No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Ship Hotel

3Visit England Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
The Parade, Parkgate, Wirral, CH64 6SA
Breakfast included, Free WIFI and Free Parking...Coastal hotel on the
Wirral, with fabulous views over the Dee estuary to the hills of North
Wales. The Ship Hotel offers great food and drink, free Wi-Fi, free parking
and comfortable en-suite rooms at good value prices.

On Parkgate's Parade, the Ship Hotel is within easy reach of both Chester
and Liverpool. All of the attractions of the Wirral are close by, including
the village of Port Sunlight, the Lady Lever Art Gallery, and the area's
many golf courses, including the world famous Royal Liverpool Golf Club at
Hoylake (host to the British Open in 2006 and 2014).

The well-stocked bar sells a range of award-winning real ales, fine world
wines and refreshing soft drinks. There is a cosy open fire and a spacious
heated patio area. Food is served daily and the homemade menu features a
variety of hearty dishes including lighter options as well as filling mains.
The Sunday roasts are a favourite with the locals.

All of the en suite rooms are clean, warm and comfortable, with a digital TV
and tea/coffee facilities.

The Ship Hotel also has a large, free customer car park.
Picture of The Ship Hotel, Wirral at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 42 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
92% recommended this accommodation to a friend 91% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good As Ever!
I stay at Ship Hotel whenever I am working in Wirral Area. It is an exceedingly well run hotel in a beautiful position. Single rooms small but comfortable and very clean. Welcoming and efficient staff and good food make for another pleasant stay.

Reviewed by
B Hutchinson

From Holyhead, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

great weekend
did not know what to expect never been to this part of England before really surprised the staff at the hotel were really great nothing too much trouble and the people of the wirrel area were just amazing talked to you as if you were life long friends ..thank you'' going again

Reviewed by
richard mitchell

From Loughborough, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Only downside is that the cr parking is uncontrolled and local visitors to the area are allowed to use the car park making it difficult for guests to find a parking place

Reviewed by
Ronald M

From London, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent stay in a friendly and welcoming hotel
I stayed here for a week whilst working in Chester. I had a standard single room which was based on the second floor of the hotel; this was towards the front of the hotel; the hotel overlooks the River Dee which is a spectacular view on sunny evenings. My room was relatively small but was still very clean, with excellent bathroom facilities, and it felt quite cosy in the evenings. Breakfast was included and was to a high standard. There is also a restaurant which offers excellent food in the evenings. It is very popular with tourists and visitors to the hotel in the daytime. The reception staff were also very friendly. Overall a very good place to stay and I would definitely return in the future.

Reviewed by
James B

From Southampton, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Beautiful Stay
We went away for our Anniversary. The Bedroom was lovely with a beautiful view, comfortable, clean and quiet. absolutely brilliant. the bathroom however was a little odd, don't get me wrong it was clean, and fresh but it was a massive space with the shower, toilet and sink all tucked away in the corners, the shower was a little small, and the water flow a little slow but other than that it was a lovely, friendly, relaxing and for us a rather romantic stay. my partner had dislocated his elbow and needed ice and heat packs and the staff were great, they couldn't help us enough. even offer to give us an ice pack for the journey home. lovely hotel, friendly people. all in all a great hotel. would return again.

Reviewed by
Chereen O'Loughlin

From Wirral, UK
Who stayed in April 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Enjoyed a lovely weekend at The Ship Hotel. Room was lovely. Could have done with a bedside lamp and blackout blind on large window instead of curtains. All staff attentive. Food excellent. Very popular with the locals which is very good. Will certainly be returning in the future.

Reviewed by
T Kimber

From Midhurst, UK
Who stayed in March 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Would definitely come back...
The room was great value for money, although the breakfast seemed unnecessarily expensive @ £7.50 per head. Other than that, the staff were friendly and the accommodation was great. I'd definitely come back.

Reviewed by
Paul Davies

From England
Who stayed in March 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great all round experience
Very pleasant staff who were all very helpful. The accommodation was to a high standard and excellent value for money. Food in restaurant was very good.

Reviewed by
M Davies

From Hartlepool, UK
Who stayed in March 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Our stay was very pleasant and the room was very comfortable especially the bed (superking at least). Our only criticism was there were no instructions on how to use the excellent shower ( the controls are not very clear) and one of the main courses served in the restaurant was nearly cold which was a disappointment about which we could not bring to the hotel's attention at the time as we were entertaining an elderly relative at the table whose wife's funeral we were attending on the following day and we did not wish to upset or embarass him as he had recommended the hotel originally.

Reviewed by
Christopher H

From UK
Who stayed in March 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Arrived for a 1 night stay ( Saturday). Our room was on the first floor (12A) . There was wall paper hanging off the ceiling and a view of the dreary building opposite reception. The room was comfortable enough but certainly needs some work. We ate in the hotel in the evening and the food was really good, could not fault the quality or presentation.However we were woken up at 2.30am by other inconsiderate guests returning to their rooms, could get back to sleep after that so not the relaxing night away that we had planned. The hotel kindly refunded the cost of breakfast for our lack of sleep caused by the unruly guests. Staff very good but I doubt we will returning for a second visit

Reviewed by
phillip a

From UK
Who stayed in February 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 Next