No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The New Continental Hotel

3AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Millbay Road , Plymouth, PL1 3LD

Simply the Guest Awards Winner


Based on 100% genuine guest reviews in our 2012 awards.

The New Continental is Plymouth’s largest independent hotel, ideally located in the heart of the city, adjacent to Plymouth Pavilions and just moments away from Plymouth’s Historic Waterfront. The New Continental is within walking distance of all local attractions, including The Theatre Royal, National Marine Aquarium, Plymouth Gin Distillery, The Barbican, Plymouth Hoe and Royal William Yard. This Victorian property combines traditional features with modern facilities, with 99 individually decorated bedrooms, an in-house brasserie, an onsite Leisure Complex with a swimming pool, steam room, sauna and a fully equipped weights room and cardiovascular gym. As a long standing local business, the New Continental is a proud supporter of local enterprise where it strives to support local food suppliers, culminating in a modern British menu with a European influence. We are now a free Wi-Fi Zone.
Picture of The New Continental Hotel, Plymouth at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 151 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
79% recommended this accommodation to a friend 81% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Had a great weekend break ,this hotel is excellent value with so many extra's , so clean ,roomy good food and we travelled by train and walked everywhere of interest was close by good location very central .

Reviewed by
a k

From , England
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely hotel and staff
Myself and my partner stayed for 2 nights and found the customer service absolutely lovely. The hotel is in a good location the leisure facilities are good we enjoyed these could do with an upgrade I think but the staff there were friendly and helpful. The only downside to our trip was not feeling welcome at a particular restaurant at the Barbican we didn't stay the manner in which we were addressed was not pleasant. However we didn't let it spoil our first evening.

Reviewed by
Karen S

From Surrey, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

An enjoyable experience. Staff very efficient and friendly.

Reviewed by
Richard Gething

From Ross on Wye, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Just Fine
Great location for the Pavilions and walking distance to the city. Wetherspoons very handy too for breakfast!

Reviewed by
ron e

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Ok
Reception staff were very helpful and friendly. The room was comfortable and clean
The leisure staff were not well presented not professional in manner. One member of staff looked far too casual for staff and not in a 'gym' way. The towel she gave me didn't smell nice.
The steam room didn't smell very nice either.
Another came out of the gym very sweaty blow his nose on his t shirt and then was behind the counter. Yuck !
The breakfast was ok .. We arrived at about 9.15 am
The staff hung around our table. At one time there were five staff making up 3 table. The would clear and lay one space and then return to the same tables either side of us repeatedly.
No chance of a private chat and not relaxing.
This Hotel is ok but I think you can get better for the price

Reviewed by
J Kenyon

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellen stay
Me and my husband stayed here for one night along with another couple of friends. Our room was fantastic. It was clinically clean, smelt fresh and had everything we needed. The bed and pillows were extremely comfortable.
There room was lovely and quite heard no noise from other guests or even anything from outside.
When we visit Plymouth again (which we do regularly) we will be staying here without a doubt.
Also we went for an evening out in Plymouth and when we returned the hotel bar was shut but the kind man on reception gladly opened up and allowed us to purchase a night cap.

Reviewed by
jamie s

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Extremely comfortable
Really good service from reception staff. Clean, stylish, spacious and very comfortable room.

Reviewed by
Helen W

From Camborne, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great city centre location
Clean, friendly, good location. Pre-theatre supper was excellent quality and great value for money.

Reviewed by
Lesley P

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very welcoming stay
The hotel looked lovely as soon as we pulled up. We were tired and in need of a hot shower after a horrible journey down and we were met by the nicest receptionist ever! She was a breath of fresh air and very welcoming g, nothing was too much trouble. Our room was lovely and welcoming. The staff at breakfast were very cheerful and the food in the dining room was excellent. Would definitely stay there again. We were sad to leave .

Reviewed by
susan cox

From Stafford, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent Customer Service
Excellent customer service from staff at the Hotel with particular reference given to the reception staff. A generous size room with an excellent standard of cleanliness - an extremely comfortable bed resulted in 2 great nights sleep. Swimming pool and gym were an added bonus.
Hotel is ideally situated for exploring Plymouth and the surrounding areas.

Reviewed by
Sandra S

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next