No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Woodcote House Hotel

3Self Classified Small Hotel Ratings explained
Hooton Road Hooton, Wirral, CH66 1QU
Ideally located for a shopping! Cheshire Oaks Retail Outlet Village with over 145 stores is only 5 miles from the hotel, and of course Liverpool, famous for its superb shopping is only a 20 minute drive. Hooton train station (10 minutes’ walk) can get you into Liverpool, Chester and Wales. Liverpool Airport is a 40 minute drive (about 27 miles). The hotel is 2 minutes from the M53, which gives you easy access to Cheshire Oaks, The Boat museum, Ellesmere Port, Chester, North Wales, the beautiful Wirral peninsula with all its beaches and many more attractions including Ness Gardens, Chester Zoo, New Brighton. The Woodcote House Hotel is newly refurbished to a very high standard, modern, all rooms have en-suite with superb showers, mostly king sized beds, flat screen TVs, tea and coffee making facilities.

Bar and restaurant with superb freshly cooked food. Breakfast is bookable on your arrival for a supplement if you require.

You will never run out of places to go and places to see when you visit us, and with there being a fantastic railway link from Hooton Station (just a 10 minute walk away from the hotel) you can hop aboard a train to Chester only 10 minutes away and Liverpool 15 minutes away. Perfect for exploring the area without worrying about driving or parking.

The Bar and Restaurant is not open on Sunday Nights.
Picture of Woodcote House Hotel, Wirral at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since February 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 85 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
97% recommended this accommodation to a friend 96% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Woodcote House Hotel
Arrived 2 hours early and was greeted and shown to our room. All staff were very polite and helpful with any of our requests. We were on the second floor with a good size double room and bath rooms with shower. The hotel has a large dining room-bar-reception area, a good variety of breakfast choice from cereals to full English and plenty of toast that keeps arriving at the table.
Excellent location for the Cheshire Oakes designer outlet and close to Chester and Liverpool. I would recommend this hotel, will certainly be using it again on the next wife's shopping trip.

Reviewed by
m brown

From Nottingham, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Woodcote House Hotel, Hooton, Wirral
This hotel is located just off the M53 and is excellent value for money, at £59 per night. The general decor of the hotel is a bit tired and the TV reception seems to be limited to the channels available only in Wales but there are compensating advantages, eg in the quality of the breakfast menu and of the better-quality meals available on the dinner menu. The staff were friendly and helpful throughout.

Reviewed by
Andrew Timmins

From Weybridge, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Our stay at Woodcote House Hotel
At lovely stop over on our visit to the Liverpool area. Friendly staff, clean, bright and fresh room. Even though we we're close to the road we heard nothing and the thick certain kept it nice and dark. A simple five minute walk to the train station for a direct train into Liverpool to have some dinner. This was offered to use in the hotel but we already had plans. The only meal we had there was breakfast, which was a delight. A very well decorated, open space room, where we were well looked after. A good full English made to order, fresh jucies and coffee. A very enjoyable stay.

Reviewed by
Francesca silk

From Alton, England
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Buisness trip to Birkenhead
Really nice friendly hotel, good rooms and great choice of food at a very acceptable price

Reviewed by
K Hardie

From UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very Nice
very nice on all accounts

Reviewed by
Karen G

From UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely change from a 'chain' hotel
The Woodcote House Hotel was a great find on LateRooms, with friendly staff and well decorated and comfortable rooms. It was a pleasure to stay in an independent non-chain hotel for a change, and we would stay again. The bar area was well stocked and very comfortable. The only downside was the slowly served and overcooked breakfast. BTW - the garden was a delight to wake up to!

Reviewed by
P Ring

From UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent
From arrival to departure, everything was excellent. John greeted me on arrival with an umbrella to accompany me to the foyer as it was raining. The check-in went smoothly, wifi details provided and assistance in getting to my room. I would just warn you that some rooms are on the second floor via steep-ish stairs which may not suit everyone however there are rooms on the first floor in the main house and in a separate house in the garden. My room was very small with a single bed and a small window. Having said that the bedroom and shower room were both well appointed, with very good quality furniture and furnishings and very clean...........the overflow in the wash hand basin had been cleaned (an area often forgotten). I think that these pluses do outweigh the small room. I had dinner in the hotel on one evening and the food was excellent. Freshly made, well presented and a good menu choice. It was a pleasure to eat food that tasted like food, no reliance on jus, foam, froths and all these "in" things. Just good food well prepared, cooked and served. I would definitely go back to this hotel and recommended it to colleagues and friends. It is a real pleasure to find such an excellent place to stay.

Reviewed by
Susan Berry

From Dunfermline, England
Who stayed in August 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Thank you for a very enjoyable stay. Staff couldn't do enough for us. We were made very welcome.

Reviewed by
J Hull

From Coventry, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely weekend in a lovely hotel
Hotel staff were amazing, very friendly and attentive. Our room was overlooking the lovely garden which we enjoyed sitting out in.The food was very nice and breakfast was delicious. Had a locely weekend here and would definitely recommend this hotel, and will definitely stay again. Xx

Reviewed by
J McGinn

From Liverpool, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent accommodation, food and service

Reviewed by
J Howard

From Republic of Ireland
Who stayed in July 2013

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 Next