Luther King House

2

Brighton Grove off Wilmslow Road, Manchester, M14 5JP

Price From 57.87 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (275)

83% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • Robert H

  • March 2015

Great in the day

Good clean en suite accommodation.

Excellent breakfast included in a great price. 2 minutes from a bus stop into the city (cost £1). Reception staff friendly and knowledgeable. Very quiet surroundings. However, I was seriously disturbed by a group of young people in the stairwell and one room close to mine from 4am to 5am. I requested them to keep it quiet and had no success. I reported it to the night porter who had serious difficulty with them for nearly an hour. I would suggest the house needs to sort out that issue, and that is why I would not recommend it to my friends as yet, though I would stay here again

  • A MacDonald

  • March 2015

A rather disappointing stay

The outside of the building was nice and most of the staff were friendly.

The room however was very run down. The sheets were worn and the woodwork around the sink is splintering from water damage. The parts of the room that were on the cleaning cycle were spotless, but there were remains of cobwebs on the roof, and the showerhead had black mould growing on it. I was most disappointed with breakfast that consisted of serial, scrambled eggs and toast, boiled eggs, or pastries.

  • M Mohammed

  • February 2015

MORE ALLERGY OPTIONS

People who are lactose free should be provided with dairy free food

  • Kirsty B

  • February 2015

Fantastic location and food

Rooms were very basic similar to halls of risidence but adequate and we slept well as it was quiet which is the main thing.

The breakfast was lovely, fantastic choice on the continental side and we ordered 2 cooked breakfasts aswel for 5 pounds each and you got two of everything good quality and very tasty. Would recommend and hopefully be back. The location is fab just outside the curry mile and local shops

  • Helen W

  • February 2015

Lovely place, just right for me.

  • Anne M

  • February 2015

Oasis in the City

I really enjoyed my stay here.

I stayed because I was on a three day course at the venue. It's a community theology college and the library is a treasure chest of interesting books that are theology based. The room are adequate and what you might expect in a college type setting; they are kept very clean by hard working domestic staff. All staff were friendly and helpful, particularly Martin (customer services skills 5 star) and Vicki (who was very polite, helpful and responsive to my request for a room with a bath). All staff I dealt with were polite, friendly and helpful. The food was good value for money, I had both an evening meal and lunch on one day. Breakfast was fab with a feast of good things to eat. For anyone trying to stay healthy, be warned that in the morning you will be faced with Martin trying to entice you with the chocolate muffins and other calorific but delicious looking foods. I am pleased to say I didn't succumb but other people on my course were unable to resist Martin's charms and ate more than they had planned to. For those looking for healthier options, they won't be disappointed as there was fresh fruit salad, yoghurts and muesli. There is a large park with a lake in the middle just across the road if you need to walk or jog off your excesses. I have another two days of my course to complete and I will not be missing out on the opportunity to stay there again.

  • Z Martin

  • February 2015

Luther King House

Good value for money, impressed with the breakfast.

  • Naeem Raza

  • February 2015

Value for money

Clean, adequate, and quiet space.

  • Naeem Raza

  • February 2015

Value for money

Clean, adequate, and quiet space.

  • corinne a

  • February 2015

Great Value For money but Noisy Room

Room 422 - Fantastic accommodation for one night.

Most comfortable bed I have ever slept in and most incredible continental breakfast for the cost. Downside was the noise. The plumbing for the toilet was in the bedroom and was noisy for 10 minted after flushing.

Also the man next door set his alarm for 5.45am. I heard it very clearly, walls must be thin. He then banged on the door of his friend in the room the other side of me. From reading other comments on my return, a room on the first floor may have been better. The receptionist was friendly but both on a late shift and morning a lovely welcoming smile would have been nice.

Overall, GREAT for the cost. And would stay again.