No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The New Continental Hotel

3AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Millbay Road , Plymouth, PL1 3LD
The New Continental is Plymouth’s largest independent hotel, ideally located in the heart of the city, adjacent to Plymouth Pavilions and just moments away from Plymouth’s Historic Waterfront. The New Continental is within walking distance of all local attractions, including The Theatre Royal, National Marine Aquarium, Plymouth Gin Distillery, The Barbican, Plymouth Hoe and Royal William Yard. This Victorian property combines traditional features with modern facilities, with 99 individually decorated bedrooms, an in-house brasserie, an onsite Leisure Complex with a swimming pool, steam room, sauna and a fully equipped weights room and cardiovascular gym. As a long standing local business, the New Continental is a proud supporter of local enterprise where it strives to support local food suppliers, culminating in a modern British menu with a European influence. We are now a free Wi-Fi Zone.
Picture of The New Continental Hotel, Plymouth at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 185 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
80% recommended this accommodation to a friend 82% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Just a short break
Just a one night get away in Feb booked on the spur of the moment. Our room was on the first floor and was a bit of a walk along never ending corridors with a couple of small sets of stairs. The room was basic but very clean, warm and quiet so no complaints there. Only small complaint was the bar that didn't open until 5pm and was not the best quality draught beer. The food in the bar downstairs was top quality and good value as was the breakfast. Overall really good value for money and an idea place for us to stay, not so sure it would be so suitable for a young family

Reviewed by
Robert E

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We had a fantastic stay in the hotel. I requested a quiet room with nice view and this is what we got. There was no noise from the streets and the room was large and of an excellent standard. we will return.

Reviewed by
Julia T

From UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The New Continental Hotel
Good sized room, very comfortable bed.
More toiletries in the bathroom would have been appreciated- very basic soap dispenser and no shampoo.

Reviewed by
J Watkins

From Brecon, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A great night away
Great hotel and facilities. Ideal for a theatre break. Centrally located for easy access to the city.

Reviewed by
Shaun H

From Redruth, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely overnight stay
Really nice, clean accommodation. Enjoyed our stay and would definitely go back there again!

Reviewed by
Sandra Hunt

From Tiverton, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent value, great location
We stayed for 2 nights and were very pleased with all aspects of the hotel. The staff were friendly, the rooms were good quality and clean. The pool was great and the location of hotel perfect.

Reviewed by
m jones

From UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Food
Restaurant exceptionally high standard but the breakfast just ok

Reviewed by
jane pitman

From Taunton, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The four poster bed room 114
my wife and I stayed at the new continental hotel on sat 31 Jan 2015. We had tickets for the theatre and wanted to make a night of it. We booked the luxury four post bed with whirlpool bath room (114)and was very happy with it. The room was very spacious and tidy. was it old fashioned? yes, its an old hotel! were the windows noisy? yes its an old hotel!(wedges are provided to stop the old style windows banging in the wind), could you hear the traffic outside? yes its in the town centre! we knew all these things before hand and I for one thought it added to the character of the building.
we didn't eat dinner but breakfast was included and we enjoyed the cooked breakfast.

Reviewed by
Mark D

From Plymouth, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Have stayed in better
The room was nothing special, view from the window was of a wall and shabby window. When booking weren't told that some rooms didn't have a view.
Air vent in the bathroom kept knocking all night. Not sure if someone had slept in the bed before us, but found a black hair on the nice white sheets.

Reviewed by
Ian F

From Taunton, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

New continental hotel
Booked on late rooms.com arrived to find given a family room great views lovely and clean also stocked up on tea / coffee facilities. Everyone very helpful and friendly would definitely stay again.

Reviewed by
Pauline J

From Chard, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next