No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre

4AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
70 SHUDEHILL, MANCHESTER, M4 4AF

Simply the Guest Awards Winner

Categories: City Centre & Family Friendly 2013
Based on 100% genuine guest reviews.

Experience personalised service in the heart of Manchester at the contemporary Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre hotel. A striking slate-and-glass facade opens into our minimalist Lobby at the Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre hotel in Manchester's fashionable Northern Quarter . Head to the Front Desk for the key to your sophisticated room or luxurious Suite. When you're ready, rejuvenate in the glittering Glasshouse Bar or try fresh local ingredients in the high-ceilinged Glasshouse Restaurant . Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre is 5 minutes by taxi from Manchester Piccadilly rail station for direct links to Manchester International Airport . Step out of your city hotel for a 10-minute stroll to Harvey Nichols and Selfridges department stores. Our Concierge's advice is gold dust for the latest exhibitions and concerts at nearby MEN Arena and Lowry arts centre. If you plan to be in town for a match at Old Trafford , ask about our Manchester United Package. Inspire your colleagues and book an event in our cool, contemporary meeting rooms with personalised menus, interactive whiteboards and seamless service from our Crowne Meetings Director . The breakout lounge is a dynamic space for brainstorming, networking and surfing with wireless Internet. Stay at the Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre hotel for made-to-measure service in the capital of the North.
Picture of Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre, MANCHESTER at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 214 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
94% recommended this accommodation to a friend 94% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Our stay at the Crown Plaza Manchester
Arrival - Receptionist was very helpful added Breakfast to our booking and gave the details regarding the restaurant
Migual our waiter was very friendly and focused on us as if we were is only customers (we werent) he talked through the food choices and wine, he didn;t rush us even when it was getting late. All staff we had met were very friendly and very helpful

ManagementResponse

Dear Nicola, Thank you for your kind review following your recent stay at the hotel. I am very pleased that you enjoyed your experience and our staff looked after you whilst you were with us, in particular the receptionist and Miguel in the restaurant. Your kind comments will be shared with them and the rest of the team. I do hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel again in the near future. Kind Regards, Bob Fairweather, General Manager

Reviewed by
Nicola L

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

As expected
Clean, modern, efficient.

Reviewed by
Chris R

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Gorgeous!
Fabulous room, spotless, and a very befitting venue for a night out in Manchester. Would definitely stay again.

ManagementResponse

Thank you for choosing the Crowne Plaza for your first visit to Manchester. I was delighted to read your review. We very much appreciate you taking the time to complete your feedback on LateRooms.com and I was so pleased that you enjoyed your experience with us. We very much hope to welcome you back next time. Kind Regards, Bob Fairweather

Reviewed by
Emma O

From Stoke on Trent, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Disappointing
I reserved the Crown Plaza for a nights stay in Manchester while there for a meeting, The accommodation and overall experience would have been good if it were not for 2 things. Firstly the hotel saw fit to put me in a wheel chair accessible room which in a hotel of this size I find hard to believe that there were no other normal rooms available, now from a room point of view this is fine as the room is probably larger than a standard room but having a bathroom that is designed around a wheel chair user is not a particularly great experience for one it doesn't look good, second I find the additional fixtures to be uncomfortable. Aside from this the bed was probably one of the worst I have slept in for a long time, lumpy / hard pillows and mattress didn't lend itself to a good nights sleep

ManagementResponse

Dear C. Marsh Firstly I would like to thank you for choosing the Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre for your recent stay in our great city and for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. We greatly appreciate observations from a valued guest such as yourself. I was very concerned to learn of your disappointment with regards to your stay and that your experience fell below your expectations. Please be assured all your comments are important to us and have been shared with the hotel management team to be reviewed. It is never our intention for any of our guests to leave dissatisfied and thanks to your candid feedback the necessary actions can be taken to improve upon the areas you highlighted. I would very much like to discuss your stay in further detail and would be very grateful if you can make contact at the below email address. Guest.relations@cpmanchester.com I very much regret your disappointment, however I do hope that we can welcome you back to the hotel when you next visit the city. Kind Regards Bob Fairweather General Manager

Reviewed by
c marsh

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Saturday night at the Crown Plaza
The stay at the Crown Plaza was excellent other than a few items at breakfast were cold.
The room and facilities were all that could be wished for and the staff were all friendly and helpful.
The hotel was neat, clean and tidy all over and we enjoyed our stay.

