Last Minute Accommodation > World > Europe > UK > England > Central England > West Midlands > Birmingham > University of Birmingham Hotels > Cobden Hotel Birmingham formally The Quality Hotel
No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Cobden Hotel Birmingham formally The Quality Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
166 Hagley Road Edgbaston, Birmingham, B16 9NZ
The Cobden Hotel Birmingham Formally known as the Quality Hotel a is ideally located for business or leisure travellers. Set in peaceful grounds, the
hotel is less the five minutes drive from Birmingham City Centre, only 3.6 miles from Birmingham's Famous Chocolate factory Cadbury world. With easy routes from the M5 and M6 motorways.

We offer our guests free parking and free use of our leisure facilities including an indoor swimming pool, cardio gym, steam room and sauna.
Picture of Cobden Hotel Birmingham formally The Quality Hotel, Birmingham at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 364 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
50% recommended this accommodation to a friend 56% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Grubby!
Sad looking hotel in need of a makeover.
However, the staff were very helpful and friendly.
The rooms required redecoration, wallpaper was hanging off the walls, paintwork was badly chipped and carpets threadbare in places.
Biggest letdown was the breakfast, absolutely tasteless!

Reviewed by
Clive I

From Chester, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hot noisy room
The room I had was on the front of the hotel. Single glazed on busy road makes for a noisy night and the room heat is not something a guest can control, you have to request reception to alter it. I stayed three nights. First two I slept very badly.

Reviewed by
Helen M

From Leamington Spa, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Quality Inn-a little less than quality
Good price at £40 a night (apparently reduced from £130), but never worth the higher price in a million years. Liked the swimming pool facilities and leisure staff-all very friendly and very professional. Breakfast also good value, although strangely not in a separate dining room, but makeshift area around the main bar. Missing simple, obvious things such as sauces and saucers for the coffee cups-but both brought when asked for. The biggest issue with this hotel is that it is simply tired and has seen better days. The rooms (from the corridors at least) all need new doors, carpets and an obvious paint job. The changing room in the leisure centre shows huge decay on the walls-falling apart with paint peeling and lumps if plaster missing from the walls. The outside of the hotel, the reception area and the bar are all fine-but the hotel clearly has not had basic investment for keeping it presentable. Shame-but then again, that's why they are offering a basic price right now.

Reviewed by
Spencer D

From Norwich, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good value for money, friendly and helpful staff, good food and good leisure facilities.

Reviewed by
Stuart Brown

From Cheltenham, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Functional...
... for the price

Reviewed by
Richard T

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Comfortable for short stay. Friendly service. Good value.

Reviewed by
Clive R

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Pleasant experience
Very nice hotel , great customer service
Enjoyed the stay
Great facilities

ManagementResponse

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel, we appreciate all guest feedback. I do hope we can welcome you back soon at the Quality Hotel Birmingham. Your Sincerely Joanne Padfield

Reviewed by
s Khan

From Birmingham, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The decor was quite tatty and the toilet seat was in need of repair. The room was quite noisy because it was near a lift shaft.

Reviewed by
Ian Futter

From Glasgow, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not Quality
The hotel is tired and needs alot of money spent on it to bring it upto modern standards. The room was clean but the mattress was very old, flat (no spring) and uncomfortable. The bathroom was only big enough for one personhood use at a time and when I flushed the toilet the plumbing in the walls was really loud, probably woke the neighbours!
There's just so many little things that add to make this a real sub standard hotel.
Would not stay here again.

ManagementResponse

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review the Quality Hotel Birmingham. All comments are used in a constructive way to make improvements to the standards of the hotel. Please accept my sincere apologies for any inconvenience caused during your stay in regards to the bedroom issues. I have passed on the review to the maintenance team to look into the issues and rectify. I do hope in the future we can welcome you back. Your Sincerely, Joanne Padfield

Reviewed by
Edward S

From Hitchin, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We stayed in the hotel on a Saturday night and at 5.30am the fire alarm was set off. Me and my partner wasn't impressed. We finally go back to sleep and was then woken up again with the fire alarm. If it wasn't for this the stay would have be a perfect one.

Reviewed by
Kerry S

From UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 Next