Reviews - Wessex Hotel


11-13 WEST CLIFF ROAD, Bournemouth, BH2 5EU

Price From 94.09 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (189)

69% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • Michelle I

  • November 2015

very pleasant stay

We stayed as a group of 4 friends doing a shopping weekend.

Hotel was excellent for value and none of us could fault it, other than other guests being inconsiderate and being quite noisy when going to their room late at night. Rooms did seem to have very thin walls. But it didn't spoil our stay.

  • Philip Whymark

  • November 2015

Short stay at the Wessex hotel

A nice clean hotel.

The bar area is very comfortable with modern decor. The restaurant is a nice area to eat and entertain in, the only we had was a cooked breakfast, which was edible, however, do to there not being many people staying in the hotel the food had been kept warm for a long period before we came down. The bedroom was comfortable, the bed was a bit small, the floor boards creek when you walk on them, the cold water in the room had very low pressure, which resulted in a very hot uncontrollable shower.

  • Paul B

  • November 2015


We have stayed at numerous hotels and felt that this one was of a poor standard.

No atmosphere, decor tired and in desperate need of updating. Fixtures and fittings poor eg. window catches missing, chair had hole in and fabric in poor condition, kettle obviously well used with limescale. Room not cosy or welcoming. Trying to find a positive ..... it served its purpose!

  • Nigel G

  • November 2015

Excellent Hotel

The staff were very helpful and the food was excellent.

  • sarah m

  • November 2015

well placed hotel for BIC

A tired hotel , staff were friendly and attentive, the corridor smelt of very old stale cigarette smoke.

Unfortunately the radiator in my room did not work and the room was cold, a small heater was provided but no offer of a room change was made (I stayed for 3 nights and the radiator did not work at all during this time). The car parking was good, the hotel was in easy walking distance of the beach, restaurants and the BIC.

  • c cuthbert

  • November 2015

The room was so hot that we could not sleep well despite leaving the window open as much as it would open.

The sheets were too small and pinged off through the night so we found ourselves sleeping on a bare mattress.

The breakfast was ok but not great - the sausages on the last day were raw in the middle. We ordered food on the evening of our second night and were served reheating chips but the burger was lovely. We were told when we arrived that there was a problem with the pool temperature and it was about 5 degrees below the norm.

  • a price

  • November 2015

Wessex hotel short break

Excellent value for money clean and tidy room and staff were friendly and helpful.

  • S Legg

  • November 2015

Would come again

Good choice.

Nice breakfast including fresh fruit which was a nice impressive touch. Food quite samey but enjoyable. Clean room and facilities. A bit dated. Could have done with a lick of paint and new carpets.

  • Bev f

  • November 2015

Short break

The hotel was o.k.for what we paid for the room.Could do with updating,the bathroom taps dripped and the shower had a mind of its own and the floorboards were very creaky.The breakfast was good so not bad for what we paid for.

  • Justine M

  • October 2015

Great girly weekend

Was initially sceptical about the rooms after reading previous reviews, but i was pleasantly suprised.

I had room 248 which was a spacious single room. It isn't one of the redecorated rooms, but it was absolutely fine. It was clean and comfortable.

I don't know if my radiator wasn't working, or was just turned down, but my room was cool. This was a blessing because the corridors are boiling. There's tea and coffee supplied in the room, but no fridge, so if you don't drink hot drinks, it would be difficult keeping a drink cool in the summer. The breakfast was superb. It was a buffet which catered for everyone. There was fresh fruit, fruit juice, yogurts, cereal, bread for toasting, danish pastries, cooked option and tea and coffee

There's a pool, spa and Italian restaurant on the site. The prices seemed very reasonable, however as we already had plans we didn't use them so i can't comment on them . There's plenty of parking, and you're only a street away from the seafront, and about a 15 minute walk into the town centre, so it's a great location.