out of their way to do what they could for us, even getting extra pillows and milk for us. The only thing that I wasn't really pleased about was that the champagne bar was closed on Sunday evening as the restaurant wasn't open. I think that whether the restaurant is open or not, the champagne bar should be available as we wanted to celebrate me being 40 with a glass of champagne on the roof top. All being said, I would recommend this hotel for a central place to stay, its a great base, only 5 minutes walk from the town centre and 2 minutes walk from the river Dee.

Reviewed by
AMANDA WORRALL-ARROWSMITH

From Runcorn, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Family

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next