No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Balmoral Lodge Hotel

2AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
41 Queens road , Southport, PR9 9EX
Here at the Balmoral Lodge in Southport we have created the garden wing which contains our "exclusive" bedrooms.

These are all comfortably furnished and equipped to the highest of standards. All, of course, contain the basic facilities. Our more luxurious room contains a fridge and your own French doors to a balcony, overlooking the landscaped garden.

For your convenience our services include free car parking for guests, laundry service, coffee lounge, bar, free Internet and Email access and many more.

We are a family friendly establishment and groups are welcome by prior arrangement - we are able to provide catering for groups by prior arrangement.

We are 5 minutes from the city centre and conference centre.
Picture of Balmoral Lodge Hotel, Southport at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since April 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 76 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
80% recommended this accommodation to a friend 81% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly hosts, ample breakfast but room for improvement
Unfortunately, there was a very strong odour in the room from the carpet and damp which made the stay unpleasant and permeated my clothes. This was unfortunate as in principle, although very small to get a single En-suite with bath and shower but the price is very good. I would recommend changing the carpet as it was really unpleasant and grouting over mold in the bathroom unfortunately won't sort it - a great shame as the hosts very friendly, breakfast more than ample and a great building.

Reviewed by
Heather A

From Preston, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

value for money
very good for the price nice quite room with good breakfast included

Reviewed by
david w

From Winchester, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Southport Weekend
We arrived at this hotel at about 6.30pm with two young grandchildren only to be told we were not booked in for 4 people, only 2 adults. We said we would go elsewhere but the proprietor said we would still have to pay. I had to get my booking form on my emails to prove we had the booking….. and we were then found a family room - amazing…. The room was cold as the heating and water were switched off around 9pm and there was only an oil radiator to heat the room.
The breakfast was adequate for what we paid for the room but I would not go here again..
We booked into another hotel for our 2nd night!!

Reviewed by
Lyn C

From Crewe, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Best sleep in hotel
Very friendly staff lovely room and a really comfy bed

Reviewed by
D Arnold

From Birmingham, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

excellent value for money
Family room with onsuite and a tv for £44...

Reviewed by
Anthony Sales

From UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very poor
Although the hotel looked acceptable on the ground floor, immediately upon reaching the first floor it became unacceptable. The wallpapering was very bad, the door frames were knocked, the shower cubicle was badly grouted. It was tatty.
I left after one night but paid for the second night. The breakfast (egg, sausage, hash brown and mushrooms) left a lake of fat on my plate. Most of it I left.
I was glad to leave the place and find another hotel.

Reviewed by
L Hughes Sharpe

From UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Balmoral lodge southport
What a great place to stay friendly staff good rooms & a quality breakfast what more could you want

Reviewed by
Robert L

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good value for money
A nice hotel with friendly staff. A good value for money hotel

Reviewed by
anne p

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

had a lovely stay at the balmoral lodge hotel no complaints at all would definitely stay again

Reviewed by
s hardaker

From Pudsey, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room had a nasty smell (damp maybe) despite being clean. Shower was more like a jet wash unless you had it cold! Breakfast would have been excellent but beans and sausage was cold. Staff friendly and helpful. Hotel well organised, clean and tidy.

Reviewed by
A Bowen

From Burnley, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Group of women

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 Next