The Garth Hotel

1

69 Gower Steet, Bloomsbury, Central London Bloomsbury, London, WC1E 6HJ

Price From 137.16 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

All reviews (58)

41% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • C Cowings

  • April 2015

The nearest toilet was two flights of stairs - the hall light was switched off at night so I could not see where I was going.

Very thin wall between my room and the room next door.

  • G Smith

  • April 2015

The Garth Hotel

The mattress was too small for the bed and the bed was on a slope.

There was mould and mildew on the wall by the hand basin. Room was extremely hot and smelt damp and of fried food. When we went out for the evening we had to leave the window open as the room smelt so bad. All in all not pleasant.

  • Gary M

  • April 2015

Low Budget, Low Quality - Great Location

Quite simply, this hotel is low budget and low quality.

Poorly furnished, poorly maintained hotel. Poor in just about every department but clean as far as I dared venture as I didnt use either toilet or shower facilities as neither were en suite. If you want somewhere to lay your head and thats about it - then go for it, location is great for theatres. Smelled too which took a while to get used to.

Breakfast and staff however were both very nice.

  • P CLARKE

  • March 2015

Was fine

Small room , only just length of small single bed, but nice and clean and a nice quiet sleep, good location.

Friendly , efficient staff. Enjoyed the brekky . Thank you for my pleasant stay. Would choose again.

  • A Ellis

  • March 2015

Would use again...

Rang the hotel before going to London to ask about parking.

Staff were friendly and helpful, 24hr parking for £23 within walking distance. Arrived at 10.30pm and was greeted by a friendly member of staff. Our room was on the top floor, 3 flights of stairs which turned out to be my exercise for the day. No lift available.

Room was clean with tea, coffee etc. TV also. Ensuite bathroom... My bed and pillows were comfortable, my colleagues said their beds weren't too bad.

  • D Browne

  • February 2015

Good value 2* hotel - very friendly staff

If you want an inexpensive hotel in London, then 2* it will be.

The staff very friendly and the food very good. Whilst basic and quite small, the room was clean and I got a good nights sleep. For one inexpensive night in London this was pretty good.

  • H Cilliers

  • February 2015

Good enough for a budget hotel

I stayed at this budget hotel for 3 nights for a conference.

It was one of the cheapest rooms available in central London. Despite very negative previous reviews, the room was clean, with a useful private shower and basin. The bed was a little saggy, but I could get a good night's rest. The breakfast was sufficient and of good enough quality for a room of this price. All the staff I encountered were very friendly and helpful. I would stay here again.

  • J perry

  • February 2015

Very basic, average stay

No toilet in the room - this wasn't mentioned in the room description.

Had to go past the reception or up 2 flights of stairs to the nearest shared toilet. Very small room with no full length mirror. The staff were lovely & the location was good. Shower & sink in the room (no ensuite. ) & coffee/tea & hairdryer in the room were handy. Breakfast average.

  • S S

  • February 2015

Paid area price only

The accomodation is well below the "poverty line" ie the old broken Victoria's style furniture , carpets etc was very very substandard however the staff was cooperative and friendly in particular Cantonese gentleman.

  • arif s

  • February 2015

terrible

The room was small with an ensuite shower.

There was no hot water to have a shower. There was no wardrobe to store clothes just a coat hanger. The location was central so the charge was excessive but didnt reflect the quality of the hotel.