Reviews - Courtlands Hotel


Courtlands Hotel 19-27 The Drive, Brighton, BN3 3JE

Price From 104.55 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.


All reviews (71)

66% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • Lucy Coker

  • November 2015

Overnight stay

Very friendly and welcoming staff at the hotel very helpful value for money would stay there again

  • Nick S

  • August 2015

This hotel is tired and needs quiet a bit of TLC.

Hotel is tired and shabby.

Light shades are torn and linings are coming apart. Wallpaper and paintwork grubby. Jacuzzi was extreemly dirty, when turned on a large amount of debris issued from the jets, which to say the least was unpleasant for the person sitting in the water, also unhealthy. Carpets throughout were rucked and stained. All in all, I would not choose to stay again.

  • Andrew L

  • July 2015

Dated but adequate accommodation

The Courtlands is squeezed in amongst the old 3/4 storey houses on the Drive adjacent to the promenade , the facade is tired looking and interior in keeping with the age of the accommodation , staff tended to be foreign or English being second language should I say , and room was clean and adequate.

My business weekend left me little time in the room other than to sleep in. The bar staff were friendly but breakfast staff slow and ponderous . My conference started escape morning at 8.30am and the breakfast room only unlocked at 8.00at weekends which left a mad dash to Brighton after a very hurried breakfast . Food adequate though . You pay an additional £8 per day in the car park at the rear which considering I paid £26 per day a mile up the road in Brighton seems reasonable . All in all an adequate standard of bed and breakfast accommodation probably overdue a refurb.

  • E Liddle

  • July 2015

I wouldn't stay there again.

Hotel needs a complete overhaul, very dated, furniture, decor & beds very old.

No air conditioning, no fans in the room (none at reception when asked).

I went for breakfast and left it as sausage was raw in the middle and eggs were very under cooked.

Overall very poor. How it got 3 stars I will never know.

  • Mimi H

  • July 2015

Good value for money

Stayed in (family) room 222 with elderly parents - which has a main room comprising of a queen size bed, and a separate room with two single beds, facing the front of the hotel.

Decor was somewhat dated (peeling paint in the bathroom) but it was clean. Hotel is very well-located within walking distance of the sea and lots of restaurants, with good parking facilities (behind the hotel). However, note that parking is not included in the accommodation price. We paid extra to have the full English breakfast, which was OK. Customer service was warm and attentive. Overall, it has been a pleasant stay.


  • July 2015

Brighton Weekender !

  • D Kanoya

  • June 2015


Parking place is not good.

More worse, the front man does not provide good guide. Room is good, but we have to get up at midnight and escape outside of building. Because fire alarm rang. It was malfunction, but actually I am not sure the cause.

  • Robert B

  • June 2015

1st and definitely the last time here. Couldn't wait to leave!

How can I put my feelings into words about this Hotel .

Let's see ... Shabby, grotty, tired, stiflingly hot, smelly, noisy to name just a few. Booked 'last minute' i was dismayed when I arrived at this 'luxury' (it says above the entrance door) premises. You needed to belong to the AA to find your way to the room via a creaking lift, numerous stairs, stained and threadbare carpets into a room where, it seemed, everything had been done 'on-the-cheap. I was also fuming about the hitherto not mentioned demand for £8.00 for parking overnight in the unprotected plot of wasteland at the back of the Hotel. With the weird and not-too-friendly smell wafting about the place there was absolutely no way I was going to risk the restaurant ... just in case. Altogether a thoroughly unpleasant experience. I will avoid this establishment like the plague in the future. Definitely NOT recommended!!

  • Marg B

  • June 2015

Very good. Would recommend

Very nice.

Good location. Not too busy. Good service. The only downside was we have a car and parking is always difficult. Charged £8 to park at back. Can park in street - not sure of price.otherwise, very happy with this accommodation.

  • Emma C

  • April 2015

A hotel worthy of a return visit

This is my second stay at The Courtlands Hotel.

Rarely do I stay at a hotel twice but this one impressed me on both stays. The first time I stayed with colleagues, this time with my boyfriend after I recommended Courtlands to him. Parking is convenient and the stroll into Brighton allows one to enjoy beautiful Hove.