Last Minute Accommodation > World > Europe > UK > England > Central England > West Midlands > Birmingham > University of Birmingham Hotels > Cobden Hotel Birmingham formerly the Quality Hotel
No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Cobden Hotel Birmingham formerly the Quality Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
166 Hagley Road Edgbaston, Birmingham, B16 9NZ
The Cobden Hotel Birmingham formerly known as the Quality Hotel a is ideally located for business or leisure travellers. Set in peaceful grounds, the
hotel is less the five minutes drive from Birmingham City Centre, only 3.6 miles from Birmingham's Famous Chocolate factory Cadbury world. With easy routes from the M5 and M6 motorways.

We offer our guests free parking and free use of our leisure facilities including an indoor swimming pool, cardio gym, steam room and sauna.
Picture of Cobden Hotel Birmingham formerly the Quality Hotel, Birmingham at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 370 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
51% recommended this accommodation to a friend 57% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

IThe corridor leading to the room looks like a wharehouse. . The carpets are stained,very dirty. The room is cold. The wardrobe has no door to cover it. It looks like an abandoned furniture. I did not put my things in it. No remote for the television. No pressing iron in my room. I was told to come out to the to the reception to iron my dress. The worst hotel i have ever stayed in my life. I will never recommend it to anybody. I did not get the value for my money. It looks like a dog's hostel.
wouldnt put my dog in that room.

Reviewed by
ADEBOLA ORIADE

From London, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Cracking value
Cracking value

Reviewed by
Nicholas D

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

satisfactory

Reviewed by
r revell

From Dover, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

It could do with a revamp but the staff were lovely and the spa is great value for money

Reviewed by
liz D

From Hereford, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

This was the worst hotel we've ever stayed in. The bedsheets were stained, the toilet didn't flush and the room had a bad smell. We were refused another room because all 200 rooms were full. Put in a formal complaint n the response (which arrived after nearly 10 days) basically said 'tough luck'!. We will make sure not to return here ever again!!

Reviewed by
Mohammed I

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent value
We were upgraded to a larger room without asking and whole experience was v congenial.

Reviewed by
J Boyce

From Sherborne, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Brummie Bargain
I chose this hotel as a late booking and found it excellent value for the rate.Although booking a single room I was upgraded to a double which was very clean and had a newly refurbished en-suite. The furniture was tired but the room was large and spacious with a comfortable bed and a quiet view onto the gardens at the rear of the hotel. Very good breakfast from a hot and cold buffet. Staff were friendly and helpful.

Reviewed by
Christine P

From STOCKPORT, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good value for money, good location for city centre

Reviewed by
I Dawber

From Prescot, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The room was excellent and well equipped. The only thing that would have been a minor improvement would be a towel rail as there was only a hook on the back of the bathroom door.

Reviewed by
JANET B

From CHELMSFORD, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nothing Special
Whole hotel needs a lot of TLC and feels/looks scruffy and basic. The nature of the rest of the hotel upkeep put me off using the pool.
If the cleaner closed the door of the en suite they might notice the accumulated dirt and hole in the back of the door. Why is there nowhere to place one's own toiletries, this en suite had such a tiny shelf (not an issue unique to this hotel). Bedroom in reasonable order and cleanliness.
Very noisy in the evening. No ability to control temperature beyond opening the window to let in the noise from customers below. Good selection of TV channels.
Free Wi-Fi referred only to public parts of hotel (the ad seemed misleading to me suggesting it was free in rooms).
Food was comparable in quality and price and quickly prepared. Breakfast was ok for one morning but I had 5 so was fed up by Friday of scrambled eggs. Any options available on request were not made clear. On 2 out of 5 mornings breakfast was not ready at 6:30 am as stated. Breakfast is expensive unless you really stuff yourself (some customers were piling plates high) - if you are on a diet or just don't eat a lot it seems unfairly priced.
Key card failed on 3 occasions throughout week. An alarm was being triggered on many evenings in nearby room.

Reviewed by
Brian D

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 Next