Reviews - the Midland Hotel



Price From 263.21 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (30)

90% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • joanne james

  • September 2015


We had a fantastic stay.

The staff in the restaurant were wonderful

They were very professional. Everything about our stay was perfect. Thank you all so very much. We would defiantly stay again.

  • Barbara C

  • April 2015


Just a small thing its a pet hate of mine, having to make your own toast, I think a hotel should bring toast to you rather than make your own,.

  • M Cushen

  • January 2015

Decadence and Elegance for lovers of Art Deco,

My wife and i wanted to celebrate our 10 year wedding anniversary and my wife's Birthday, we chose the Midland as we are both lovers of the Art Deco period and all we can say is excellent,excellent the hotel its self and the staff all exceeded our expectations,can't wait to visit again!!!!

  • Steve Barrow

  • December 2014

We had a room overlooking the bay, with access to the balcony and the wonderful views.

Morecambe is a great (and underrated) place to stay. The room was spacious, comfy, and very quiet - we had a great night's sleep. The staff were excellent - efficient, friendly and welcoming. We had afternoon tea which was fabulous. The only downside to our stay was that the toilet was situated in a sort of cupboard, which opened to form the heavy (and not very private) door of the ensuite bathroom. Trendy, but badly designed. But overall, its great to think that The Midland is a successful hotel again - we remember when it was a derelict wreck.

  • Phil G

  • November 2014

Would be fine at a third of the price but a huge disappointment for us

We stayed in one of the best rooms on the top floor with balcony.

You can see what Mr Hemingway et al are trying to do but the vision totally falls down with disorganized and unhelpful staff and a general feeling of Butlins about the place. "Totally overpriced" for what you actually get rather than what you think you'll get when you book (we paid £268 per night B&B). We stay in a lot of hotels - a typical rate for the experience and quality of room we had at the Midland would be £95.

  • iain clarke

  • November 2014


Very enjoyable stay at a quite different hotel.

Excellent customer service from attentive staff, nice food, quirky but pleasant room.

  • Geoff s

  • November 2014

Excellent hotel

On entering this iconic hotel reception, we were greeted by a welcoming smile.

Our room was marvellous, with interesting design features. The wardrobe, TV, refrigerator, tea/coffee facilities were tucked in to a central 'island'. The bathroom was on the other side of the island, away from the room. Nice comfy bed. It's a shame the weather did not allow use of the balcony.

  • helen g

  • October 2014

stunning even though a bit pricy

Fab hotel.

Very quirky staff pleasent room clean would recomend.

  • Andrew Bassett

  • September 2014

The Midland in September

We chose the Midland because we wanted somewhere unique for our 25th wedding anniversary We remembered visiting Morecambe with our children when the Midland was still derelict but was aware it had been re-furbished to its former glory and given Morecambe is not that far from where we live, it fit the bill perfectly.

Our room was on the top floor and had the large balcony. Given we wanted something different, it certainly did fit the bill. Our room was lovely and the view tremendous, especially in the morning as we awoke to the sun coming in. We had breakfast in the dining room and again with the sunshine which was lovely - the quality of the service and the food during breakfast was excellent. It was quite refreshing also, to find that the majority of staff at the hotel were British or at least spoke very good English ... A lovely hotel in a lovely setting, it's just a shame that the town of Morecambe doesn't offer much else to encourage visitors to the town and perhaps also the hotel.

  • graham w

  • September 2014

can't go wrong

you'd have to be a fool to run this place wrong - such a spectacular looking hotel right on the seafront.

beautiful surroundings/views. Nice restaurant setting looking out to sea. really great. Theres parts of the building that are let down by using cheap modern materials in a classic art deco building and the bar is trying way too hard to be young and funky - why would it be. the staircase is amazing. Its hysterical you enter from the back of the building which looks so average. i think it would benefit from more obvious signage is its not completely clear where to get in and out of the front of the building. The location is everything as it sits just outside the slightly rundown town (Which could look equally spectacular with some imaginative local government intervention ). its pricey but why not - its got something most places don't have . one complaint - food wasn't so amazing for vegetarians - could make more effort