Last Minute Accommodation > World > Europe > UK > Scotland > Lothian > Edinburgh Hotels > Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Apex Waterloo Place Hotel

4AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
23 Waterloo Place , Edinburgh, EH1 3BG

Simply the Guest Awards Winner


Based on 100% genuine guest reviews in our 2012 awards.

The Apex Waterloo Place Hotel is ideally located at the east end of Princes Street, close to Edinburgh’s attractions and just moments from Waverley Train Station.

All 187 bedrooms are luxurious with large comfortable beds, 42 inch widescreen LCD TVs with Sky Sports, luxury toiletries, free wifi and local calls along with 24 hour room service.

Elliot’s Bar and Restaurant has a great sense of style. Mouthwatering menus using, whenever possible, locally sourced seasonal ingredients, offer an array of ‘modern Scottish’ dishes. An extensive wine list along with superb service makes Elliot’s Restaurant an ideal venue for every occasion.

The hotel’s exclusive Yu Spa Leisure facilities include a gym with the latest Technogym™ equipment, and an indoor swimming pool and sauna. Yu Spa also has two treatment rooms which offer a range of relaxing and rejuvenating Elemis spa treatments.

Off site car parking can be found at Greenside Place NCP to the rear of the hotel. Guests receive a 20% discount with this car park by validating their tickets at the hotel reception before departure.
Picture of Apex Waterloo Place Hotel, Edinburgh at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 59 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
90% recommended this accommodation to a friend 91% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Edinburgh
I was a little disappointed in the rooms, expecting boutique or even chic the attention to detail was lacking. Things like the ripped valence, grubby grouting and even more the ice cold bathrooms. The corridors and stairwells had remnants of room service, plates with left over food that had been stood for hours and was unpleasant when waking about the hotel, and certainly didn’t give the up-market feel. Today’s traveller opting for something above budget hotels expects a little more of an experience not something that would be unacceptable in your own home.

Reviewed by
M Walden

From Scunthorpe, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Brilliant hotel, well worth a visit
We would definitely stay here again. Amazing location, fantastic service and all the amenities you could want. Fantastic value!

Reviewed by
Russell H

From Aboyne, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

excellent hotel friendly, helpful staff
Thoroughly enjoyed my stay here with my mum. Ideal location for city centre shopping and bars. The staff were friendly and helpful. The hotel was quiet and comfortable with lovely design within the rooms. Breakfast was well worth the money in the morning but early booking advisable for evening meal as we were unable to get in at a time that suited.

Reviewed by
k s

From England
Who stayed in January 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great
Great Hotel, facilities and location

Reviewed by
Greg W

From Ellon, Scotland
Who stayed in December 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Amazing hotel
Stay was great

Reviewed by
Joanne F

From Aberdeen, UK
Who stayed in December 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Beautiful and brilliant hotel!
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay, the hotel was modern, clean and beautifully presented. Our room was fabulous and we really enjoyed all the little extras. Made our trip away all the more enjoyable.

Reviewed by
Laura McDonald

From Houghton le Spring, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Third visit
Really enjoyed our two night stay. All staff were extremely welcoming, food very good and accommodation good value. Will definitely be staying again.

Reviewed by
David M

From Middlesbrough, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Venue for first get together,
Me and my girlfriend decided on a quick trip up to Edinburgh to spend some time together and she picked the hotel! Fair play to her, she did a better job than i could ever have! The hotel was simply brilliant and was a significant factor in our awesome weekend! The staff were polite and friendly and the room was simply amazing. Our room was upgraded from a double to a family room at no extra cost. We both agreed it was probably the comfiest bed we've ever slept in! We intend on going back, we arrived late in the evening and as a result we unfortunately didn't get to utilize the plethora of facilities. Maybe next time!

Reviewed by
Matthew B

From UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent stay from start to finish!
Arrived late in the afternoon and was greeted by a very friendly gentleman at the front desk. He let us know that we had actually been giving an upgrade to a superior room and the check in process was very quick, we were giving our key cards and giving precise direction to our room on the 10th floor. The lifts were very quick and before we knew it we were in our room. Great neutral decor and the comfiest bed i have ever slept in. Staff were always very helpful and friendly and when checking out we were able to leave our bags and do a little shopping before heading for the train home via the very quick and convenient exit that takes you out at the station. Overall and great and very pleasurable experience.

Reviewed by
Kevin M

From Glasgow, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A good hotel.

Reviewed by
M Jervis

From Lincoln, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 Next