No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Ballsbridge Hotel

Pembroke Road Ballsbridge, Dublin, 4
The Ballsbridge Hotel is in Dublin’s D4 district, next to the DART Railroad which connects guests to the centre of the city in minutes. Aviva Stadium and the RDS are also within walking distance of the hotel and the Aircoach stop is just outside the property.

Breakfast is served in Raglans Restaurant and freshly baked snacks, along with specialist teas and coffees are all available at The Coffee Dock throughout the day. Raglans Restaurant serves a sumptuous menu of classic Irish dishes. With fantastic food, the Dubliner Pub is a traditional Irish pub that features live music on weekends.

The rooms at Ballsbridge Hotel feature all the modern facilities expected in a city hotel, including a private bathroom, a cable TV, telephone, and tea/coffee-making facilities. There is 24-hour room service and many of the bedrooms were refurbished in 2013.
With private parking on site, the Ballsbridge Hotel is within easy reach of Temple Bar and Grafton Street, along with the Guinness Storehouse.

There is a beauty salon and barber shop onsite and there is a gym less than 5 minutes from the hotel which offers discounted rates for guests.

Secure parking is available onsite and the DART train station is less than 5 minutes’ walk away.

Picture of Ballsbridge Hotel, Dublin at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 28 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
65% recommended this accommodation to a friend 68% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely, friendly staff for whom nothing was too difficult to do or too much. My room was very comfortable although rather warm.

Reviewed by
K Allen

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great hotel, have left knowing we will be back

Reviewed by
J Snushsll

From Carrickfergus, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent service all around

Reviewed by
Patty C

From Clonmel, Republic of Ireland
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

For the eyes of the hotel manager - this is not intended for publication
Reception was first rate, and the hotel generally a most welcome contrast to the one I had stayed in (not in Dublin) for the previous two nights. I am therefore sorry that the bulk of this review should be taken up with criticism - which is offered, I must emphasise, in no hostile spirit.
Lunch was excellent, but dinner gave cause for alarm: the main course was lukewarm on arrival at the table, and chicken so served is liable to contain salmonella. The dish was sent back, and replaced by chicken properly cooked, and that was fine: the waiter cannot be faulted. But I am concerned that the kitchen staff may not have been made aware of the seriousness of such a lapse, and I should be sorry if the hotel were to suffer as a result.
Otherwise there was nothing to complain of except for the raucous music (?) played far too loudly in public areas, a disease of our time: do hotelliers ever consult their clients' tastes?

Reviewed by
Michael B

From 1408 Kråkstad, Norway
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wifi charged
Great hotel, great rooms as now refurbished. They charge for wifi so will probably book other hotels in D4...
Breakfast very good as well.

Reviewed by
Steve Janes

From Portstewart, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

An excellent hotel at an affordable price
The Ballsbridge Hotel is a venue that I have always enjoyed staying in. I have been a guest there on many occasions and have always enjoyed it. It is an excellent location and is very central with just a short walk to the City Centre.

Reviewed by
Daniel G Hughes

From Newry, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good location
Rooms good, bar service good a little slow, location 10 minute walk to merrion square.

Reviewed by
P Harvey

From Whitehaven, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

hotel in lovely area -will revisit again as we only stayed one night
Only down fall is lack of air condition in the srandard rooms and windows don't open wide enough to ventilate the room -the weather was so warm that we couldn't get any sleep. The hotel is in an area away from city center and gives a different view of Dublin - those who enjoy strolling to explore will appreciate the leafy suburb.

Reviewed by
Michael H

From Castledawson, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hotel was perfect - please change check point charley for breakfast - it irritating having to wait like security in an airport , it was obviously an accountant who came up with the idea and he has no clue about customer service and has low standards .
Also the food is undesirable - perhaps you could refine the bacon and disgusting sausages .
Aside from that - spot on .

Reviewed by
Michael Rex T

From Londonderry, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Avoid at all costs!
Probably the worst hotel I have ever stayed in. There is a claim that "many" of the rooms were refurbished in 2013; not the room I stayed in! I paid for a De-Luxe room .... I got a very, very poor room. I requested a room with a walk-in shower (instead of an over-the-bath shower) - they gave me the worst disabled room in Dublin! (Note to the General Manager ... have you tried sleeping in room 119 yourself? Looked up at the roof in the bathroom? Heard the swing doors banging outside the room .... All night long? Heard every other hotel guest's conversation in the corridor outside??) Every room has air-conditioning? ....... only if you leave the window open! Has a hairdryer ..... oh, No! Has a trouser press? Not likely! Wi-fi is "available" ...... yes - at a price! Service at the Bar was appalling ...... the staff were not aware that they were displaying a menu at the entrance to the bar - and a different menu inside the bar. The meal was basic ... and pretentious. And then the fire alarm went off at breakfast ..... what did the staff do???? Absolutely nothing! .... even when the alarm went off time after time after time! This hotel is a disgrace .... and dangerous.

Reviewed by
Brian M

From Glasgow, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next