No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Luther King House

3Self Classified Guest Accommodation Ratings explained
Brighton Grove off Wilmslow Road , Manchester, M14 5JP
Luther King House is a college and conference venue situated in the leafy suburbs south of Manchester City Centre. All our 45 rooms have shower or bath and toilet facilities, tea and coffee making facilities, direct dial telephones and Internet access and TV with freeview channels and radio.

We also have free on-site parking, a comfortable lounge, dining room and small bar as well as a charming private garden. All of our public areas have free Wi-Fi for our guests.

We offer a real value for money venue just 2 miles from Manchester City Centre.
Picture of Luther King House, Manchester at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 271 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
85% recommended this accommodation to a friend 87% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent value, convenient location
This is good basic accommodation and very good value for the money. Free internet access and an excellent library and lounge plus a satisfying breakfast with plenty of choice meant we shall certainly return. The restaurant staff were helpful and friendly and the provision of an evening meal at very reasonable prices was also a plus.

Reviewed by
Jacqueline King

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

needs new signage - otherwise excellent
Very convenient for buses into the city, university, and to the Christie hospital.
Room clean and fully furnished.
Only complaint was that coming by foot I missed the driveway - I would think that if driving the sign would be amply lit by headlights. On telephoning reception, the lady was very helpful with directions so not a major problem, just a little frustrating.
All tea/coffee was fairtrade , which was a positive for me.

Reviewed by
Suzanne W

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly


Reviewed by
Fiona W

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great value - friendly - perfect place to crash with everything you need

Reviewed by
Emma S

From London, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Well Located if visiting University Students Halls
Overall this is good value and a nice place. Its not like a conventional hotel but has very nice grounds but feels a bit hostel like (although you have your own room).
The rooms are fine 0lder décor but clean and well kept.
The breakfast (continental) is usually good (weve stayed before) but on this occasion the staff did not replenish ham cheese until we asked (as did several others) my biggest gripe was when we asked for bread they said they had run out !!!!
There are a lot of local shop in the vicinity and it would not have been very simple to have gone a got a few loaves of bread so I found that a pretty poor excuse.
All that said this is good accommodation and I would stay again because it is good value and convenient.
I hope that my comments are taken constructively by the management.

Reviewed by
Derek Mann

From Hove, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

excellent value for money

Reviewed by
M Lloyd

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

weekend in Manchester (UK)
I had the opportunity to mhave a weekend with my wife in Manchester and I selected Luther king house because of budget,.
I have to say that in general accomodation and money/value ratio is positive,

Reviewed by
m bonetti

From verbania, Italy
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good overnight option - travellers in transit through Manchester
Efficient service, adequate room, pleasant dining room and excellent breakfast. Fair trade coffee and tea provided in the room. Wi-fi access available in bedroom and provision for secure luggage storage downstairs. Unfortunately there was a problem obtaining hot water in the shower. However, staff were gracious and said they would look into this.

Reviewed by
Veronica B

From USA
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great price, good pub, poor room.
What a difference a lick of paint, some oil on hinges and fixing windows would make. The location is what it is - great for accessing London, amazing for Wembley stadium, but on one night there was a disturbance from locals passing through the grounds which didn't fill us with confidence. Gates on entries/exits over night could solve this.
We also felt some of the punters in the pub contributed to an odd atmosphere, particularly two ladies who later walked the pub grounds in short skirts.
The reception once we had entered the pub having followed written instructions at the hotel entrance was friendly enough, although the first thing that was said was we had the other half of the bill to pay and could we do that now. That made me feel there was a lack of confidence in the accommodation that may lead some to leave and look elsewhere - hence the early request for full payment to avoid this happening.
Indeed the room was clean and tidy in all the right places such as bedding and bathroom, but windows walls and furniture were falling to bits or stained.
We ate in the pub and the food and service was good - clearly the pub is first and foremost and the accomodation a secondary concern. There was no breakfast available unless you waited until 11am where an all day breakfast could be purchased in opening hours of the pub.
For £34 per night we were satisfied as we have not found a London price that beats it unless it is a hostel, but we could not recommend it as those minor improvements appear they will never be made.
It is worth noting that we would never stay here if an event was on at Wembley, as we fear carnage.

Reviewed by
Ben G

From Plymouth, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good value for money.

Reviewed by
A Ho

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next