You have not entered any valid search criteria.

Please enter a keyword and perform your search again.

Reviews - The Royal Hotel

3

Station Road, Ashby-De-La-Zouch, LE65 2GP

Price From 90.28 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Good

All reviews (29)

52% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • Cynthia B

  • June 2016

Comfortable Stay

Stayed in room 265 for Friday and Saturday nights.

Large room which was clean, very comfortable bed and situated at back of hotel, which I believe is quieter than the front. Had booked 5 other rooms for family members, all differing in sizes and quality. Beds differed greatly. Some had very thin lumpy mattresses and others like us had good quality mattresses. Breakfast was great. Lots of good food. The hotel itself could do with updating, looking very tired. Our room was quite dark, a bright paint job would give it a great lift. The staff were all very pleasant and helpful. Couple of minutes walk from the town which has plenty of pubs/restaurants to eat.

  • Paul C

  • June 2016

Disappointed stay

I do take into consideration they are undergoing work but I was put off straight away by the grubby side entrance provided, so uninviting and dirty.

Polite lady on reception but needed to have a second row provide as key would not work. The mattress was so old and worn , it was springy , uncomfortable and made a noise when turning. The breakfast was not cooks to order and average quality, sausages were cheap and horrible.

  • J Fryer

  • December 2015

Ashby's Finest

You will get a large helping of old style luxury not often seen in these days of 21century bling.

See for yourself. You will not be disappointed.

  • michael pagan

  • December 2015

the royal hotel

Nice outside old building lots of character sadly once inside the building that changed drastically – was originally booked for 3 nights after 5 minutes entering the room if I could have found an alternative I would have booked out right away.

The front of house manager was immediately on the defence – suggesting that the hotel was use to such complaints, the room was very dated, paper peeling off, a smell coming from the bathroom and the bed was positioned next to a shelf one side and a light hanging from the wall on the opposite, either way you turned you would bag your head. Service was OK breakfast wasn’t so bad, shame the TV belonged in the dark ages and the wifi was abysmal

  • D Debenham

  • November 2015

Basic/Clean/Get what you pay for :)

Room 266 - Hot tap gets stuck and is a struggle to turn off.

Shower heat control knob is faulty and requires a lot of jiggling about to operate. Other than that... All good. Beds comfy. Room is warm and quiet. Complimentary tea/coffee/biscuits/ect are a nice touch. Thanks

  • Phil N

  • November 2015

Good Value

Basic but clean room, decent breakfast.

perfect for a quick stop

  • Graham Waite

  • August 2015

Needs updating and attention to detail

Staff pleasant but never received the wake up call we requested.

Breakfast plentiful but spoilt by cheap Tesco value budget sausages which made all the difference. Generally clean and tidy but building in need of a refurbishment. The front of the hotel looks semi derelict and the car park next door has pot holes. Parking is included in room rate but no notification of this on the booking form so beware you don't pay before you check in. Room rates are fairly priced but I would rather pay more for a better standard.

  • Andrea W

  • August 2015

Great if you get a refurbished room!

This place has been run down but some rooms have been refurbished.

They are on the second floor and there is no lift. But worth the trek as the rooms below are very tired and worn out. We thought our room was lovely but the bathroom, although nicely modernised was badly designed. The shower above the high sided bath meant you had to climb in before you could operate the shower as the screen was fixed and the basin was small so you had to fiddle a bit to fill the kettle. The towels and bed linen were good quality and everything was spotless. Breakfast was good with a selection of cereals, fruit and hot items.

  • dean d

  • March 2015

Room and hotel was very dated and needs a upgrade , good only served in the morning no afternoon or evening meals, tv with picture but no sound, not worth the price of the stay.

  • A Ellis

  • February 2015

The Royal Hotel

Staff are pleasant and friendly food's ok.

Hotel's a little tired and worn.