No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - the Midland Hotel

4Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
MARINE ROAD WEST , MORECAMBE, LA4 4BU
Beautifully, meticulously, and lovingly restored - the Midland is an Art Deco-inspired tour de force with 44 modern 30s-inspired rooms, 6 rooftop suites, a top-notch restaurant and ultra-stylish bar.

The Midland has that touch of class. Genius-architect Oliver Hill designed the hotel to bend alongside the curve of the promenade, creating spectacular panoramas of the North West coast at its breathtaking best.

The hotels suave open plan style offers a place to relax in the afternoon sun. Meet friends and select the Midland afternoon tea for sheer decadence and pleasure. Chat over a Midland platter shared amongst you and wash it down with a fine wine or refreshing cocktail. The long bar is the heart of the hotel where today’s latest generation of seaside socialites can enjoy aperitifs and canapés in a buzzing, sophisticated ambiance.

Everything that made the Midland so special in its glamorous heyday has been restored and reinvented for a new generation with the addition of a spectacular rooftop terrace. The ultimate in elegance and escapism.
Picture of the Midland Hotel, MORECAMBE at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 53 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
89% recommended this accommodation to a friend 87% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

liverpool
Very enjoyable stay at a quite different hotel. Excellent customer service from attentive staff, nice food, quirky but pleasant room.

Reviewed by
iain clarke

From Manchester, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent hotel
On entering this iconic hotel reception, we were greeted by a welcoming smile. Our room was marvellous, with interesting design features. The wardrobe, TV, refrigerator, tea/coffee facilities were tucked in to a central 'island'. The bathroom was on the other side of the island, away from the room. Nice comfy bed. It's a shame the weather did not allow use of the balcony.

Reviewed by
Geoff s

From Nottingham, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

stunning even though a bit pricy
Fab hotel. Very quirky staff pleasent room clean would recomend.

Reviewed by
helen g

From Blackburn, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Midland in September
We chose the Midland because we wanted somewhere unique for our 25th wedding anniversary
We remembered visiting Morecambe with our children when the Midland was still derelict but was aware it had been re-furbished to its former glory and given Morecambe is not that far from where we live, it fit the bill perfectly.
Our room was on the top floor and had the large balcony. Given we wanted something different, it certainly did fit the bill. Our room was lovely and the view tremendous, especially in the morning as we awoke to the sun coming in. We had breakfast in the dining room and again with the sunshine which was lovely - the quality of the service and the food during breakfast was excellent.
It was quite refreshing also, to find that the majority of staff at the hotel were British or at least spoke very good English ...
A lovely hotel in a lovely setting, it's just a shame that the town of Morecambe doesn't offer much else to encourage visitors to the town and perhaps also the hotel.

Reviewed by
Andrew Bassett

From Blackpool, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Eat here and get a room with a view!
If staying here, get a sea-view room - the views are wonderful and well worth the extra cost. And eating dinner in the restaurant is an absolute must; our meals were truly excellent - every single mouthful was a joy.

Reviewed by
Mark R

From Eastham, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely hotel, good service
Really enjoyed our stay. The hotel is nicely decorated, although feel they could have made more of the history of the place. Would have liked some vintage photos in the rooms rather than the tiny print and tacky magnetic calendar.
Staff friendly and helpful, food was great - innovative and tasty.

Reviewed by
Polly M

From Southampton, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Beautiful views in a romantic, art deco setting
The Midland is a lovely hotel and I would stay there again without hesitation. The views out over Morecambe bay are stunning and the hotel is beautifully fitted out with lots of lovely art deco features. We ate in the restaurant, where the food and service were good.
I would not stay in our room (205) again - as it had a strange arrangement in the bathroom where the toilet door unfolded to create a wall between the bathroom and bedroom. This was not very satisfactory or private as the toilet was very close to the bed and there were gaps in the wall. It was quite a small room for 2 people, whilst our friend travelling on her own and paying the same standard rate was put into a beautiful, large double-aspect room (201). Our friend was also upset when she wanted to take a cup of tea over looking the bay. She was told that this seating was reserved for people having a full cream tea only - even though there were lots of empty (uncleared) tables. We had to use the Rotunda bar instead which is OK, but a bit chilly and more cafe like.

Reviewed by
Carolyn L

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Enjoyable stay. Good sea views. Excellent friendly customer service. However, armchairs in room uncomfortable and lighting level in bathroom poor. Insufficient desk space if workspace required.

Reviewed by
George M

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

midland hotel treat
fab old building.bit out of our price range! stayed as a treat. . great quirky room. . comfiest bed ever .. awesome breakfast with creamiest porridge ever . . till next time

Reviewed by
mick duffy

From bradford, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Art Deco experience
Morecambe may be a little down at heel but this is a wonderful place to stay. Extra for the sea view room definitely worth it. Small balcony so sit outside and enjoy a gorgeous view and so peaceful. Room very elegant, modern and unusual furnishings. Plenty of space. Easy to get out of Morecambe and explore places like Arnside (for fish and chips), Silverdale etc.

Reviewed by
Judith M

From Worcester, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 Next