No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Luther King House

3Self Classified Guest Accommodation Ratings explained
Brighton Grove off Wilmslow Road , Manchester, M14 5JP
In a tree-lined suburb, this college and conference venue has free Wi-Fi in public areas, inclusive Continental Breakfast in all rates and free on site parking, set in 2 acres of landscaped gardens. Manchester city centre is only 2 miles away and there are great public transport links.

Each bedroom has a private shower, or bath and toilet facilities. Every room at Luther King House has tea/coffee making facilities and Freeview TV.

Luther King House also has a small bar and a courtyard for guests to relax in. Evening meals, snacks, tea and coffee can be enjoyed during the week in the dining room and Continental Breakfast is served every day
Picture of Luther King House, Manchester at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 283 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
85% recommended this accommodation to a friend 87% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely place, just right for me.

Reviewed by
Helen W

From UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic location and food
Rooms were very basic similar to halls of risidence but adequate and we slept well as it was quiet which is the main thing!
The breakfast was lovely, fantastic choice on the continental side and we ordered 2 cooked breakfasts aswel for 5 pounds each and you got two of everything good quality and very tasty!
Would recommend and hopefully be back. The location is fab just outside the curry mile and local shops

Reviewed by
Kirsty B

From Beeston, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Oasis in the City
I really enjoyed my stay here. I stayed because I was on a three day course at the venue. It's a community theology college and the library is a treasure chest of interesting books that are theology based. The room are adequate and what you might expect in a college type setting; they are kept very clean by hard working domestic staff. All staff were friendly and helpful, particularly Martin (customer services skills 5 star) and Vicki (who was very polite, helpful and responsive to my request for a room with a bath). All staff I dealt with were polite, friendly and helpful. The food was good value for money, I had both an evening meal and lunch on one day. Breakfast was fab with a feast of good things to eat! For anyone trying to stay healthy, be warned that in the morning you will be faced with Martin trying to entice you with the chocolate muffins and other calorific but delicious looking foods. I am pleased to say I didn't succumb but other people on my course were unable to resist Martin's charms and ate more than they had planned to! For those looking for healthier options, they won't be disappointed as there was fresh fruit salad, yoghurts and muesli. There is a large park with a lake in the middle just across the road if you need to walk or jog off your excesses. I have another two days of my course to complete and I will not be missing out on the opportunity to stay there again.

Reviewed by
Anne M

From UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Value For money but Noisy Room
Room 422 - Fantastic accommodation for one night.
Most comfortable bed I have ever slept in and most incredible continental breakfast for the cost.
Downside was the noise. The plumbing for the toilet was in the bedroom and was noisy for 10 minted after flushing.
Also the man next door set his alarm for 5.45am. I heard it very clearly, walls must be thin. He then banged on the door of his friend in the room the other side of me. From reading other comments on my return, a room on the first floor may have been better.
The receptionist was friendly but both on a late shift and morning a lovely welcoming smile would have been nice.
Overall, GREAT for the cost. And would stay again.

Reviewed by
corinne a

From Shrewsbury, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Luther King House
Good value for money, impressed with the breakfast.

Reviewed by
Z Martin

From Durham, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Value for money
Clean, adequate, and quiet space.

Reviewed by
Naeem Raza

From UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Luther King House
Reminded us of a old hospital for the mentally ill with a courtyard where they could get fresh air but not get out. lso other residents were very noisy banging doors all night.shower was terrible just a trickle.beds very uncomfortable.

Reviewed by
J Parker

From Morecambe, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Luther King House
Good quality, value for money accomodation

Reviewed by
L Jones

From Worksop, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Value for money
Clean, adequate, and quiet space.

Reviewed by
Naeem Raza

From UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

What a miserable experience.
On arrival at the University Campus we entered the foyer and waited at the desk for the female receptionist to look up from her desk which she did eventually after approximately 45 seconds. She clearly was not pleased to be disturbed. After going through the formalities I noticed an evening meal sign above the desk saying ask about our a la carte meal deals served until 2030. It was now only 1950 and I was informed the chef had just knocked off for the night. We went to our room. The towels were on the bed. Both hand towels were badly soiled with brown stains. I took them downstairs and informed the receptionist who took them away and returned with clean ones. No apology given. On returning to the room I pulled the 1970s style cover back and the sheet was stained as was one pillow case. We were fed up by then so just turned the pillow case over and made the best of it. The bed was the creakiest and most uncomfortable I have ever slept on. The pillows were so thin and over used they were useless. On the plus side breakfast was pleasant. On leaving the premises and handing the key in there was a male receptionist who ignored me until I spoke to him and told him I was returning the key. Without raising his head or making any eye contact he said thank you. Not remotely customer orientated. It was truly miserable and did not live up to any even basic expectations.

Reviewed by
A Grant

From UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next