No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Maldron Hotel & Leisure Centre Tallaght

Whitestown Way , Dublin 24, Dublin 24
Located in Tallaght town centre, 3 min walk to the ‘Tallaght’ Luas stop and the Square shopping centre. Complimentary car parking, leisure centre and Wifi for all guests. Dublin city centre is approximately a 30 minute journey on the Luas.

This newly opened modern and stylish hotel is situated across from the Shamrock Rovers Football Stadium, consisting of 119 bedrooms some of which enjoy views of the Dublin Mountains and all with wall to ceiling glass windows or balconies.

Stir Bar and Restaurant offers an extensive all day dining menu and shows all major sporting events on the big screen.
This hotel boasts of 8 conference rooms which can cater up to 350 delegates.


Picture of Maldron Hotel & Leisure Centre Tallaght, Dublin 24 at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since February 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 20 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
74% recommended this accommodation to a friend 78% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Hotel Midweek - Not at Weekend
Our 4 night stay at the hotel was very enjoyable until the last night which was a Saturday. We arrived at the restaurant at 8pm to have our usual dinner but were told that the restaurant had stopped serving hot food at 7pm because there had been a corporate event on during the day. We complained to the reception and the hotel manager got involved and told us that there was actually hot food being sold. We sat down and made our choices from the menu but were told by the hotel manager that he would need to check that the choices were available. This rang alarm bells with us but fortunately our choices were available. However when my "gourmet" beef burger arrived it was anything but gourmet! The edges of the burger were rock hard. It had clearly been cooked earlier in the day and then reheated resulting in serious overcooking. I complained to the waiter and was asked if I wanted anything else from the menu but by this time it was late and I just wanted to get out. I have had the gourmet beef burger earlier in the week and it was excellent as was my food on other days. On this particular day it seemed to me that the kitchen was actually closed and that the chef had been "forced" to produce some food for us and ended up serving us something which even a pig would not eat. If I were a professional chef I would be ashamed to serve that. My advice to anyone wanting to stay at the hotel is that during the week it's very good but at the weekend it cares more about it's corporate events than it's residents. If you must stay at the weekend make sure that you don't eat in the restaurant.

Reviewed by
Ian B

From Stockport, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Staff & Room
On my booking it said supierior room which it wasnt was two beds pushed together which made the 2 nights sleep very comfortable the room was very small as it was we also requested a balcony then when we got to the room we were on the bottom floor facing a block of apartments. When i was checkin in the staff wernt very friendly an a bit rude. It was my 1st and last time i would ever stay there the reason we were there was to have a look for a venue for our wedding! There was not a chance i was going to enquire about it after the first 10 minutes of been there, due to the check in and then the service and after checking the room i went down to ask could we change and we were told no. Then on the last day i rang reception for a late check out and i was told it was 40 Euros until 2 o clock, i was shocked! So we packed and checked out by 11.50 am then the girl at the desk told me it was 20 euros until 6pm i had already packed an had my lift on the way.

Reviewed by
J Downey

From Republic of Ireland
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Enjoyed ourselves would go back again

Reviewed by
R Burke

From Cork, Republic of Ireland
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Dublin stay
Hotel was very nice staff were excellent really enjoyed our stay

Reviewed by
Kevin Toal

From Ulverston, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

breakfast was not included in the price of the room

Reviewed by
M O'Flynn

From Republic of Ireland
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Really lovely hotel, quite a distance from Dublin city center, but the LUAS station is a few minutes walk away and is really efficient. Buy a 72 hour Leap Card for 20 Euros which you can use all the public transport in Dublin for the best value.

Reviewed by
S Gledhill

From Halifax, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Tatty, noisy and would not recommend - tried to move to another hotel!
The hotel is on an extremely busy road and it is very hot in the building which means you need to open a window or door onto a balcony. Great, but the noise was intolerable. The balconies are divided by some flimsy structure which does not completely block the gap and we had folk outside on their balcony smoking which allowed for the smoke to blow straight into our room.
The entire hotel is tatty and tired. The chairs in the restaurant are worn through, wherever you look there are broken things e.g. Light fixtures, door handles hanging off. A lot of patching up has been done. Chairs are badly marked and stained, I felt like I did not want to sit on any of them
The breakfast area was filthy. The cover over the hot food was so dirty and more than one day which shows it was not cleaned. There was tacky spilt juice on the counter, again both days.....just dirty.
The breakfast was fair, the hot food had been there for ages and was not appetising at all? Ask for poached eggs me as they were good opposed to eating fried / scramble eggs that looked like rubber.
The evening pub meal was reasonable.
What I must add is the staff were very friendly in particular a I young lady from Cameroon - very friendly and helpful as was the duty manager. We had to change our room as the lock of the balcony door in out initial room was hanging by one very small screw. They changed our room and were very apologetic.
Finally, I did not feel safe walking in huge area after dark with my daughter ( I am not neurotic either!) but as the car hire lady commented..."the rough side of town"

Reviewed by
Wendy-Ann G

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

I was on the top floor the heat was unbearable. Had to open window but that had its own problems . I was kept up by the sounds of sirens several times. I think the hotel was nice but in the wrong location. Will not use their again will go somewhere quiet.

Reviewed by
Bobby W

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hotel
Hotel staff were lovely ... Small hiccup at start but management soon had it resolved

Reviewed by
M Byrne

From Newry, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good hotel, although more for business not pleasure. Food was excellent at the restaurant

Reviewed by
Sean C

From Belfast, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next