No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Balmoral Lodge Hotel

2AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
41 Queens road , Southport, PR9 9EX
Here at the Balmoral Lodge in Southport we have created the garden wing which contains our "exclusive" bedrooms.

These are all comfortably furnished and equipped to the highest of standards. All, of course, contain the basic facilities. Our more luxurious room contains a fridge and your own French doors to a balcony, overlooking the landscaped garden.

For your convenience our services include free car parking for guests, laundry service, coffee lounge, bar, free Internet and Email access and many more.

We are a family friendly establishment and groups are welcome by prior arrangement - we are able to provide catering for groups by prior arrangement.

We are 5 minutes from the city centre and conference centre.
Picture of Balmoral Lodge Hotel, Southport at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 68 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
80% recommended this accommodation to a friend 81% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Two Star Accomodation
The hotel could do with a refurb and some TLC but apart from that it was okay the manager was very friendly and courteous in every way, the breakfast was quite nice, but we did understand that the hotel was only rated as a two star, so you get what you pay for, but if we visit Southport again we probably would stay at the hotel as its okay for a short stay.

Reviewed by
Anthony Hornby

From Birkenhead, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly guesthouse in good location
When staying at a B&B I look for 3 things. Quiet room, comfortable bed and great breakfast. The Balmoral had 2 out of 3. The breakfast was a big let down. Having said that the staff were very friendly and welcoming and guesthouse was in great location for our trip to Royal Birkdale.

Reviewed by
Joanne D

From Droitwich, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Basic for the money

Reviewed by
Kerry S

From Harrow, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly staff and value for money. Breakfast nicely laid out.

Reviewed by
Jan C

From Liverpool, England
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Better than a Prince
Good value. Although the hotel is a bit tired the room was very good. other areas of the hotel are a bit dated.Breakfast was okay with a good choice.Pleasant proprietors. A complete change from our previous stay at the Prince of Wales. The Balmoral was much better!

Reviewed by
Martin T

From Oxted, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Bed comfort and food
We were a family of 5 - mother and 4 daughters. The rooms were generally fine, but 2 of the mattresses were worn out. The food was fine, but the drinks could have been improved - watered down orange juice and coffee were disappointing. The hotel owners were very pleasant though.

Reviewed by
Kate L

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Ok for price
Had to find a hotel for 2 nights at short notice. I guess what do you expect for a double room with breakfast for £40 a night? Everywhere needs decorating, bed like Weetabix, other guests leaving at 3am. I could pick the place apart but what's the point. It was a cheap hotel that must cost a fortune to maintain. Staff very nice and helpful and pleasant.

Reviewed by
Irena B

From Southport, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very disappointed. Hotel and rooms need updating. Certainly not worth £50 per night.

Reviewed by
samantha houghton

From St Helens, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Value for Money
I stayed here for one night and found a clean comfortable room with friendly staff. If you are looking for a good value for money hotel, then this is a good place to stay.

Reviewed by
anne p

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Quite enjoyable stay room was adequate would not have paid full price.

Reviewed by
Tracey M

From Manchester, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Family with teenage children

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next