Last Minute Accommodation > World > Europe > UK > Scotland > Lothian > Edinburgh Hotels > Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Apex Waterloo Place Hotel

4AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
23 Waterloo Place , Edinburgh, EH1 3BG

Simply the Guest Awards Winner


Based on 100% genuine guest reviews in our 2012 awards.

The Apex Waterloo Place Hotel is ideally located at the east end of Princes Street, close to Edinburgh’s attractions and just moments from Waverley Train Station.

All 187 bedrooms are luxurious with large comfortable beds, 42 inch widescreen LCD TVs with Sky Sports, luxury toiletries, free wifi and local calls along with 24 hour room service.

Elliot’s Bar and Restaurant has a great sense of style. Mouthwatering menus using, whenever possible, locally sourced seasonal ingredients, offer an array of ‘modern Scottish’ dishes. An extensive wine list along with superb service makes Elliot’s Restaurant an ideal venue for every occasion.

The hotel’s exclusive Yu Spa Leisure facilities include a gym with the latest Technogym™ equipment, and an indoor swimming pool and sauna. Yu Spa also has two treatment rooms which offer a range of relaxing and rejuvenating Elemis spa treatments.

Off site car parking can be found at Greenside Place NCP to the rear of the hotel. Guests receive a 20% discount with this car park by validating their tickets at the hotel reception before departure.
Picture of Apex Waterloo Place Hotel, Edinburgh at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 61 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
90% recommended this accommodation to a friend 91% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Stay at Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
Very nice stay. Great staff, well apointed rooms in a contemporary style, very nice bathroom!

Reviewed by
Andrew Statham

From Lincoln, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A bit of overstatement here
I Believe that the special stay price was so overstated, i paid for a superior room but there certainly was no Wow factor with my room and too pay almost £200,for a night and Breakfast not to be included was unbeliavable, i am normaly a hotel ibis man and will be again as this was obvioulsy just a racket due to the hotels location

Reviewed by
Andrew M

From Banff, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We had a great stay at the Apex Waterloo. 8th floor room, great views of the road and burial site across the road but no noise. air conditioning was lovely, big TV, i-pod dock, good lighting options - lovely health suite downstairs with a decent pool for dipping in, steam room and sauna and extremely well looked after changing facilities. Couldn't fault the stay.

Reviewed by
P Johnston

From Sale, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great location
Great location for the Fringe festival, the castle, Arthurs seat etc, really friendly staff. 1st year wedding anniversary and we had a note in the room congratulating us and offering a free drink at the bar. A really nice touch. Will definitely stay here again if the price is right, just wish we had chance to use the pool etc but were too busy with the sights of Edinburgh.

Reviewed by
R Taylor

From Congleton, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Shopping break in Edingburgh
The Apex Waterloo Place was a lovely hotel very central for the shops and close to the bus and train station. We ate in the bar one night and the food was good and reasonably priced .one down side for us was our room overlooked a street with a club in it , which went on till late in the night and it could get rather noisy at closing time ! But it was a good all round experience ,would use late rooms again , no problems at all .great.

Reviewed by
fiona fairbairn

From Southampton, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very chic and close to amenities
I chose this hotel to take my mother on an early birthday treat. The hotel was close to the train station but not noisy. The room was very chic, mother was inpressed. Walk in shower and seperate bath meant we were both pleased. Lovely and clean and staff very helpful.

Reviewed by
L Greer

From England
Who stayed in July 2013

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

3 Star At Most
A catalogue of errors left me regretting booking this hotel for our anniversary:
-invisible residue burnt onto the iron ruined my shirt
-bar staff wouldn't serve us without asking management if we were 'ok' in front of other guests which was humiliating and judgemental for my partner and I (both in our late 30s)
-restaurant claimed to be booked all night but when we left the hotel at 8pm it was less than half empty (again, feel judged based on our casual attire, perhaps should have mentioned we were staying at the hotel, but come on!)
-room service arrived with food and 2 pints on a tray. Waiter said he'd had an accident and someone bumped into him and that he could get us fresh and full pints - when we said it was not necessary before we'd realised that the beer had spilt all over the plates, resulting in soggy food, soaking napkins and an awful meal - surely he should have been trained to know this would be unacceptable?
-we requested room service before leaving for the day only to come back late and find it hadn't been done, leaving us without toilet roll
-standard double room smaller than those in a Travel Lodge
Ok, some of these are minor but with so many minor issues there is no way this hotel can claim to be 4 star and charge the rates they do; very disappointing.

Reviewed by
Rick L

From London, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great location, great staff and very good accommodation
I took my daughter in law to Edinburgh for a weekend shopping trip. The location of the Apex hotel was first class - a very quick walk to George Street and Princes Street. The staff in the hotel couldn't have been more helpful. Our luggage was stored prior to check in and held for us until we were ready to leave for our train journey home. The food in the restaurant was first class but the undoubted stars of the show are the extremely helpful Reception staff and the charming and polite waiter who served us at breakfast. The room was spacious, spotlessly clean and had a super range of freebies, crisps, sweets, biscuits, lots of tea and coffee and some really nice, upmarket toiletries.

Reviewed by
Elizabeth S

From UK
Who stayed in June 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Beautiful hotel in a perfect location.
Takes approx 20mins in a taxi from the airport costing around £22.
Room was lovely had everything we needed and bed was comfy too :-)
Can't wait to go back!!!! :-)

Reviewed by
Emma H

From UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent Staff
Staff very helpful / friendly

Reviewed by
N Gosling

From Eastleigh, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Family

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next