You have not entered any valid search criteria.

Please enter your destination and perform your search again.

Reviews - Balmoral Lodge Hotel


41 Queens road, Southport, PR9 9EX

Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (37)

86% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • S Riley

  • February 2016

Balmoral Lodge Hotel

Excellent Service in a small friendly family hotel.

  • A Lynch

  • February 2016

Clean and near town centre

Basic but clean.

  • Gina H

  • January 2016

Very good value

We had a very friendly welcome, and were made to feel very welcome.

Good size room, clean and spacious. Breakfast was plentiful and very nice.

  • Steven T

  • January 2016

Well worth it!

We paid £70 for a two night stay.

Greeted on arrival by the friendly owner. Our room was pleasant and very quiet with a separate large bathroom. It was clean with everything we needed for a comfortable stay. The landlady was also exceptionally welcoming, without being intrusive. Breakfast was fine. Free parking, too. It seemed to us the owners enjoy what they do and work hard to provide a decent, value for money B and B and they have certainly achieved this. For the price it exceeded expectations and we would return again.

  • T Turner

  • January 2016

Balmoral Lodge Hotel

Very friendly staff, really good value for money,3rd time we have stayed and will definitely return.

  • E Roberts

  • November 2015

Night away.

Expectations where relatively low due to the price we where paying, we where pleasantly surprised on arrival.

Parking facilities excellent. The room was spacious and clean, two double beds, big tv, fridge, hairdryer and tea and coffee makings. Mattress was the best I've ever slept on, memory foam, will be buying one ourselves. Very friendly staff and breakfast was great.

  • William M

  • October 2015

Family trip

We found the hotel to be clean and friendly' the room was spacious even with 2 double beds.

The french receptionist couldnt have been anymore friendly and helpful on our arrival. They even allowed me to leave my car in the car park on day of departure while on a coach trip for the day and collected it on our return that night.


  • May 2015

Balmoral Lodge Hotel

The overall impression was very poor.

Greeted by a locked door and a receptionist in a very dark area registering. Efficient service. Room large - very high ceiling and cold. Kettle half full of boiled water.... Had to find a plug to plug it into. No curtain /blind to ensuite window..... Clean but shower almost dysfunctional - very weak sprinkler!. Going out after sunset was a health hazard. Whole area from first floor to ground was illuminated by one very low wattage bulb at midpoint on staircase - dangerous. Found side door after a while - but quite unsatisfactory. Bedding - yuk. Under sheet clean and ironed but top sheet laid underneath a quilt which seemed to have a cover which had not been changed. Top sheet flimsily laid underneath and got detached during sleep. Quilt very low tog rating. 4. Very cold throughout night. Sound from next door room was disturbing until 1.30 am - wall vibrations/ bed creaking etc. shaking trouser press, mirror and other stuff screwed to walls. Overall not a good night - will not be returning!!

  • Susan A

  • March 2015

Wonderful stay - will definitely return!

My daughter & I stayed here recently when we were on a business trip in Southport.

From the minute we arrived, the warmth of the welcome we received from the host matched the lovely warm room that awaited us. The room was spotless and we had a very comfortable stay - just what we needed after a long hard day. Breakfast was plentiful and again, friendly and helpful staff. I left something behind at the hotel, which was waiting for me at Reception to collect when I called at the end of our 2nd working day on our way home. The host and staff couldn't be more accommodating and we look forward to another trip to Southport when we will certainly be booking up at the Balmoral Lodge.

  • Heather A

  • February 2015

Friendly hosts, ample breakfast but room for improvement

Unfortunately, there was a very strong odour in the room from the carpet and damp which made the stay unpleasant and permeated my clothes.

This was unfortunate as in principle, although very small to get a single En-suite with bath and shower but the price is very good. I would recommend changing the carpet as it was really unpleasant and grouting over mold in the bathroom unfortunately won't sort it - a great shame as the hosts very friendly, breakfast more than ample and a great building.