Reviews - The Ickworth Hotel & Apartments

4

Ickworth, Bury St Edmunds, IP29 5QE

Price From 457.26 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (14)

93% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • peter webb

  • July 2015

Great family hotel

Fantastic stay highly recommend, very child friendly and excellent staff base

  • john w

  • July 2015

Charming and Lovely

Charming place to stay and lovely receptionist, delightful.

  • D Miles

  • April 2015

Rennactment Weekend

We booked to stay at the hotle rather than camp in the grounds for a busy weekends historical reenacmtnet event.

As such we did not have time to enjoy the wide range of facilities on offer at the hotel. The facilities and grounds make this an ideal place to simply 'chill out' and recharge the batteries.

  • B Howarth

  • December 2014

Beautiful Hotel in a beautiful setting

We had a lovely stay, staff were very helpful and friendly, room clean and spacious, enjoyed a cycle around the grounds before relaxing in the pool.

Didn't make use of the restaurant for dinner but did enjoy a snack lunch in the lounge. Sadly the visit was marred by the debacle of breakfast, quality of food was not good, think the order must have been mislaid as it took 40mins to get poached egg on toast, when it arrived it was basically 2 eggs on a slice of supermarket white bread - nothing special considering the quality of the hotel, orange juice had run out, no glasses anyway, selection of mini pastries was decimated when we got there and not refilled. The 'value for money' and 'quality of food' are a reflection on the breakfast only.

  • Clifford S

  • December 2014

Elegant luxury treat

Beautiful setting,comfy, luxury room, Artisan Whiskies, open fires, elegant unrushed breakfasts (families still asleep), with great breakfasts and good service.

Recommended as a treat and something quite different from business hotels.

  • Derek A

  • October 2014

Attentive

The hotel provide an exceptional service for families with young children.

  • H St johnston

  • October 2014

Fabulous

The Ickworth is really aimed at people with youngish children and is fantastically catered in that direction.

We were without children and had forgotten it was half term, so the places was packed with small people, and most of the public areas had children rolling around, but somehow this just added to the general atmosphere of conviviality. We had the pool to ourselves (at 6pm) the gardens were gloriously empty, and bicycles (free) to explore the extensive gounds. Delicious food in the Conservatory, delectable breakfast and friendly staff. Ickworth is just the most delightful hotel.

  • G Garside

  • October 2014

The hotel had character

The room was clean but was tired and need redecoration.

The bathroom was clean but quite basic.

  • Christopher B

  • September 2014

A lovely place to stay with friendly staff let down by very average food

The Hotel is great.

Very family friendly. Good rooms. Friendly and attentive staff.

The food however is poor. We dined in the family dining room. The food was that of a not very good gastro pub. A boring menu. Nothing inspiring and not very well done. Just because we are eating with our children does not mean we want burgers, fish cakes or curries. Breakfast was very similar.

A real shame and something which often lets down English hotels (and yes...we are English so I'm not having any sort of cultural dig but in our experience it's the case).

Would like to say we would return but only if they sort out the food.

  • Janet Hill

  • August 2014

wonderful experience

We had a lovely time here staying in one wing if a stately home.

With a super breakfast in the conservatory to start the day being on site for Ickworth House was excellent. The atmosphere in the hotel is very relaxed but efficient and attentive.