No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Balmoral Lodge Hotel

2AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
41 Queens road , Southport, PR9 9EX
Here at the Balmoral Lodge in Southport we have created the garden wing which contains our "exclusive" bedrooms.

These are all comfortably furnished and equipped to the highest of standards. All, of course, contain the basic facilities. Our more luxurious room contains a fridge and your own French doors to a balcony, overlooking the landscaped garden.

For your convenience our services include free car parking for guests, laundry service, coffee lounge, bar, free Internet and Email access and many more.

We are a family friendly establishment and groups are welcome by prior arrangement - we are able to provide catering for groups by prior arrangement.

We are 5 minutes from the city centre and conference centre.
Picture of Balmoral Lodge Hotel, Southport at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since February 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 72 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
80% recommended this accommodation to a friend 81% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very poor
Although the hotel looked acceptable on the ground floor, immediately upon reaching the first floor it became unacceptable. The wallpapering was very bad, the door frames were knocked, the shower cubicle was badly grouted. It was tatty.
I left after one night but paid for the second night. The breakfast (egg, sausage, hash brown and mushrooms) left a lake of fat on my plate. Most of it I left.
I was glad to leave the place and find another hotel.

Reviewed by
L Hughes Sharpe

From UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Balmoral lodge southport
What a great place to stay friendly staff good rooms & a quality breakfast what more could you want

Reviewed by
Robert L

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good value for money
A nice hotel with friendly staff. A good value for money hotel

Reviewed by
anne p

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

had a lovely stay at the balmoral lodge hotel no complaints at all would definitely stay again

Reviewed by
s hardaker

From Pudsey, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room had a nasty smell (damp maybe) despite being clean. Shower was more like a jet wash unless you had it cold! Breakfast would have been excellent but beans and sausage was cold. Staff friendly and helpful. Hotel well organised, clean and tidy.

Reviewed by
A Bowen

From Burnley, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

lovely hotel and staff
We had a lovely stay at this hotel and the owners and staff were wonderful. We would definitely stay again and recommend the hotel to others.

Reviewed by
Emma Jackson

From Manchester, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

airshow weekend
we stayed saturday night of the airshow with our 3 year old grandson Tom. The owners were away and one lady was doing everything. She was brilliant with Tom. The family room was just right and the breakfast was very high standard. We were able to leave the car in the car park on Sunday.The hotel is in a quiet area and good value for money.

Reviewed by
jean williams

From Thornton Cleveleys, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Balmoral Lodge Hotel
Lovely place, helpful staff, very clean and quality food was super. And a good choice as well.

Reviewed by
W Wade

From Preston, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

First impression wasn't great, a bit run down, but the 2 french ladies that ran it were very friendly and helpful. It was very good value for money and the breakfast was sufficient.

Reviewed by
j griffiths

From Gloucester, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

My single room was lovely. Good quality for the price i paid. would definitely stay again
I was able to check in any time after mid-day which was nice since I had a lot of bags that I wanted to drop off before going out for the day. The lady at reception was very helpful in showing me where my room was and explaining where the side entrance to the building was incase I wanted to come and go late at night, Room was a good size for one person. Had a nice desk with a mirror so I could easily do my makeup and hair in the morning. It is a very nice looking building also from the inside and outside. I would definitely stay again and will be booking with them again when I stay in Southport after Christmas.

Reviewed by
J Cuffe

From Peterborough, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 Next