No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Royal Hotel Liverpool

3Visit England Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
1 Marine Terrace, Waterloo, Liverpool, L22 5PR
The Royal Hotel is a privately owned 25 bedroom 3 Star hotel located at Waterloo in Liverpool - The hotel overlooks the Marine Gardens and the Mersey estuary with views of the Wirral and North Wales in the distance - The Anthony Gormley Art installation Another Place - which consists of 100 life size Iron Men - is directly in front of the hotel - Originally named the Crosby Seabank Hotel - this fine Grade II listed building dates back to 1815 - Just one year later on the 18th June 1816 - the first anniversary of the Battle of Waterloo - its name was changed to The Royal Waterloo Hotel and the district in which it stood adopted the name of Waterloo - Today with its grand proportions and Georgian Facade - much of the original character is retained - Furnishings and decor have been selected to reflect the elegance of the era whilst at the same time ensuring that the surroundings are comfortable - relaxing and above all homely - Set in the suburbs of Liverpool - we are a 10 minute drive from the City Centre - Anfield and Goodison stadiums and Aintree Racecourse - home of The Grand National - We are ideally situated close to the M62 and M57 motorways - with Liverpool Airport and all Docks and Ferry Terminals nearby
Picture of Royal Hotel Liverpool, Liverpool at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 16 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
93% recommended this accommodation to a friend 93% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely stay
stayed here the night before my sons wedding. really nice hotel. nice room with all mod cons., friendly helpful staff. good breakfast with very helpful lady serving us. will use again.

Reviewed by
S Breeze

From Welshpool, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

the royal
I recently stayed here along with my younger sister we were in Liverpool attending a very special birthday party at the local rugby club the staff were incredibly friendly reliable while being very professional the food was really good the room very clean bathroom spotlessly clean good shower and the bed was so comfy I wanted to take it home !!

Reviewed by
kath s

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Relaxing city break
Perfect location for visiting Liverpool with buses nearby every five minutes throughout the day. All staff were very friendly and efficient. Ate in the restaurant each evening, plenty of choice on the menu and no course disappointed.

Reviewed by
Chris D

From Northampton, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A hidden gem
We booked at the last minute and were so impressed with the hotel.
Nicely situated in a quiet area just out of the city overlooking a park and the river.
The hotel and rooms were pleasantly decorated and spotlessly clean.
The restaurant menus had plenty of choice and the food was excellent.
The staff were friendly, helpfully and good humoured.
Couldn't fault our stay.

Reviewed by
Wayne M

From Buxton, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Stay, shame about the service and food at breakfast!
The reception was warm and welcoming even though we were late. The room was a good size with new fixtures and fittings, great sheets and everything worked as expected. The bathroom was recently refitted clearly and was tastefully done with good function to the gushing water even though we were and end room upstairs. Room service were accommodating with regular drinks to the room as well which was lovely. We had a great nights sleep on a firm but comfortable bed, with no noise from downstairs or anywhere else. The only issue was the breakfast which was tardy in service and poor quality in most of the food. I was surprised as clearly so much had gone into the rest of the stay. I would stay again should the need arise.

Reviewed by
Katie R

From UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

..
..

Reviewed by
Ian D

From UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

It was a comfortable and pleasant stay

Reviewed by
Struan Erskine

From Kingston upon Thames, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent value for money, great location into Liverpool centre by train, lovely location, would certainly book again

Reviewed by
steve d

From UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Amazing little Gem!
Had a fantastic stay at this fab hotel highly recommended

Reviewed by
v wake

From Hertford, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Pleasant and convenient location
Whether for business or leisure in the Merseyside area you could not go far wrong with the Royal.
The hotel in a well maintained traditional listed building has a relaxed atmosphere, in a quiet location. However, if you unforgivingly crave everything modern and trendy it is probably not for you.
The staff were extremely pleasant and dedicated - I found nothing to fault during my short stay.

Reviewed by
Arthur J B

From UK
Who stayed in July 2013

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next