No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Balmoral Lodge Hotel

2AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
41 Queens road , Southport, PR9 9EX
Here at the Balmoral Lodge in Southport we have created the garden wing which contains our "exclusive" bedrooms.

These are all comfortably furnished and equipped to the highest of standards. All, of course, contain the basic facilities. Our more luxurious room contains a fridge and your own French doors to a balcony, overlooking the landscaped garden.

For your convenience our services include free car parking for guests, laundry service, coffee lounge, bar, free Internet and Email access and many more.

We are a family friendly establishment and groups are welcome by prior arrangement - we are able to provide catering for groups by prior arrangement.

We are 5 minutes from the city centre and conference centre.
Picture of Balmoral Lodge Hotel, Southport at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 67 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
80% recommended this accommodation to a friend 81% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

It does what it says on the tin!!
The property is exactly what it advertises itself as - a budget hotel/B&B. You get exactly what you pay for. The bed was lovely and soft - as a bad sleeper, I was pleasantly surprised that I was able to get a reasonably good nights sleep every night. There was plenty of luggage and clothes space. The room was clean and the owners were warm and friendly. The only down points were the towels - they had seen better days and were frayed and had holes in them, plus the plumbing was a bit on the poor side - the toilet flush was hit and miss!!!. Parking was at a premium, and I could see there being problems during peak months. Overall, I had a pleasant 6 night stay.

Reviewed by
Arthur F

From UK
Who stayed in December 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

excellant.the position was ideal.just a short walk into town.the room was very comfortable.clean and warm.food was very good and we were well looked after.would stay here again.we parked the car in front and it didnt move until we came home.

Reviewed by
David Derry

From Wakefield, UK
Who stayed in December 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

lovely place
the staff were very friendly and made me feel welcome.my room was just right for one person and very clean.location good too as it was only a short walk to the town centre and Lord street.would definately stay there again.

Reviewed by
L Adams

From UK
Who stayed in December 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

ok for onenight but dont have breakfast!
to be fair to the Balmoral its a fairly cheap hotel so expectations should not be too high. I booked a single room just for one night so my only wish was for a comfortable bed which i got and an ensuite which i had. The room is very dated but is ok for one or two nights if you are not too picky.
However, what really let this hotel down is a very poor breakfast. Its buffet style with eggs, bacon,sausages, tomatoes ,beans etc on a hot plate. Most of it was cold and the fried eggs looked like they had been fried for an hour because the yolk was pulverised to a greyish colour.How the cook (who was friendly enough )accepted to serve it is beyond me really. I got moved mid meal from where i was originally placed by her to accomodate a big family which was a little naughty but would of been fine if the food would of been slight better! All in all, one or two nights ok but they must fix breakfast!

Reviewed by
Dave Tracey

From Manchester, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly staff, good location, the room we had was a double room but the bed was two singles pushed together , the decor of the bedroom and bathroom was rather tired and needs updating, it had one small window , outside of the room was a smell of paint.
We only had breakfast and found the seating arrrangements a little bizarre, breakfast would be better if it was cooked individually, bacon, eggs,sausage beans and tomatoes wereon a hot plate which meant the eggs were lying in grease and the bacon looked as if it had been boiled joint and then just hacked into lumps, it was only just warm and very fatty. There was one toaster which was quite slow and if you wanted toast you made it yourself and if there were other people haveing toast you would wait for a while

Reviewed by
Brian Balderson

From Wigan, England
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We were more than happy with everything about our stay. Nothing was too much trouble we were helped with everything we needed including cereal, bread and a sultana loaf for coeliac disease. We would certainly recommend The Balmoral Lodge Hotel and we would stay again if we were in the area. Thank you to all who made our stay a good memory.

Reviewed by
simon elliott

From Plymouth, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great place,cosy and comfy,friendly staff. Would highly recommend.

Reviewed by
J Coss

From Republic of Ireland
Who stayed in November 2013

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

breakfast
i prefer breakfast to be cooked fresh

Reviewed by
brian w

From Oldbury, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

weekend break
the hotel was clean the food was excelent and the staff very helpful and friendly and nothing was to much for them.

Reviewed by
W Swalwell

From Newport, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

wifes birthday break
we found this hotel to be clean and the owners and staff were brilliant and nothing was to much trouble. the food was very good.

Reviewed by
Wayne Swalwell

From Newport, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next