Last Minute Accommodation > World > Europe > UK > England > Central England > West Midlands > Birmingham > University of Birmingham Hotels > Cobden Hotel Birmingham formally The Quality Hotel
No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Cobden Hotel Birmingham formally The Quality Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
166 Hagley Road Edgbaston, Birmingham, B16 9NZ
The Cobden Hotel Birmingham Formally known as the Quality Hotel a is ideally located for business or leisure travellers. Set in peaceful grounds, the
hotel is less the five minutes drive from Birmingham City Centre, only 3.6 miles from Birmingham's Famous Chocolate factory Cadbury world. With easy routes from the M5 and M6 motorways.

We offer our guests free parking and free use of our leisure facilities including an indoor swimming pool, cardio gym, steam room and sauna.
Picture of Cobden Hotel Birmingham formally The Quality Hotel, Birmingham at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since July 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 363 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
50% recommended this accommodation to a friend 56% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

I thought the hotel was worth the money! The receptionist we had greeted us with a smile and made conversation with us when she saw us which made it seen a very friendly hotel although the bar staff weren't as friendly
The rooms were nice but could do with a bit of modernisation as the wallpaper was old and a bit battered

ManagementResponse

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review, we appreciate all feed back. At the Quality Hotel Birmingham we do pride our self on customer service, I have passed on all your comments to the general manager to review. We look forward to welcoming you back soon to the Hotel. Your Sincerely, Joanne Padfield

Reviewed by
L Jones

From UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Ok accommodation
Good value for money but rooms could do with a face lift

ManagementResponse

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review the Quality Hotel Birmingham, all comments are used in a constructive way to make improvements to the standards of the hotel. I look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel in the future. Your Sincerely, Joanne Padfield

Reviewed by
tina t

From Stafford, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good value
Clean good value stop over.breakfast good.

ManagementResponse

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel, we appreciate all feed back given. I hope we can welcome you back soon to the Quality Hotel Birmingham. Your Sincerely, Joanne Padfield

Reviewed by
Nigel W

From Ammanford, Wales
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Cheap and cheerful!
Read some bad reviews regarding this place on another site before going, but because of my budget being tight at the time I thought £115 for 3 nights, I can't go wrong surely... And I'm glad to say I didn't! Much, much better than anticipated. For the money it's an excellent place to stay.

ManagementResponse

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel, We appreciate all feed back given. Thank you for booking with the hotel and I am happy to hear that we exceeded your expectations. I hope we can welcome you back to the hotel in the future. Your Sincerely, Joanne Padfield

Reviewed by
M Davies

From Gravesend, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Anything but Quality.
Filthy rooms and building, pool sauna Chnging rooms etc. should not be open for humans.

Reviewed by
Liam B

From Lincoln, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great customer service and family focused (swimming pool). Overall, hotel looks a bit tired!

ManagementResponse

Dear Guest, Thank you for your kind words regarding the Quality Hotel Birmingham. I do hope we can welcome you back soon. Your Sincerely, Joanne Padfield

Reviewed by
Amanda H

From UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not worth bothering to shave your legs for and somebody stole our hub caps!!
First room filthy, damp, stank of smoke and had a broken mdf toilet seat, plus only a shower and freezing cold. Complained and upgraded, room was better but cold and still only a shower! After all this we really didn't want to venture into the "leisure" facilities. Really do not recommend and very disappointing stay! Also completely under staffed! Do not stay unless your after a poor version of fawlty towers

Reviewed by
jessica h

From UK
Who stayed in February 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Short City break
Ideal for touring the west midlands, handy for city centre bus routes, quiet and plenty of eating places near by

ManagementResponse

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review the Quality Hotel Birmingham, all comments are used in a constructive way to make improvements to the standards of the hotel. I look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel in the future. Your Sincerely, Joanne Padfield

Reviewed by
R Baillie

From Manchester, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Noisy and Dirty
Do not book a single room they are next to the lift on every floor and very noisy all night, I had to change my room at 4am as I could not sleep due to the noise from lift going up and down. The rooms are very tired, dirty shower , broken cupboards. When I asked to complain to the manager no one was available and I was told to email my complaint which just made me more angry!

Reviewed by
liz s

From UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Sadly run down
Fine for a gang of young people needing a hotel close to the City but otherwise really dreadful. Very poorly maintained - where they have done some repairs they are half finished, paint on the carpet, some radiators broken so standalone electric (dangerous as people forget to turn them off) heaters provided. Service was good and friendly but it was by far the worst hotel we've ever stayed in.

Reviewed by
Elizabeth C

From UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Family with teenage children

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 Next