Reviews - Apex Waterloo Place Hotel


23 Waterloo Place, Edinburgh, EH1 3BG

Price From 253.93 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.


All reviews (48)

94% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • Ross Smith

  • November 2014

Very pleasantly surprised

With being on princes street was expecting very basic,noisy rooms ,not the case.

Location,rooms,hotel,staff were just perfect. Would return anytime

  • Ian G

  • November 2014

Assumption of breakfast requirement

We purposely booked a room without breakfast included, paid in advance but when we checked out, the receptionist asked us to pay for breakfast.

We told her that we had not required breakfast, hence the type of room booking. She did not apologise but simply stated that she would subtract that from our bill.

  • R Willcox

  • September 2014

Relaxing break

Despite being in the close proximity to the centre of the city, this hotel was extremely well appointed at a very good price

  • Emanuela M

  • August 2014

A very good hotel

Great location, great customer service , nice ,clean and quite room with a very comfortable bed.

  • Avril M

  • August 2014

Overpriced during festival but lovely hotel

Staff were lovely at reception.

Couldn't be more helpful. Rooms quite a good size and bathroom was lovely. (my daughter and I argued who was getting the complimentary duck tho!). Very clean and quiet location and comfy beds so slept well apart from usual problems when staying at hotels with other doors slamming. Had breakfast on first morning. Food was delicious. Spa facilities were great. Only complaint was price of hotels in Edinburgh in general over Festival period and to be fair the Apex Waterloo Place was better than others of a lower star rating

  • David B

  • August 2014

All promise but left feeling deflated

Hotel room (superior room) was not so superior.

Air con inadequate and opening the windows allowed horrendous traffic noise and street smells into the room. breakfast was £10 per head per day which was cheaper than on the street but expensive when adding to the room cost. An E-mail was rec'd shortly before we travelled offering upgrades at a cost which actually were not available upon arrival. Reception staff were excellent and breakfast staff were good for the first two days until our last day when the wheels fell off. Service was virtually at a standstill but they tried their best to keep it going. Overall as a decent hotel with free rubber ducks 6/10 and I would look to try another hotel next time.

  • H Haman

  • August 2014

Lovely stay. Thankyou

  • Karen M

  • July 2014

Lovely hotel centrally located

A fantastic hotel with excellent facilities.

Staff are very helpful, welcoming and polite. Spacious and comfortable room with everything you need for a lovely stay - no view from window but as we were using this as a base for busy days out this didn't matter. Located very close to main attractions and lots of lovely restaurants but their own restaurant is also very good. Highly recommend this hotel for a city break.

  • a c

  • July 2014

Great Hotel

Absolutely loved our stay at The Apex, it is the best hotel we have stayed in and we will most definately be returning.

The pool and facilties are very clean and enjoyable. Staff were very polite and helpful. Room clean and very comfortable. We would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Lucy M

  • June 2014

home from home.

Very comfortable bed, plenty of little extras to ensure that your stay was like a night in your own home.

For a city centre hotel, there was little in the way of noise pollution through the night. The only criticism is the slow service in the bar, which was often under staffed.