No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Cantley Lodge

2Self Classified Small Hotel Ratings explained
WELLINGTON ROAD , WOKINGHAM, RG40 2AN
Cantley Lodge is a non-smoking hotel located in the heart of Wokingham. The hotel is managed by the acclaimed luxury country house hotel Cantley House and the same high quality of service can be enjoyed at both hotels.

It's perfect location means that for a relaxing day out, Ascot is under twenty minutes away by train. For business, Winnersh Triangle train station can be reached from the door of Cantley Lodge in eight minutes and Bracknell train station in just 10 minutes.

Located just 100m from Wokingham train station and in the centre of town, Cantley Lodge is the ideal place to stay for those who need excellent transport links and a perfect place to meet friends and colleagues, especially in the 'Artsbar' for drinks, lunch and evening meals.

Picture of Cantley Lodge, WOKINGHAM at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since April 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 18 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
67% recommended this accommodation to a friend 72% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Interesting!
Excellent breakfast, very convenient for Wokingham town and the station (although the latter is reflected in expected noise which is understandable). The room I had was spacious, clean and comfortable, although rather tired. The food was great, the bar in the evening is more bottles in the corner of a meeting room, and quite expensive.Thin walls!

Reviewed by
Chris G

From Worcester, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Forgotten and neglected but prime location
Cantley Lodge is close to town and close to the train station, in fact the track runs outside the back bedrooms. The staff were lovely and helpful and breakfast was the best full english I have had in a long time, freshly cooked to order.
The downstairs was light a sauna so we ate as ast as possible to get some air. The whole place is run down,in need of renovation and updating but it was clean.
Bedroom were hot and stuffy, opened a window and got the trains going past. Need to keep bathroom blind down all the time as the big window gives no privacy.Due to location this should be a busy popular hotel but the ack of investments lets both guests and staff down.

Reviewed by
Emma S

From Weston Super Mare, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Reasonable Stay at the Cantley Lodge
On arrival and entry into the bistro area on the way to the reception, the area smelt strongly of chip fat. At the reception desk the lady was very friendly, however my laterooms booking had not been secured and it took some time to get checked in (good job they had some spare rooms). The single room was very small with basic furniture, no mirrors in the actual bedroom area and no lighting next to the bed, only the main light to the centre of the room. The evening meal was reasonable.

Reviewed by
Helen F

From Whitby, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

hermit
A range of specials to select for dinner, all at competitive prices. Good location in Wokingham, easy to locate and has off road parking. Would use the hotel again.

Reviewed by
Helen B

From UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

On a scale of 1 to average....
Although it is meant to be a non-smoking hotel there was a very strong smell of cigarette smoke; this was followed by a strong smell of fried food.
The room (5) was adequate as a bedroom but if you had work to do then this was the wrong room due to its size. That said, Wi-Fi was reasonable.
The food was good and reasonably priced, although I added breakfast to my booking and £10 for the breakfast was excessive.
To get to the reception you need to walk through the bar and 'restaurant' and the reception isn't well staffed, neither is the bar. The place is very tired. the décor needs updating, which is supported by there being gaps between the carpet tiles in the corridor.
Maybe one stay in one room isn't enough to judge this hotel but it would now be second choice based on first impressions.

Reviewed by
Gordon R

From UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very tired and underwhelming
I don't think this place has been shown any love since the late eighties and our room had been showered with random Wilko home accessories to try and disguise the fact. Had it been a sub £60.00 experience I might have just shrugged in the knowledge I wouldn't return, but having paid over £90.00 without any breakfast included I found it harder to swallow. The reception assistant took pity on me and did offer breakfast although that was at the same standard as the room. The smell of stale smoke and cheap air freshener crept through my clothes and mocked me all the way home. I wish I had invested my hard earned money somewhere more homely.

Reviewed by
Matthew O

From UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Decent room near town center
This is a basic hotel near the train tracks of a very busy line from London to reading.

Reviewed by
g orourke

From Matlock, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Exactly what we needed
Welcome was the best we have ever had in an independent hotel! Accommodation was clean and comfortable. Breakfast was large and delicious. Only problem was there wasn't much hot water in the morning!

Reviewed by
A South

From Worthing, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent Hotel in the heart of Wokingham. Close to amenities and travel networks. Would definitely stay there again.

Reviewed by
S Barnes

From Wigan, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great stay
The staff were very friendly , polite and helpful. Welcoming and relaxed atmosphere. Bed was really comfy with crisp clean bedding. Great location.

Reviewed by
R Fay

From Grimsby, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next