No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Garth Hotel

1Self Classified Bed and Breakfast Ratings explained
69 Gower Steet, Bloomsbury, Central London Bloomsbury, London, WC1E 6HJ
Set in the heart of elegant Bloomsbury, the Garth Hotel is only a few minutes walk from The British Museum and within easy walking distance of Oxford Street and Covent Garden for shopping, Soho for Chinese food and Theatreland. Also nearby are Trafalgar Square and the National Art Gallery, as is Regent's Park with London Zoo. Other famous landmarks such as the London Eye, St. Pauls Cathedral, Tower Bridge and Buckingham Palace are easily reached via public transport or leisurely walking.

There are many museums and art galleries nearby and within a short bus ride are Sotheby's and Christies, the famous auctioneers. Also nearby are Portobello Road and Camden Passage for those interested in antiques and fine art, and Camden market, a trendy and popular place for the young at the weekend.

The hotel itself, is a small, privately owned hotel in Bloomsbury, the district of Central London famous as the home of 'The Bloomsbury Set', a group of authors that included Virginia Wolf and E. M. Forster. Built around 1800, the building is a Grade II listed Georgian town house of historical interest. It was the birthplace in 1839 of William De Morgan, the famous potter.

We pride ourselves on the warm and friendly atmosphere at The Garth, and have established a reputation for our hospitality, which has brought back the same guests year after year. The rooms and public areas are decorated with numerous paintings, photographs and prints to create an art gallery effect.

The 18 bedrooms are equipped with tea and coffee making facilities and a hairdryer. Included in the price is full English breakfast and a choice of breakfast cereals and preserves.
Picture of The Garth Hotel, London at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 61 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
36% recommended this accommodation to a friend 40% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very basic, average stay
No toilet in the room - this wasn't mentioned in the room description. Had to go past the reception or up 2 flights of stairs to the nearest shared toilet. Very small room with no full length mirror.
The staff were lovely & the location was good. Shower & sink in the room (no ensuite! ) & coffee/tea & hairdryer in the room were handy. Breakfast average.

Reviewed by
J perry

From UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Paid area price only
The accomodation is well below the "poverty line" ie the old broken Victoria's style furniture , carpets etc was very very substandard however the staff was cooperative and friendly in particular Cantonese gentleman.

Reviewed by
S S

From England
Who stayed in February 2015

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good enough for a budget hotel
I stayed at this budget hotel for 3 nights for a conference. It was one of the cheapest rooms available in central London. Despite very negative previous reviews, the room was clean, with a useful private shower and basin. The bed was a little saggy, but I could get a good night's rest. The breakfast was sufficient and of good enough quality for a room of this price. All the staff I encountered were very friendly and helpful. I would stay here again.

Reviewed by
H Cilliers

From UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

terrible
The room was small with an ensuite shower. There was no hot water to have a shower. There was no wardrobe to store clothes just a coat hanger. The location was central so the charge was excessive but didnt reflect the quality of the hotel.

Reviewed by
arif s

From Preston, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A basic, but friendly guesthouse
Given some of the reviews on other sites, we were somewhat apprehensive about our stay. However, we were pleasantly surprised.
We both had rooms on the ground floor, one en-suite and one not. As we were only staying one night we didn't inspect the rooms to the same degree as we might have if we were staying for longer, but the bedding was clean and fresh and the washing/toilet facilities were clean and functioning.
The staff were friendly and courteous and the breakfast was of good quality for the price.
The building, fixtures and fittings would benefit from refurbishment, but this would obviously then be reflected in the price per night.
if you are looking for a cheap, central location, you could do a lot worse.

Reviewed by
Rachel F

From UK
Who stayed in January 2015

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good budget hotel
As a budget hotel, which we'd booked in the knowledge that we'd be sharing a bathroom, we didn't have very high expectations, so were very pleased to find we'd been given an en-suite room when we arrived.
The hotel is typical budget, it needs a bit of TLC - some of the tiles in the small bathroom were cracked and there was a gap under the door to the room where either the floor or walls aren't quite a at 90 degree to each other, but for what we'd paid we were perfectly happy with it.
The staff were polite and helpful and there were complementary shower gel etc (I was happy as they state 'not tested on animals' which is important to me)
Beds were comfortable, although, as the room faced on the main road, I found it quite noisy through the night (but that's true of lots of places as I'm used to it being quiet at night)
Breakfast was included and involved self serve for cereals, coffee and juice and cooked breakfast being brought to the table - veggie 'English' was egg, beans and a few mushrooms, plus toast.
If you're looking for a cheaper place to stay for a few nights, try it, we'd use it again if we are in the area.

Reviewed by
Pat P

From Hinckley, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

good place
Perfect for what you need. The room and toilet were clean and tidy. Comfy bed and polite staff. Very nice place to stay. Warm and cosy. So pleased.

Reviewed by
L Evans

From UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

tired and jaded ...
Tired lovely old building needing investment although quite clean. Tiny bathroom with no cold water from basin tap . Unable to adjust height of shower as taping presented this so had to hold shower head. The shower hot tap fell off. The toilet system was loose on the wall.
The decor was mismatched and looked faded and old. The net curtsin was dirty. Bed ok. Pleasant well cooked breakfast. Staff courteous and helpful.

Reviewed by
P M

From Broadstairs, England
Who stayed in November 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

none
none

Reviewed by
neil sharp

From Nottingham, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

One night stand
If you need a room just to sleep in over night while you are attending an activity in central london and there is no other place or can not afford one of the major chain hotel then there might be justification in this place. I am not sure of all rooms, but the room I stayed in number 14 in the attic was too small for double bed and definitely not worth the price . It should have had in it a single bed and a comfortable chair to sit on. Instead it was filled up with a double bed and no space or chair to sit but the bed. the light bulb of shaver did not work, the shower trickled down. The bedding had peculiar smell, musty dusty. The night receptionist was pleasant and welcoming; The breakfast staff smiling and welcoming; the breakfast was diverse. In summary staff were good but the place is not worth it. I shall not stay here in future.

Reviewed by
a bajalan

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next