No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Whitburn House Hotel

Self Classified Budget Hotel Ratings explained
111 GARSTANG ROAD FULWOOD, Preston, PR2 3EB
Whitburn House Hotel is a delightful Victorian house opposite moor park and is easily accessible to M55 and A6 motorway, close to the university and is one and half mile to the town cenunrire.

The hotel is beautifully decorated and furnished throughout. All rooms are central heated. Each bedroom are en-suite with tea/coffee facilites, to cpmpliment your stay a full English breakfast is served in our attractive breafast room.

For the tourist, take a trip to the lake district, which is approx 45 minutes away. Blackpool is only a 20 minute drive away, where there are theatres, pubs, the famous Blackpool Tower and sandy beach.

Are main aim is to make you feel welcome and relaxed so with our personal attention to detail, including good old fashioned hospitality ensure you leave with lasting memories.
Picture of Whitburn House Hotel, Preston at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 31 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
82% recommended this accommodation to a friend 85% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

B&B trading as a hotel
Arrived to find all external doors locked and a message to telephone a number to gain entry. Unfortunately my mobile was not working so I had to walk to find a public phone. Being a retired Police officer I flagged down a passing police car and the officer lent me his mobile to call the hotel.
I admit I arrived 30 minutes early as I expected to. The staff were very helpful once I gained access.
The hotel is basically a B&B offering just room and breakfast, mostly used by trades people I was last down for breakfast at 8.10a.m. Room and bathroom very poor quality, and very noisy traffic.

Reviewed by
M THORNTON

From St Austell, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

It was a very pleasant place and great value for what I paid I will book again.

Reviewed by
B Marsh

From Warrington, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

great
i was leaving my son over to university and they made an eotional trip easier

Reviewed by
Paula D

From Antrim, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

i would have liked to see information on where to eat in the evening as only being a B+B there was no food offered for an evening meal. and a member of staff on at night as i could not find one when needed.

Reviewed by
sally g

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Quick overnight business stay
I booked late one night for a business stay the following evening and received a very prompt, very polite and bubbly call the next day politely enquiring about my arrival time, the manager was extremely accommodating about my very delayed / late arrival time and courteous throughout.
When I arrived I was informed I had been given a free upgrade from the £30 room with separate bathroom that I'd booked, which was appreciated.
My overall impression was that I got value for money at £30 for the room I was given with free en-suite, but I'd be narked if I paid full whack for it (I think it might have been the £75 3 bed family room?).
Beds were clean, furniture old, mostly quirky but in good nick, no desk and the wall lights were plugged into sockets, which was odd and made it tricky to plug in a laptop without losing light.
My only gripe was the odd shower set-up where a shower panel had come off - but instead of replacing it or removing it in favour of a curtain someone had hurriedly installed another curtain rail inside the cubicle to fill the gap which left no room to shower .... So I spent the whole shower with the curtain clinging to my butt - which was very odd and annoying - there's no need really!
The Breakfast chef was friendly & helpful but unable to take an order for half a cooked breakfast so insisted on serving a full one (I hope she recovered from her late night soon
If you are offering breakfast within the rate, especially for people paying a lot more than I did, I'd highly recommended changes (& breakfast is the last thing guests remember!)
1. Decent instant coffee, I wouldn't expect filter at this priced room but really this stuff was not nice (You have Nescafé in the rooms, that would have been fine!)
2. Change the tablecloths, the tide-line under the wipeable slip cloth was noticeably filthy
3. Don't serve the very cheapest sausages (and do cook them through so they aren't pink inside)
4. Don't make breakfast automatically inclusive, just charge a fiver and put the cash into serving better quality coffee, sausages and OJ ?
Overall value for money but a few changes would result in more appeal for people who are more demanding than me for sure!
Thankyou !

Reviewed by
M Trow

From Alfreton, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great stay great value
Stayed here last week great stay clean room great staff and a great breakfast for little money would stay again and recommend to friends

Reviewed by
stephen c

From Birmingham, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Whitburn house hotel
Not hotels fault but our double room flooded and we ended up with 2 singles in the attic. I was fine but my wife hated it. Reminded her of a prison cell + toilet 2 floors down.
For the price I personally was happy and the breakfast was excellent.
I believe you get what you pay for and thats what happened.

Reviewed by
David F

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Had to arrange a trip to Preston at short notice to attend a funeral. My train didn't arrive till 11.30 pm but the young man there let me in at midnight! The service and breakfast were excellent.

Reviewed by
George Hakner

From Bushey, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good value for money nice clean room.. Great staff and great breakfast would Defo recommend to friends!!

Reviewed by
Lauren M

From London, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Basic to poor
The whole place looked tired and in need of upgrade, the bed was comfortable and the bed linen quite good. However the pillows had seen better days and certainly needed renewing. The room was clean enough but the tiles in the shower area needed mould remover on them.
The breakfast was the worst I have ever tasted the scrambled egg looked like hard boiled eggs crushed up and re warmed however they were inedible as they were stone cold and the bacon was most certainly not fresh cooked!! The tea was stewed and when a request was made for some hot water all we got was more stewed tea not a pleasant experience at all. On comenting at checkout all we got was sorry about that in a half hearted fashion. Not a place I would stay at again

Reviewed by
George Dane

From Rochester, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 Next