No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Oddfellows

4Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
20 Lower Bridge Street , Chester, CH1 1RS
Situated in the heart of Chester, minutes from the River Dee and the vibrant and chic boutiques in the city, you will find a profoundly unique hotel which will capture your imagination and shape the way you travel.

Behind our stunning 17th century façade, Oddfellows has been lovingly restored to its former glory with a nod to its heritage. Cutting edge style mingles with inimitable sophistication and our 18 bedrooms, private dining rooms, Lounge Bar, Secret Garden and The Garden by Simon Radley restaurant will guarantee you an experience in the cosmopolitan, the unpredictable and the flamboyant. There are two rooms and two suites within the main house and the remaining rooms and suites are located within a new building.

Stay the night, enjoy the odd plate, dine in, dine out or celebrate with friends and family. From business to leisure, Oddfellows is the only choice for your every occasion.

Oddfellows does not have its own car park but we do have a contract with the Pepper Street NCP located a 2 minute walk from the hotel. We can offer you discount for there in the form of a voucher obtained when checking out of the hotel, making each 24 hour stay £6.50. The post code for the Pepper Street NCP is CH1 1DF.
Picture of Oddfellows , Chester at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 61 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
91% recommended this accommodation to a friend 88% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

fabulous break at a boutique hotel
We had wonderful two night stay at this luxurious hotel. The hotel staff were all very polite and friendly nothing too much trouble. The suite was modern, super clean and extravagant We would definitely be returning guests. .

Reviewed by
k lynas

From Chesterfield, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Something different
A lovely, quirky hotel in a great location central to Chester. Parking is in a nearby NCP (at discounted rates) and there's no lift but plenty of stairs so not particularly accessible, however that's about the only negatives I could raise. Staff were friendly and welcoming, food was great and the hotel decor really is stand-out eccentric. Certainly worth a visit.

Reviewed by
Adrian B

From Brough, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic Individual Hotel
Highly recommended - great rooms, service, food and atmosphere. Really special.

Reviewed by
Ali Richardson

From Reading, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Third stay !!!
Enjoyed our stay as much as before we both love this hotel !

Reviewed by
C Wilson

From Warrington, England
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Quirky, fun, great food. Very relaxing.
Not suitable for children in my opinion

Reviewed by
Geoff Mavin

From Maidstone, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Later, the greater
Booked very last minute as had originally planned on driving home from Chester races. Was the last room available and we got it for standard double price although the room was far from standard. Lovely room with a mezzanine floor where the bed and a stand alone bath were overlooking the lounge area. Impeccably decorated to a stylish and quality finish. Unusual layout having to walk through the quirky bar to get to the accomodation. Awesome semi covered courtyard bar area. Had the on the go breakfast which was far too healthy for my liking so would try the restaurant breakfast next time. All in all a very pleasant experience

Reviewed by
S Copner

From stockport, England
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Exceeds Expectations!.... Visual Feast ..... Quirky ...... Quality.... Impeccable
This hotel is an amazing visual feat of decadence and beauty ... There are hidden wonders at every turn with touches of Alice in Wonderland.... Thoughtful kind hidden gestures to ensure you have everything you need to make your stay exceed your expectations.... Can not wait to stay there again!.... Thank you Oddfellows... Especially for the 'Just in Case you Need Them Draw' with Nespresso machine & Nurofen .... It is without doubt a most memorable experience .... Go stay there.... You will love it!.... :)

Reviewed by
J Evans

From Wirral, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Quirky but nice
The hotel has gone out of its way to stop this feeling like just another town centre hotel, with a very idiosyncratically designed courtyard and other touches.
Although the front of the building is very old the rooms were in a very modern block which the hotel had tried hard to give some character to. We were not sure about the circular bed - took up extra room and blocked off one of the windows, frankly, to little benefit but it did make for a memorable experience! The facilities were good, as was the food.
I think it could prove noisy on a warm Friday or Saturday night as I could imagine the courtyard full of people enjoying a late night drink. But on a Sunday it was peaceful.
Finally it's worth noting that the staff were very nice and all seemed genuinely proud of the place.

Reviewed by
philip c

From London, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

I knew that the shower and toilet was in the room before we stayed but I really didn't like it. Like most people I do like a bit of privacy when I'm on the loo, and apart from that the shower door didn't keep the water out and we had to put towels on the floor when we used it. It was also very warm in the room and I wouldn't like to be in there in the summer. There are no lifts to the rooms so if you are unable to climb stairs please bear this in mind. Having said all that we did like the hotel and the staff are absolutely lovely especially Magda the receptionist.

Reviewed by
Aileen Evans

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Quirky hotel with lots of style
Lovely stay at Oddfellows, really quirky, stylish furniture which made for a great stay. We would recommend staying here especially as it is right in the middle of Chester so al the shops and restaurants are literally a five minute walk, perfect for exploring Chester by foot.

Reviewed by
c moysi

From Birmingham, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next