Reviews - Luther King House


Brighton Grove off Wilmslow Road, Manchester, M14 5JP

Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (188)

82% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • Kelly B

  • August 2015

Decent room and an excellent breakfast!

The bed was comfy and the room was generally clean but a couple of areas could still do with a further clean and personally I would have just got rid of the lampshade on the bedside table.

Saying that, the staff were lovely, the ensuite shower was decent and the breakfast was fab. We had the continental and there was a great selection.

  • R Withers

  • July 2015

Great experience

I went to this same hotel last year and enjoyed the stay as I did this year, it's great value and a relaxing stay I will be coming again next year for sure.

  • Vijay K

  • July 2015

Luther King House

Clean comfortable reasonably priced hotel in the city centre.

  • Saffron Thomas

  • July 2015

Room was tidy but quite shabby.

The noise from the toilet was unbearable (room 402) so not much sleep was had.

  • Carmen W

  • July 2015

Very convenient to where I go to work.

I have stayed at Luther King a few times and although the place needs refurbishing it is good value for money but unfortunately last time I stayed the shower in my room did not work and plumbing made an awful racket.

Then I noticed that the mattress was filthy with no mattress cover on it and badly fitted sheets. It did put me off a bit I had to use a towel so that I didn't put my face on the mattress as I do not use pillows. I would stay there again if I had to but only because of its convenience.

  • Gary E

  • July 2015


Slow customer service at reception.

More interested with her computer than guests. Arrived at my room to find my card key was faulty and could not gain entry. Took back to reception and tried again and it was still faulty, Third time lucky with a new card key. Finally in my room to find a basic room. Very small shower/ toilet room. £10 cheaper on than their own (luther King House) web site. Went to what was the MEN Arena and came back just after 11pm. No problems until the early hours when a loud talking male came back followed by a door slamming contest with his mates. After limited sleep Idecided to have a shower. It was either freezing cold or boiling hot with nothing in between. On booking out of the place was like booking in, more interested in the computer than the customer. Just felt I was being ignored.

  • Karen Nash

  • July 2015

Good Value

Good Value accommodation.

Room very basic and in need of some repair. Bed very comfortable and linen clean. Continental breakfast substantial with plenty of choice. Breakfast Manager helpful and friendly. Plenty of parking; 2.5 miles from City Centre but good bus service outside accommodation.

  • Michael M

  • June 2015

Luther King House

Quiet but still very close to vibrant curry mile

  • Angela R

  • June 2015

Cheap and cheerful

I have stayed here several times now.

It is fine if you are on your own and need a quiet night without distractions. This is a student hall of residence which lets out spare rooms. There is a library which guests can browse if they wish and a cloister garden where you can sit and chill.

  • P Roscoe

  • June 2015

Clean, Comfortable and Quiet

The room was clean, comfortable, and quiet.

The window in our room was obviously old and needed replacing as the frame was rotting, however this did not put us off. Staff were efficient and very friendly. The continental breakfast was great, much better that we expected. We would definitely stay here again.