Reviews - Wessex Hotel


11-13 WEST CLIFF ROAD, Bournemouth, BH2 5EU

Price From 93.01 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (184)

70% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • Karen S

  • September 2015

Could be better

The staff were polite and helpful.

The hotel's decor was dated and really needed refreshing. The room was ok but had a musky smell. The breakfast selection was good but the quality was not.

  • Stephanie C

  • September 2015

Perfect Location

I needed accommodation close to the Bournemouth International Centre and this hotel is perfectly located for the Centre and the beach.

I understood from other reviews that the hotel decor was dated, so I expected that, but the room was comfortable and clean. The staff on reception were very helpful as was one member of staff who showed me to my room.

The breakfast was also as I expected; a buffet with hot and cold selection. The restaurant was very busy at the time I took my breakfast and there were a couple of near collisions with guests carrying hot teapots, so I think it would be safer if tea/coffee was served at the table and guests helped themselves to food only.

  • D Reid

  • September 2015

Comfortable, everything you need for a short stay

  • Gordon W

  • September 2015

It's the little things that count!

Room not ready until 30mins after check in time,three nights out of four no ice at bar, groups of dancers in ear shot of guest in public areas from around 10am until midnight and gone,dogs allowed in public areas and on the settees chairs etc.The hotel is much different to what it was from our last visit some 12 years ago.

  • B Roberts

  • August 2015

Leisure break

We had a very pleasant stay at the Wessex hotel the room was clean and comfortable, breakfast was excellent loved the porridge!.

We would stay again if we were in Bournmouth.

  • Paul E

  • August 2015

Overall good value for money.

Staff, cleanliness, food and location excellent.

Hotel needs a little TLC but good value for money. However we booked a standard double room but we had two singles pushed, not fixed, together and both the beds and the floor squeaked dreadfully with every move. The only window in the room had a notice on it saying ' Danger Do Not Open'. Not ideal!. Other than these minor points we had a great break.

  • Tracey Y

  • August 2015

Large room and very bright.

Although the room was clean the carpet was stained and bathroom was very dated and did not match the room. My son enjoyed the pools. Breakfast was lovely with lots of choice. For the price I paid it was a good value stay but I would have been disappointed of I had paid the full price.

  • D Jones

  • August 2015

Good location just outside of the town within sensible walking distance.

Hotel has a large on site car park. Decor is dated but still clean. Friendly staff

  • Rhona B

  • August 2015

Good hotel

Room was a little dated, comfortable enough.

Breakfast was very good. Didn't use the hotel facilities as we were out all the time.

  • D r

  • July 2015

Wessex Hotel

Hotel is in need of refurbishment and shower didn't work.