You have not entered any valid search criteria.

Please enter a keyword and perform your search again.

Reviews - The Kenilworth

3

44 Osborne Rd, Jesmond,, Newcastle Upon Tyne, NE2 2AL

Price From 90.52 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Good

All reviews (47)

60% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • S Rashid

  • June 2016

Don't give you any details

Stayed here as a last minute resort.

We literally got the keys and that was it. There was no information given about check out and breakfast. We had to ask them, and then we missed out on our prepaid breakfast, to which they had no interest in resolving their error. Rooms were also noisy. Wouldn't stay here again.

  • Thomas G

  • May 2016

The Kenilworth

Friendly staff and a good sized, clean room.

Just what I wanted for my trip.

  • Iain C

  • May 2016

Passed from pillar to post

Got call from Kenilworth hotel to say the website had given out too many rooms and we no longer had a booking.

This was approx a couple of weeks after booking. They offered us an apartment off site which I accepted. Some weeks later I was again called and told we were now going to stay in the Whites hotel in which I again accepted as we would be able to have breakfast on site. hecked website and it looked ok. Arrived, looked ok from the outside. Inside sticky carpets and tables. Got our room after a dingy walk through hotel. As expected not too great. We were meant to stay 3 nights but stayed only 2. On our second morning at breakfast their wasn't enough food for everybody!Thankfully our time spent at the hotel was minimal. Will be back in Newcastle next year and definitely will not be staying there.

  • R Kalakoti

  • April 2016

A nice location and clean rooms!

I and my friend stayed at this hotel when we attended a conference in New castle.

The location was really good, but with some noise from close by pubs and a bit of meaty smell which vanished by next morning. We realized that the hotel parking lot had three big vans, in which we struggled to maneuver our car to park. Soon we found a different parking slot in the same lot and quickly moved our car into that. We had a pub and good warm breakfast in the restaurant(included in the price). Though there were some minor issues like few bulbs not working, were rectified soon. Friendly receptionist and nice location (mainly student accommodations) and good restaurants(Italian) like 'Scalini' around made our stay manageable.

  • S Wilson

  • April 2016

Weekend away

Thought Jesmond was up market Newcastle.

We go away every weekend and stay I hotel from £80.00 up and beyond. Price isn't problem. Pictures looked fine, but they're dated hotel is in need of tic. More suited to the younger hen or stag night. Didn't get a wink of sleep due to the people upstairs. We were in room 1 our 3rd choice of room as I was unhappy with the first two. Grout missing. Paint over the bin, tear in stair carpet. If we weren't going to be charged we were going to find somewhere else.

Response from hotel

Thank you for your review and I am sorry that you appear not to have

enjoyed your stay.

We believe that we offer good value for money, certainly in keeping with

the area and we have to disagree that our rooms need updating.

The room you stayed in has a bathroom which was refitted only last year and

whilst we accept that there may be very minor maintenance required such as

the grouting, we consider the rooms to be of a good standard. Your room is

clearly shown on the website and so I cannot understand why you question

the reality of the photographs: all are recent.

In terms of noise, Jesmond is indeed one of the more upmarket areas

of Newcastle but is also home to bars and students- this is clearly stated

on the website and guests not wanting to be near nightlife should maybe not

book a hotel near these amenities.

Thanks,

Sarah Hemy

  • David C

  • March 2016

Nice pub and food but the tired rooms are not for tired guests

Not sure if the 4 star rating is a hotel rating or a b&b rating but this is not a 4 star hotel.

We paid £90 a night so I think this review would have been more positive if we had paid a £50/60 a night. The staff were friendly and the bar and breakfast were good, but the hotel room was in shabby condition and in need of refurbishment. Ideal for stag weekends or hen nights but not for couples on a weekend break looking for a quality weekend destination.

  • Maura C

  • February 2016

Visiting newcastle for first time

We were visiting newcastle for our first time.

We were staying in jesmond west. The kenilworth hotel was a great choice in which to stay. Beautiful room, spacious, lovely bathroom. Everything was spotless and the breakfast first class. Staff were courteous ano very helpful.

  • colin homer

  • February 2016

The Kenilworth

Very nice bar area and food.

The staff were very friendly and helpful. A little disappointed with the room, especially the shower, it had black mould around the tray and some of the tiles. I know its a bit picky but that is the only reason I would not use the hotel again or recommend to a friend. Sorry.

  • Emma W

  • February 2016

Lovely Stay

Me and my boyfriend stayed here and really enjoyed ourselves.

The hotel is in a lovely location, with lots of pubs and eateries nearby, and is relatively close to the city centre. Our room had essential items and everything we would have needed for our stay. The bar area of the hotel was really peaceful and relaxed. All staff were friendly and accommodating. Couldn't have asked for much more!

  • A Taylor

  • January 2016

The Kenilworth

Small room but pleasant despite size.

Our room was on the same floor as the bar so noisy until 12 but after this there was no problem sleeping. Room was basic and perhaps could have benefited from some more decoration or furniture.