Reviews - Mercure Chester North Woodhey House Hotel


Berwick road West Welsh road, Little Sutton, ELLESMERE PORT, CH66 4PS

Price From 137.87 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (47)

72% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • sandra h

  • May 2015

pool freezing

The pool was too cold to use.

The sauna was only warm. Only had breakfast which was fair but expensive for a warm buffet. Went elsewhere for dinner as it was too expensive too.

  • Adrian B

  • May 2015


The cleaner knocked on the door, announced "housekeeping" and opened our bedroom door - and left when it was clear we were still in bed.

Cleaner was heard to do this to other rooms along the corridor. That's not right. Other than that, service was polite and friendly.

  • ian p

  • April 2015

staff brilliant, hotel lacking

Could not fault staff so helpful.

hotel would not stay again needs someone to check each room properly. We had to change rooms neither were acceptable.

  • Mark P

  • April 2015

Nice hotel. Ideally situated for Chester zoo. Staff very friendly. Hotel a little tired.

In need of redecoration but on the whole adequate.

Only issue was the bathroom sink apparently the pipe work means you have to run the cold tap for a while to get cold water. Wasn't told this until I queried it. Tell me on check in or better still sort it out. Staff were very friendly and helpful

  • J Shore

  • April 2015

Mercure Chester North Woodhey House Hotel

We was staying for two nights the first night we got to the hotel and was booked in to our room.

We entered the room and I was supriced at the room size it was not as big as I thought but thought of it. We set off to go to sleep and the was a notice coming from the radiator. this happened all threw the night I had about 5 hour sleep. I went down in the morning and told reception all about the noise. They put use in another room the other room was a lot bigger and looked like what I origanaly booked do the first room was wrong. after the everything was perfect very helpful.

  • Andrea S

  • March 2015

Happy times

I would recommend this hotel to everyone.

Had a lovely break here and the staff made our stay perfect. Very friendly atmosphere and great value for money.

  • Ben P

  • March 2015


It looked a lot better on the website.

Rather tired hotel, needs some TLC. Reception staff very good but bar and restaurant staff young inexperienced and not very attentive. Food was average at best. Breakfast they had run out of orange juice and no one asked if you wanted anything off the menu. Wifi free but very patchy, Needed to log on every 10 mins. Reasonable price but not good enough to make me stay again.

  • Angela B

  • February 2015

Last minute booking

Sadly I could not recommend this Mercure hotel.

Having stayed in other hotels in this chain it was a considerable disappointment as to the standards I expected from previous experience. The reception staff were pleasant however. The room and bathroom were generally clean.

Issues: Heat burn marks on a lamp shade, another not working, stained throw, handle loose on the bath, room heater not turned on, continuous hum along the corridor, car park potholed, cigarette butts and chewing gum at entrance to reception. The spa was doubly disappointing and I did not use it at all, it looked much better in the photos. Everything was very tired and needs bringing up to date. I did not eat at the hotel so cannot comment on that aspect. I would not stay here again I am afraid.

  • helen r

  • February 2015

Mercure Chester North Woodhey House Hotel

we stayed in room 209 which was a really spacious family room.

  • Anthony R

  • January 2015

My reservation and stay at Mercure Woodheys

After a long journey due to heavy traffic and faulty SatNav I was very happy to reach the hotel.The reception was very good and clearly explained despite being Post Christmas all food and drink were available via the bar.

Perhaps less staff, but the service was always attentive. Any directions we needed were given and very welcome with our navigation problems. Perhaps my one remark would be the reception area needs a refreshment to improve first impressions,but a very nice visit to Chester area