Last Minute Accommodation > World > Europe > UK > England > Central England > West Midlands > Birmingham > University of Birmingham Hotels > Cobden Hotel Birmingham formally The Quality Hotel
No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Cobden Hotel Birmingham formally The Quality Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
166 Hagley Road Edgbaston, Birmingham, B16 9NZ
The Cobden Hotel Birmingham Formally known as the Quality Hotel a is ideally located for business or leisure travellers. Set in peaceful grounds, the
hotel is less the five minutes drive from Birmingham City Centre, only 3.6 miles from Birmingham's Famous Chocolate factory Cadbury world. With easy routes from the M5 and M6 motorways.

We offer our guests free parking and free use of our leisure facilities including an indoor swimming pool, cardio gym, steam room and sauna.
Picture of Cobden Hotel Birmingham formally The Quality Hotel, Birmingham at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 369 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
51% recommended this accommodation to a friend 57% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Overall we like the ambience of the hotel and we enjoyed every moments on that day.
Room was very clean. Outstanding food quality. Staff members was co-operative!

Reviewed by
R Singh

From Birmingham, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

ok for a 1 night stay
Friendly staff but the place has a jaded run down feel. Also in need of a good deep clean. Hopefully it is about to be upgraded as it has recently changed it's name. Lovely buffet breakfast which was cooked nicely but stone cold when we went down at 9am.

Reviewed by
Denise A

From , England
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not a lot of quality
The hotel was advertised as 5 minute walk from new street station. In fact it was a. 15 minute taxi ride from the station . The first room we were allocated was appalling , old decor, furniture and bathroom very old and dated. We asked for a room change and they were very helpfull and put us in the newer wing which was better.

Reviewed by
Stuart Allison

From Wisbech, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

when im next in this area i wil be booking this hotel again as i was more than happy with the room
and the staff where very helpfull and plesent to me .

Reviewed by
kenneth boardman

From Warrington, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not what I expected, discounted price was a bit of a con but customer service was excellent
As I was attending a seminar I thought I'd treat myself to a nice hotel stay for the night. When I saw the discounted price on Laterooms.com, from £130 to £49, along with leisure facilities and a pool I booked straight away.
On my arrival the post code of the hotel sent my sav nav to a corner shop not too far from the hotel but had to call up reception and get directions, the receptionist was fantastic throughout my stay.
I arrived and checked in, I was surprised of the limited parking on the front of the hotel and I assume they had a rear car park that I didn't notice as the hotel seemed pretty busy. On check-in, the receptionist stated that had I booked through them direct, rather than Laterooms, then I would have only paid £45...so where did Laterooms get the original price of £130 from?! I was then concerned that I was only paying asking price for a room, very cheap, when I had wished to stay in a more premium-style hotel. My room was very clean but very warm and the air-con was noticeably out of order. The phone to the reception desk was not working so I had to walk back to reception to ask if the air-con could be activated or I be switched to another room. The poor receptionist was sweating in the heat and apologised that none of the rooms in the hotel had air-con, only the corridors, and that she had no fans left and had even given her own away to a customer just before me. It was the that I noticed other customers sat in the bar area and walking through the corridors, a lot of workmen still wearing their hi-viz and leaning on the bar and what looked like a stag party. Not really what I had originally had in mind for my business trip.
I went back to my room and ran a bath. A bit pointless as the plug did not really fit the plughole and the overflow screw had been totally removed which meant that water escaped the hole when I got in the bath until I was sat in a puddle. I gave up had a shower, another issue. I'm 5' 8'' and the shower head was installed too low for me to wash my hair without ducking underneath the stream. It was not adjustable so I don't know what some one of 6 foot or more would have done. I opted out of eating either dinner or breakfast because by this point I didn't trust that the meals would be any good, but I could be wrong. The saving grace of this stay was the lovely receptionist and that the bed was extremely comfortable and I slept well. I would not stay here again unless I was out of pocket, suppose it could have been worse..

Reviewed by
S Edwards

From Sheffield, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Really nice hotel value for money it's not posh but it's just wat u pay for staff very helpful n food was excellent had a brill stay x

Reviewed by
E Mayall

From Grimsby, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good location,good value for money. If you're looking for luxury place, then you shouldn't choose this hotel.As for me, it was perfect just to spend couple nights.

Reviewed by
Agne B

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not a quality hotel.
Disappointing as part of a holiday break but may be acceptable for business travellers. Lots of small niggles that gave a poor impression:
very dark room even in daytime with lights on.
Plastic bottle top on the floor, from previous occupant?
Only one mug provided for two guests, although quickly provided on request
No hand towels, again quickly provided on request.
Nowhere to hang towels. Evidence that there used to be a hook on the door.
Air conditioning out of order, for some time judging by the curled up apology label attached.
Menus both in the room and bar/restaurant were marked and greasy. Given that they were A4 printed sheets there is no good reason for this. The one in our room had food stuck to it.
Bad start to breakfast, records had not been updated to show that we had paid for it.
Basic breakfast with variety packs, tinned fruit, rubbery toast and poor excuse for marmalade. Cooked also available. No filter coffee just sachets of Nescafé
Chairs covered in crumbs.
Stairs needed cleaning, there was a crisp on them when we arrived and still there when we left two days later.
Only small things and could be overlooked if just one or two incidents but altogether gave a feel of indifference to any genuine concern about customer satisfaction.
Will not recommend to anyone.

Reviewed by
V V

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

family friendly a loose term cleanlessness poor and poor diy
The room on 1st floor contained 1 double and 2 singles.windows have no locks and child's bed next to them. Very noisy traffic 24/7 and no air con. Asked for fan _none available.
Issues with provisions only 2 cups for 4 people. No mattress cover on double bed. Skirting boards filthy. Bathroom door obviously replaced by unskilled diyer. The door looked like a fingerprint ed crime scene,poor paintwork and drops of dry paint on floor. Door jamb split and pinched feet. Only 4 bath towels no flannels or hand towels. Used one first night _not replaced.poor quality provided toiletries steer well clear. Housekeeping not brilliant. Didn't eat there or use facilities. We were so worried about window issue children stayed with family second night. Plan was to book further night but we just went elsewhere.
Cost £30 for fan as they were in short supply in shops _lucky we could take it home but added to cost of stay so offset savings made. I would not say 3 star and if you want to sleep go elsewhere. Too noisy with traffic and people outside at all hours. Staff were polite and good shower dispute the poor fitting.

Reviewed by
Adrian B

From Liskeard, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not as bad as it appears!
After reading some of the reviews, I was quite worried about staying in this hotel and although it could have done with a lick of paint, overall I liked it. Plenty of places to park the car; the staff on Reception were lovely and very efficent; we were checked in really quickly. We were on the top floor which had a view over the main road but that was fine, however, it was very noisy when we went to sleep; luckily I had my ear plugs with me so slept really well. The bed was really comfortable and although the room had seen better days it was nice to just get away. As we only paid £45.00 for the room, I feel that we can't really complain at that. We had breakfast at the hotel, again the staff were welcoming; the buffet hot breakfast always stocked really well. Although the reviews are quite terrible in places, I would return to the hotel. I would also recommend the Garden House pub next door to eat; the food is lovely and the waitress really welcoming. Well worth a visit.

Reviewed by
K Bunting

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next