No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Wessex Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
11-13 WEST CLIFF ROAD, Bournemouth, BH2 5EU
The Wessex Hotel is situated in its own grounds on the prestigious West Cliff of Bournemouth and is only five minutes from the town centre, Bournemouth International Centre and the award-winning blue flag beaches.

The modern spacious lounge, bar and reception areas provide the ideal place to relax and unwind, complemented by the Lulworth Restaurant offering an appetizing dinner menu and extensive wine list. The hotel has 109 en-suite bedrooms including standard and premier rooms. The Wessex is a great choice for families with family bedrooms along with twenty four premier rooms that accommodate up to two adults and two children. Free Wifi available.

The leisure club boasts both indoor and outdoor heated swimming pools, sauna, steam room and a fully equipped gymnasium. Additional facilities include a full sized snooker table and a large free car park for up to 160 cars.

The attractive seaside town of Bournemouth has so much to offer - golden sandy beaches, great shopping and a wide range of bars, restaurants and nightclubs. The beautiful New Forest and spectacular Jurassic Coast both make for great days out with plenty to see and do for all ages! Please be advised that the hotel does not accept single sex parties.
Picture of Wessex Hotel, Bournemouth at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 196 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
70% recommended this accommodation to a friend 73% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great room
We had an enormous bedroom with extremely comfortable bed. Our room was in the 'superior' section of the hotel, we hadn't requested so I guess just lucky, but we were delighted, very nice!
Breakfast was delicious (apart from the fact I didn't try the scambled egg as it was rather white and watery in appearance?). We had a great weekend and would definitely stay again. Didn't have time to use pool but had a look and it looked okay. Also great location!

Reviewed by
A Mackenzie

From Southampton, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice experience
Clean room and nice personnel

Reviewed by
Saul W

From Brentford, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Dated but pleasant
Greeted by friendly and helpful staff.
Large car park and nice clean, bright lobby and bar area with lots of seating.
Room wasn't quite ready on arrival so had to wait 20 minutes before getting key.
Room was HUGE with some lovely period features.
Decor, furniture and bathroom dated but perfectly usable and adequate for our one night stay.
Leisure area and swimming pool areas very tatty but again usable. One particular Leisure area member of staff was extremely nice, very friendly and chatty and took time to show us the facilities. Definitely need to use the sauna after the pool to warm up as the water was freezing!!!
Great nights sleep on very comfortable beds.
Excellent hot and cold buffet breakfast with plenty of choice - hot items were constantly being replenished.
We booked in advance and for the £44.10 we paid for 2 adults and 1 child it was amazingly good value and would definitely recommend for a budget night away.

Reviewed by
Sarah W

From Bordon, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very comfortable
A lovely friendly comfortable hotel that was very child friendly.

Reviewed by
michelle k

From Redhill, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Has potential!
Friendly, helpful staff. Reception and bar area were spacious, clean and comfortable. The room was fine. It was clean, warm, the bed was quite comfy and the shower worked. It was just a bit shabby and in need of some modernisation but I think from the reviews we read before we booked this is on-going. We tried the pool - it was freezing! Lots of families in there enjoying a splash about though! Breakfast had potential but it was just ok rather than lovely, just needed a little more attention to detail.

Reviewed by
Joanne Hooton

From Milton Keynes, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wessex Hotel
Cheap hotel. Needs a refurbishment, but the room was excellent. Large and comfortable. Staff were friendly and everything went off without a hitch.

Reviewed by
Graeme Cappi

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

lovely stay
The room we stayed in (381) was very spacious and very comfortable in fact when we saw it we wished we had booked for 2 nights instead of the one! The staff were very friendly.
We will definitely stay here again.

Reviewed by
Linda V

From UK
Who stayed in February 2015

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

winter retreat
a lovely short break, large room very bright and airy, bathroom a bit tired but all in working order, staff all very friendly, excellent breakfast, dinner was good value and quality and menu changed daily. i would stay again great value for money.

Reviewed by
Terry W

From Stroud, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

February short break
Hotel slightly dated but service and food were excellent.

Reviewed by
R Collick

From UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Perfect for a winter break by the beach.
We stayed here for 3 nights with a couple of friends, my Daughter and 2 small dogs.
It was lovely, very handy for the beach and a short walk to town.
The hotel is dated but clean and the staff very helpful. We chose this hotels because they allow us to bring our little poodle.Hotels that allow dogs are few and far between, especially when some one leaves their dog in the room all day.(206), it puts hotel owners off.
I can recommend this hotel for a cheap winter stay.The only food we had was breakfast and that was OK.
Thank you to all for a very nice weekend.

Reviewed by
S Wright

From UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Mixed group

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next