Reviews - Woodcote's


Hooton Road, Ellesmere Port, CH66 1QU

Price From 129.21 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.


All reviews (81)

98% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • K Irving

  • February 2014

Lovely room, good value for money

We booked the Woodcote last minute to stay after attending a wedding nearby.

The staff at reception were friendly and helpful and showed us to our room, which was a lovely surprise considering we had paid relatively little. Clean and tidy with a very homely feel. We weren't able to try the food as we were out for the day but wish we had made time because the restaurant looked very nice. Friends at the same hotel really enjoyed their breakfast.

  • D Kelly

  • January 2014

Room was very nice, had a real homely feel and bed was very comfortable.

Only downside was that we could hear the people above us. This wasn't really a problem as we just turned the TV up. Also no WiFi in our room, the walls were too thick apparently for it to get through. Would stay here again without a doubt.

  • Julie W

  • January 2014

The Perfect Place To Say

Cannot recommend this hotel highly enough.

Excellent value for money with one of the best hotel breakfasts I have had in a long time. The staff are very friendly and attentive and the accommodation is of a very high standard. Liverpool city centre hotels seem very expensive and this is an excellent alternative,

  • Brian B

  • January 2014

Excellent choice on the Wirral

Fantastic hotel, lovely room that could only be improved with a bigger T.V.

Very helpful lady on reception, friendly & polite.

  • S Simpson

  • December 2013

excellent, quality and unique hotel

we have extremely enjoyed our stay in this hotel and would recommend it to all to our family and friends.

The room we stayed in was absolutely fantastic so pretty, clean modern and very homely. the food we had in the restaurant was delicious 5* quality and the staff were so friendly and welcoming and they were willing to go that extra mile to make our stay that little bit more special. thankyou and we'll see you again soon.


  • November 2013

A Superb Room

On arrival we were 'upgraded' to the Boudoir room.

Superb. Excellent all round, good breakfast too. Dinner in the restaurant was a little below par though we felt.

  • Francesca silk

  • November 2013

Our stay at Woodcote House Hotel

At lovely stop over on our visit to the Liverpool area.

Friendly staff, clean, bright and fresh room. Even though we we're close to the road we heard nothing and the thick certain kept it nice and dark. A simple five minute walk to the train station for a direct train into Liverpool to have some dinner. This was offered to use in the hotel but we already had plans. The only meal we had there was breakfast, which was a delight. A very well decorated, open space room, where we were well looked after. A good full English made to order, fresh jucies and coffee. A very enjoyable stay.

  • Dean J

  • November 2013

Don't judge the book by its cover

I booked this hotel as a surprise 40th birthday break for my wife based on the recommendations and reviews on

The hotel is very easy to find and well located for Chester city centre and Cheshire Oaks etc although a car would be useful rather than public transport. When we pulled into the car park we were a little put off by the outside decor or rather, lack thereof. There was peelng paint on external doors, sofits etc. which didn't fill me with much hope but I have to say that once we got inside to reception, my fears evaporated. The receptionist could not have been friendly and check-in was simplicity itself. The room was gorgeous and was a real home from home. The only slight niggle was the lack of wifi reception - the signal wasn't strong enough to check email but to be fair, that could also been seen as advantageous if you want true peace and quiet. Breakfast was simple but well presented and executed with a varied cooked menu that didn't just offer the usual "Full English" - for example, I had bacon, scrambled eggs and muffins. The service was superb and again, warm and friendly. The price was exceptionally reasonable and worth every penny. The whole stay was exactly as I had hoped it would be - relaxing and peaceful. I cannot speak highly enough of this hotel. I stay in hotels regualary with my job (independent and chains) and this one stands head and shoulders from the rest. Highly, highly recommended.

  • C Nugent

  • November 2013

Excellent, would highly recommend

Excellent hotel, would definitely stay again, nothing was too much trouble and the staff were very friendly.

Lots of nice little added touches which showed that the staff took pride in their work and certainly want you to enjoy your stay. Will stay again and round also use the room hire facility. Perfect stay, thank you.

  • Catherine H

  • October 2013

Great, Lovely rooms great breakfast, friendly staff