No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Kirkwood Guest House

4Visit England Assessed Guest House Ratings explained
Princess Road , Windermere, LA23 2DD
Kirkwood guest house is a Victorian traditional Lake District slate and stone house is complemented by our large en suite bedrooms decorated in a traditional style to a high quality standard. We have a family four room, a family three room, twin and double rooms. All our bedrooms have a shower room en suite and one bedroom has a shower/bath combo en suite. Four-poster beds are available for that special occasion. We are a fully non smoking Guest House offering bed and breakfast and our breakfasts include traditional cooked speciality of the house served to you in our dining room with great choices of cereals, pastries and fruit and a special for the day. Our breakfast menu is flexible, but let us know beforehand and we will try and get it for you and don’t forget your orders for wine, flowers and chocolates for that special occasion! Our bacon, sausage, eggs and milk are locally sourced and we have our vegetarian and special diet options too. A warm welcome awaits you with complimentary tea or coffee and biscuits in our Lounge upon your arrival.

We have an excellent reputation for our hospitality providing first time visitors with detailed information using our local knowledge of the area to get the best from your visit to this beautiful part of England. After breakfast we can tailor your day in detail or offer you tips and help for you to walk, drive or bus your way around the Lake District providing great sightseeing and photo opportunities, alternatively go it alone or just chill out. We are fortunate to have a wide range of places to explore including the best cafes and restaurants many providing award winning home made or local produce for your “re-fuelling” stops near and far!

Kirkwood Guest House is ideally positioned in the Lake District for exploring The Lakes, situated on a quiet corner within ten minutes walk of the bustling towns of Bowness (where the lake is) and Windermere (where the train station is!) with ample parking around the Guest House and offering two parking places on the house. We have complementary trays in each of our seven rooms. Children over the age of six years are welcome. We are a non smoking House throughout for the comfort of all our guests. Wifi internet access is enabled throughout for those wishing to keep in touch via their laptop or PDA. Regretfully we do not take dogs.

Stay with us on your visit to the English Lake District in Cumbria and you won't be disappointed.

Picture of Kirkwood Guest House, Windermere at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 18 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
95% recommended this accommodation to a friend 96% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

excellant
Our stay at Kirkwood was for my wifes birthday, we couldn't have stayed at a nicer place, the food was excellent and nothing was too much trouble, the couple who run the B&B were really nice and
helpful they put a box of chocolates in our room when it was my wifes birthday, we would definitely
stay again.

Reviewed by
john b

From york, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good stay
Great place to stay, nice location almost midway beween windermere station and bow ness
Very close to main street.
We stayed for 3 nights and room was clean and with all the basic requirements
We were in room 6, it had small windows but okay. Only problem is that. In room 6 there was no wifi signal as it was on top floor of guesthouse
Guesthouse had a nice lounge and breakfast was also very good. We were welcomed very well and were even given some basic local area introduction
I would stay there again if i have to

Reviewed by
A Patny

From London, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Exceeded expectations
It was the customer service that made this stay. From being offered a tea/coffee when I arrived ( and biscuits too!) to offering to walk my dog, who was in the car whilst I was out, nothing was too much trouble. Everything I required was in the room, the bed (four poster) was very comfy, the bedding was a good weight and the breakfast was well cooked and very tasty, down to the locally sourced jam.
I gather the hosts have only been there a few months and are planning to redecorate which to be fair is a good idea, but with the service I received I wouldn't have minded what the decor was like.

Reviewed by
J Day-Lewis

From Lancaster, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Exceptional Accomodation and Service
My girlfriend and I recently decided to take a visit to the lake district. Windermere is an ideal place to stay and kirkwood is ideally located with a 5-10 minute walk into the heart of Windermere. We stayed for a 3 nights in room 5 which had everthing you need and a lovely four poster bed. Paula and Richard were welcoming and very friendly and also extremely helpful - they know the area very well and are happy to give advice on walks and places to visit. The breakfasts each morning were brilliant - cooked to your specifications and delicious to eat! We would definitely recommend this guest house to anyone wishing to visit the Lake District.

Reviewed by
M Gentry

From Abbots Langley, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Splendid Guesthouse
Wow ! What a lovely place to stay. The hosts are pleasant, accommodating and helpful in a way you don't experience often elsewhere, and the facilities are second to none. The house is very clean, and welcoming and easy to find. Local amenities are close enough for a short stroll and parking was plentiful.
All in all, I would recommend Kirkwood to anyone, who likes quality, value, and trouble-free accommodation.

Reviewed by
Ian Goudie

From UK
Who stayed in March 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

quick feedback
Very enjoyable stay, helpful proprietors with excellent local knowledge. Generally good base to explore from. Only slight criticism (from my other half) was the limited and early window for breakfast. (08:30-09.00) To be fair when she is up and about everyday at 7am for work she had hoped for a later start to her days away, but all in all pretty good.

Reviewed by
Richard S

From Cleckheaton, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely people but bad points let the place down
Our first impression - welcome was friendly and the bedroom looked dated but clean. However on closer inspection the room (room 5) was well past its best. The mattress was extremely lumpy and uncomfortable. The bathroom was minuscule, the sink being totally in the way when you stepped out of the shower. Although not essential, wifi was advertised but the signal so poor it was unusable.

Reviewed by
d Bradley

From Stoke on Trent, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

would definitely recommendv
Lovely welcome, very family friendly, awesome breakfast, very helpful with maps etc, only 7 mins from Windermere on foot. Wouldn't hesitate to recommend this accomodation.

Reviewed by
Elliott B

From Bury St Edmunds, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Warm and friendly!
My family and I declare that we thoroughly enjoyed the weekend at kirkwood! We were greeted with a lovely warm welcome and given a short tour of the guest house. The owners were very accommodating and friendly! We were given a variety of choice for breakfast including a yummy vegetarian fry up, fried eggs, home made waffles with syrup, and even my fussy 8year old ate heartily! The rooms were clean and serviced regularly, and we appreciated the nice little personal touches the owners left in the room..with chocs!! :) perfect!!
I especially liked how the owners interacted with us, giving advice on local attractions and even provided a typed up guided tour to help tourists make the most of the beautiful views and activities. We were very well looked after and wouldn't hesitate to stay at this lovely guest house again :)

Reviewed by
Taiba T

From Manchester, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Beautiful romantic b&b
We went to stay at kirkwood lodge for my 21st birthday present. We were welcomed by the hosts who were lovely and very welcoming! We brought some champagne at they brought it to our room with an Ice bucket in the evening. The breakfasts were great excellent. The room had period features but was very in touch with the lakes theme! Had the best weekend and we felt very at home. Couldn't have asked for anymore!

Reviewed by
Rebecca J

From Astley, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next