Last Minute Accommodation > World > Europe > UK > England > Central England > West Midlands > Birmingham > University of Birmingham Hotels > Cobden Hotel Birmingham formerly the Quality Hotel
No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Cobden Hotel Birmingham formerly the Quality Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
166 Hagley Road Edgbaston, Birmingham, B16 9NZ
The Cobden Hotel Birmingham formerly known as the Quality Hotel a is ideally located for business or leisure travellers. Set in peaceful grounds, the
hotel is less the five minutes drive from Birmingham City Centre, only 3.6 miles from Birmingham's Famous Chocolate factory Cadbury world. With easy routes from the M5 and M6 motorways.

We offer our guests free parking and free use of our leisure facilities including an indoor swimming pool, cardio gym, steam room and sauna.
Picture of Cobden Hotel Birmingham formerly the Quality Hotel, Birmingham at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 365 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
51% recommended this accommodation to a friend 57% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Disappointed with the quality of accommodation and facilities
The family room was a good size at first look, but the bathroom was very small.
We didn't have any towels, and when we requested some, they only gave us 2, instead of 4!
The leisure facilities were more run down than we expected them to be. The changing rooms were small, and the lockers required a padlock! Needless to say we had to leave our valuables insecurely.
The pool felt dirty, so we didn't stay long.
The double bed was extremely uncomfortable. Judging by the blown springs, it should have been replaced years ago!
Next time we'll be booking into another hotel!

Reviewed by
S Hayes

From Loughborough, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good value for money - but breakfast debarcle needs sorting out
We originally booked room only, as we usually do. On check in the receptionist asked if we would like to have breakfast at £5.95 per person per night. We agreed to this. When she asked for payment, I queried the amount because she did not seem to have added the breakfasts. She said the price was right. I then asked if it was for breakfast on the second day - again she said yes. We even went back again after we had checked in because she had only marked one person on the room card. She changed it to two and said she had put one because I was on my own when I checked in?? The first morning's breakfast was fine, asked for our room number, and no problem. The second morning - we were asked for our room number and was told we hadnt paid for breakfast and was room only. This is very embarassing in front of the other guests. The restaurant staff said they would check at reception and even came back to our table waving our hotel account, saying we had not paid for breakfast. We told him what had happended and he said he would waive the breakfast fee. This area needs sorting. We heard others being questioned about it and as the restaurant is quiet at this time everyone can overhear what is going on. I doubt if we will stay again, a shame as we have stayed four times now.

Reviewed by
c connor

From Blackpool, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Tired hotel which doesn't live up to its label 'Quality Hotel'
Tired hotel in need of redecoration inside and out. Poor soft furnishings in rooms. No remote for TV obtained from reception 11.45pm; no plugs for bath and sink - night porter provided these from the next room, after 11pm! Door card had to be reset each evening on returning to the hotel by the reception. Dining room had door open to outside for ventilation when it was 3-4 degrees outside. Coffee at breakfast was not hot. No care taken with laying breakfast tables; felt more like a canteen.

Reviewed by
Peter C

From UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very basic very dates hotel needs a complete refurbishment
The hotel was very basic in terms of the bottom grade for your price. The floor in the bathroom was cracked by the toilet and siliconed one crack in by the bathroom door. The front door to our room the wallpaper was damp but you could see where someone had painted it over.
What disappointed me the most was the leisure facilities it's not what it describes online the swimming pool is small, the jacuzzi was a health and safety hazard with a pipe sticking out into the jacuzzi itself and there was rust all along the pipe work in the swimming pool

Reviewed by
Kerry C

From Walsall, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Staying over night
Room was quiet in spite of being on the Hagley Road. Beds comfortable but need new mattresses. Breakfast O.K. but would have' liked some fresh fruit.
Would definitely use this hotel again as it's very central and convenient.
Didn't get time to try out your leisure centre, but definitely would next time. It's a very good idea to have somewhere to exercise.
Margaret Wright (Mrs)

Reviewed by
A Wright

From Ashbourne, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not great
Room didn't have a very nice smell, noise all through the night and just felt very unclean in there. Needs to be refurbished ASAP

Reviewed by
R Melrose

From UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

ok
Bar area very nice, breakfast was OK but the room was very shabby (clean enough)
Sorry to say that the bed was terrible. The mattress springs were digging in my back making it almost unbearable and I can sleep pretty much anywhere after a few beers.

Reviewed by
Anthony B

From Bury, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Misleading Photos imply a fifty fifty chance of good room
We were overawed at how lacklustre the quality of the rooms were compared to the photographs given. I can see why they have to change the quality tag. One of our rooms was fantastic and vibrant and comfortable, but the other two were a little shabby. Who keeps a kettle in a drawer anyway?

Reviewed by
E Rhodes

From UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Don't expect the room to look like the picture
Room was dirty, dingy & in desperate need of revamping; decor was old & tied.
In the picture the room I booked featured 2 double beds, however the room only had 1. Had to share with my mate which was fine but not ideal.

Reviewed by
D O'Riordan

From Rugby, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

quality or quantity hotel
My stay at the Cobden. The room I stayed in 58 I found some of the features quite dated and in need of replacement. The cleanliness was very good. My only disappointment was the lighting which I felt could of been a little better for applying makeup and also the plug socket not enough in the room.

Reviewed by
A Small

From Nottingham, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next