No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Garth Hotel

1Self Classified Bed and Breakfast Ratings explained
69 Gower Steet, Bloomsbury, Central London Bloomsbury, London, WC1E 6HJ
Set in the heart of elegant Bloomsbury, the Garth Hotel is only a few minutes walk from The British Museum and within easy walking distance of Oxford Street and Covent Garden for shopping, Soho for Chinese food and Theatreland. Also nearby are Trafalgar Square and the National Art Gallery, as is Regent's Park with London Zoo. Other famous landmarks such as the London Eye, St. Pauls Cathedral, Tower Bridge and Buckingham Palace are easily reached via public transport or leisurely walking.

There are many museums and art galleries nearby and within a short bus ride are Sotheby's and Christies, the famous auctioneers. Also nearby are Portobello Road and Camden Passage for those interested in antiques and fine art, and Camden market, a trendy and popular place for the young at the weekend.

The hotel itself, is a small, privately owned hotel in Bloomsbury, the district of Central London famous as the home of 'The Bloomsbury Set', a group of authors that included Virginia Wolf and E. M. Forster. Built around 1800, the building is a Grade II listed Georgian town house of historical interest. It was the birthplace in 1839 of William De Morgan, the famous potter.

We pride ourselves on the warm and friendly atmosphere at The Garth, and have established a reputation for our hospitality, which has brought back the same guests year after year. The rooms and public areas are decorated with numerous paintings, photographs and prints to create an art gallery effect.

The 18 bedrooms are equipped with tea and coffee making facilities and a hairdryer. Included in the price is full English breakfast and a choice of breakfast cereals and preserves.
Picture of The Garth Hotel, London at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 82 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
36% recommended this accommodation to a friend 40% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly & Basic B&B
This hotel is ideal for a cheap weekend away. It is situated in the best part of London, and only 5 minutes walk to the theatres.
Bedroom was small, but fine for what we wanted.
Breakfast was excellent.
Staff were extremely friendly.
Will I use this hotel again? Definitely Yes

Reviewed by
D Dollochin

From Daventry, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Booked On The Cheap + Quick via Trainline site ..
I booked this hotel along with my train ticket off of the Trainline web site. I was in room 1b, its in the basement right next to reception. On the good side, its cheap , breakfast was above average , staff went the extra mile to help , the place was clean and quiet. Down side - this was the smallest room I've ever had ! -- I had my own shower but shared a toilet - didn't see any one else use it , but it was shared all the same. Its also worth noting that you need to be good getting up and down stairs, there was an old dear in residence that was struggling with them as there is no lift.
This hotel is old and tired , but was clean and friendly over the two nights I stayed.

Reviewed by
J Peden

From England
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Value for money
Good, clean basic hotel. Provides everything necessary for somewhere to stay in Central London without the high prices charged at other nearby hotels. Within walking distance of most main attractions. Room was small, no twin bed room available, very small double bed, no en suite and no lift to rooms. But you get what you pay for.

Reviewed by
S K

From , England
Who stayed in July 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

you get what you pay for
Cheap hotel, two toilets and 1 shower (which didn't drain) between 36 guests. Room very small and hot. Room was clean, bathroom and toilets were not. However, staff were very nice.

Reviewed by
Laura S

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very basic
Was supposed to be on suite but had to go through corridor and down the stairs to get to toilet and shower. Very basic but cheap and close to/easy access for what we needed.

Reviewed by
L White

From Boston, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Never again
Unfortunately the hotel was in dire need of a makeover. My room had broken curtains, broken window latches, broken shower, tiny sink, nasty toilet, unbelievably hot room and on the top floor with no lift. I am sure the staff do their best but this accommodation is not appropriate for paying guests.

Reviewed by
jason r

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A general overall view.
Hotel looks ok from outside until you look at the windows they are really dirty. Our room was a double en-suite you couldn't swim a cat ! No plug for the very iny sink. Curtains in the room were filthy the only good thing was that the bedding and towels were clean. The hotel needs a general deep, deep clean and update, although the breakfast room was passable. Wouldn't return.

Reviewed by
B Dobson

From Liverpool, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Tourists in our own country
We came for a 3 day break to be tourists in our own capital city. The Garth Hotel was ideally situated for us between Kings Cross station and the British Museum with a bus direct to Trafalgar Square. Our room was comfortable and breakfast very good with quick and pleasant service.

Reviewed by
P S

From , England
Who stayed in May 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Thames cruise
Had a thames cruise booked, this hotel was ideal for us, was within walking distance.
Good full English breakfast, Lincolnshire sausages.
Best Regards
Les

Reviewed by
Les Bristowe

From Spalding, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not good
Small room and very noisy in the next room till 4.30 in the morning on Friday night saturday .Told the staff, said that thay will have a word with them .But it all started again on saturday night till about 3.30 sunday morning again. Had about 6 hours sleep all weekend ,will not stay at that hotel again.

Reviewed by
Jennifer A

From UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 Next