ManagementResponse

Dear A Lane, Thank you for taking the time to write us a review regarding your recent stay. We are so glad you enjoyed your overall stay with us. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to improve and continually provide the best experience possible. Thank you for staying and we all hope to serve you again on your next future visit. Sincerely, Anthony, IHG Care

Reviewed by
A LANE

From St Neots, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very happy, would defo return
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the hotel, we will definitely be returning when next in Manchester. Great location, lovely finish to the room which was nice and modern instantly making everything look cleaner and more up-to-date, staff were all really helpful and polite.
The only cons as such are: The room could have been a little bigger and that the aircon took a while for to kick in (the room was sweltering hot when we arrived).
Really couldn't complain.

Reviewed by
Kelly S

From Bury St Edmunds, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The hotel is very well located for the Arndale centre and city centre shops. The staff were very helpful and polite and the room was very well equipped.

ManagementResponse

Thank you for reviewing our hotel following your recent stay. I am delighted that you had an enjoyable stay and were well looked after by our staff. Your comments will be gladly shared with the team. I do hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back again in the future. Kind Regards, Bob Fairweather, General Manager

Reviewed by
M Martin

From Wolverhampton, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent hotel
We stayed here for a night to celebrate our anniversary. The service at reception was excellent and we were upgraded to a club room. On entry to the room we found a bottle of wine on ice to congratulate us on our anniversary. The room was spotless and the bed very comfy, just a shame I couldn't sleep due to thunder and lightening although my husband slept like a baby through it. The breakfast was lovely with lots of choice. I would definitely recommend this hotel and will book again when visiting Manchester.

ManagementResponse

Dear Justine, Firstly may I congratulate you on celebrating your anniversary and I am delighted that you chose to stay at the hotel to celebrate. Thank you for your kind comments about the hotel and in particularly our staff who I will the pleasure in sharing your comments with. Thank you also for recommending us and I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back again. Kind Regards, Bob Fairweather, General Manager

Reviewed by
Justine Phillips

From Stoke on Trent, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Short break with my daughters
We were very satisfied with our stay at the Crown Plaza Manchester. Check in wasn't until 2pm but when we arrived at 12 we were told our room was ready so we could drop off our luggage. The room was comfortable and clean, we had a good nights sleep and really enjoyed our breakfast in the morning.

ManagementResponse

Dear Janette, Thank you for your review of our hotel following your recent visit. I am delighted you were able to check in early and had an enjoyable stay. I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back once again. Kind Regards, Bob Fairweather, General Manager

Reviewed by
Janette S

From Sheffield, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Close, but no cigar.....
I have stayed at this hotel on numerous occasions and the same issues keep arising. Maybe this is due to the "Americanism" of the place and some British values are lost along the way.
The rooms are pretty good generally, no real issues other than no shower cap (front of house were surprised by this) also a streak of red lipstick on the side of the wardrobe (again, poor housekeeping) The club lounge is far too small for the amount of subscribers. It is like a free-for-all in there at 6pm. People piling high plates of canapes and treating the 6pm - 8pm complimentary drinks and snacks as their main meal/drinks for the evening. Having waiter service is only marginally better than when the drinks were freely available to 'help yourself'
At breakfast in the restaurant I asked for a decaff coffee, only to be brought out a few sachets of Nescafe and a pot of hot water!
What's that all about for a supposedly 4* hotel (I thought the Americans were big on coffee so expected a whole lot better)
I requested a filter coffee from the machine in the hotel bar (this has not been an issue on any previous visits) only to be told "That's Starbucks now and we will have to charge you"
Absolutely ridiculous attitude.
If you get a cheap deal here it is ok, but paying 'rack rate' you may be a touch disappointed.

ManagementResponse

Dear W. Watson, Thank you very much for choosing the Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre for your stay in Manchester. I am sorry to hear your stay was not up to your expectations. I am very sorry for any shortcomings that you encountered. It's entirely regrettable that you did not experience the high standards that we like to deliver to all of our guests. Please rest assured all your comments have been shared with the hotel management team to be reviewed. It is never our intention for any of our guests to leave dissatisfied and thanks to your candid feedback the necessary actions can be taken to improve upon the areas you highlighted. If you would like to discuss your feedback in more detail I would be very happy if you would like contact us directly at your own convenience. Once again I very much regret your dissatisfaction, however I do hope that we can welcome you back to the hotel when you next visit the city. Kind Regards, Bob Fairweather, General Manager

Reviewed by
W Watson

From England
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next