No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Carlton Lodge

3Self Classified Guest House Ratings explained
Carlton Lodge, 12 Westby Road, , Bournemouth, BH5 1HD
Carlton Lodge is situated just 5 minutes walk from 7 miles of golden sandy beaches and Europes first Surf Reef. Boscombe itself has a wide range of local shops and a wealth of eateries including Chinese, Thai, Indian and also traditional fish & chips. Bournemouth town centre is a 5 minute cab ride away or take a stroll along the promenade or catch the pier to pier land train. Transport links to nearby Poole, Christchurch and, Salisbury and Swanage are excellent. We are also a great base for exploring further afield such as the New Forest National Park, the Jurassic Coast and the lovely Dorset countryside FREE Wi-Fi
Picture of Carlton Lodge, Bournemouth at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 30 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
98% recommended this accommodation to a friend 98% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent value for money, great facilities and food
Exceeded my expectations for a guest house, very thoughtfully provided extras in the room, clean and comfortably furnished. Norman and Gill were very friendly. Comprehensive selection for breakfast including fresh fruit salad and nice yogurts, and beautifully cooked breakfast to order with good quality ingredients. Very welcoming to our dog as well.
Would definitely return.
Thank you Norman and Gill.

Reviewed by
Samantha H

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great welcome and very friendly
Great place to stay. Within easy reach of places to eat and frequent public transport into Bournemouth if you don't wish the twenty minute walk. Gill & Norman very friendly and ensured our stay was enjoyable. Would stay there again.

Reviewed by
Chris G

From Colchester, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Simply Superb
We had a very enjoyable stay at the Carlton Lodge and the owners were very nice and helpful and have a true passion for the business. The room we stayed in was spacious and the beds comfortable. The breakfast was excellent, prepared from locally sourced foods. The Lodge is situated close to the main shopping area and this can be reached on foot in just a minute or two. In addition, the main Beach at Boscombe Pier is just a short drive away, or if you have little to carry and are happy to tackle a fairly short hill, you could walk it in 10-15 mins. We will have no hesitation in staying again, as and when we have cause to visit the area.

Reviewed by
P Hawkins

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great!
Really nice people. Norman and Gill are really welcoming and helpful hosts, eager to recommend things to do. Location is relatively easy to find, in a reasonable quiet location and not too far from the beach.
Breakfast was fantastic, just what is required ahead of a days exploring.
Only complaint would be keys are difficult to distinguish between Lodge door and room door, and that is if I'm being really picky!
A+, would stay again!

Reviewed by
M Howard

From Dursley, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Brilliant stay at boscombe
We found the accommodation to be clean and tidy .the patrons were very welcoming and friendly and the food was excellent,fresh fruit salad followed by a superb full breakfast , the lodge was also very close to bosom be beach only 5minutes by foot.

Reviewed by
john s

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Amazed
Pleasantly surprised at the room and especially the breakfast ,which included warm freshly baked muffins and fresh fruit as well as delicious full english. They go the extra mile .

Reviewed by
christine moore

From Salisbury, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great place. Would deffinately stay again

Reviewed by
K Hall

From Banbury, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Boscombe
All good very satisfied, would use again with pleasure.

Reviewed by
Paul L

From Shrewsbury, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Ben and Sophie's stay
Execellent accommodation. Brilliant value. Friendly and clean. Location is ideal for beach and shops

Reviewed by
B Jones

From Weston Super Mare, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Comfortable and good value
My daughter and I had travelled by train from Doncaster with my 2 year old grandson and it had been quite tiring. Norman went out of his way to make us feel at home when we arrived and my grandson thoroughly enjoyed his 'smiley face' breakfast . We were close enough to the shops without being to noisy and within 10 mins walk to Boscombes fantastic beach and pier .

Reviewed by
j murray

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Family with young children

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next