No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - De Vere Venues Wokefield Park

4Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Goodboys Lane , Reading, RG7 3AH
Set in 250 acres of landscaped gardens, De Vere Venues Wokefield Park boasts
an 18-hole championship golf course with 9 lakes and mature trees. An indoor
swimming pool.  Free Wi-Fi are
also available throughout. Rooms are located in either the sleek Executive
Centre or in the elegant Mansion House and each room has stylish décor. An a
la carte menu is served in the Mansion House¹s modern Maple restaurant,
along with a hot and cold buffet is available in the Steam, Bake & Grill
restaurant.

Fishing and an outdoor ropes course are available within hotel grounds - This is ran by an external company (Graham Robb) and is chargeable. A
professional golf shop and practice golf facilities are also available
on-site. Wokefield Park is convenient for Heathrow Airport and offers fast
rail links to London (Paddington and Waterloo) from nearby Reading and easy
access to the M3 and M4, 10 minutes from Reading town centre boasts the
Oracle Shopping Centre and Madjeski Football Stadium. Legoland, Basildon
Park & Windsor Castle are within 30 miles.
Picture of De Vere Venues Wokefield Park, Reading at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 199 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
77% recommended this accommodation to a friend 79% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hotel looked nice, gym disappointing, food horrendous...
Hotel look sgood, nice reception, free coffee, staff were also fine.
The facilities - Pool - straight from the 1970's, Gym was a corner room with 2xbikes, 2x running machines, 2x weight machines and a ball.
Bar - looked nice, good polite service
Food - Shocking. I went for fish and chips with mushy peas. I got burnt batter fish, undercooked solid chips and a centimeter of mushy peas in a ramakin that had been over microwaved by about an hour! I asked if the food was checked before it was brought out and was told the chef thought it was fine. I did not.

Reviewed by
D Green

From Nottingham, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Helpful and friendly staff but soulless place.
Imagine an over-grown Travel Lodge bolted onto a new-style further education college plonked in the middle of a municipal golf course and you've got the picture! Bland, soulless and impersonal.
Poor quality food offer and over-priced bar.
Staff were very helpful though - even though bill was seriously cocked-up but soon rectified.
Stayed in the "Executive Centre" so didn't sample food in the smarter restaurant in a remote building.

Reviewed by
David G

From UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Disappointing stay
I had emailed Wokefield prior to arrival asking if we could stay in the Mansion House rather than the new building. No reply to my email and when we arrived couldnt find the reception and no staff to ask for advice. Eventually found a bar but the two men "serving" were too busy talking to each other and after a couple of minutes being ignored continued to wander round and eventually found the reception. Female receptionist was polite but told me she knew nothing about any email and that we had been allocated a room in the new building not the. mansion house.
Back to the car and a short trip back to the new building we had passed and eventually checked in. On arrival there was a tray with unfinished food and drink opposite our room on the floor. This tray was still there when we checked out the following day even though later on the evening of our stay a young man was delivering food and drink to another room down the corridor. Why didnt he pick up the tray on the floor on his way back? The room itself was generally clean and tidy but the bath had hair in it and the toilet would not flush properly usually needing two attempts. Had we been staying longer I would have asked to be moved.
In the evening there was a lot of noise from other guests in the corridor, clearly having a good time and above us it sounded like furniture was being dragged around the room. This went on until late into the evening. Having read the reviews prior to arrival this appears not to be unusual in the new building and the very reason I had asked for a room in the mansion house. Would I stay again? I may try the mansion house but not the new building and certainly not for what was intended to be a romantic valentines break. A disappointing stay.

Reviewed by
D Greenhalgh

From UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good hotel but parched at breakfast
Waitress very slow at breakfast taking the order. For morning coffee. Perhaps if we could serve ourselves this would be better as we already serve ourselves for everything else.

Reviewed by
Warwick Holt

From Ilford, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hotel wokefield park.
Wokefield park is lovely looking on the out side and the grounds are well kept. However I can not say the same for the inside! The inside of the hotel is not well maintained and the hygiene is terrible. The customer service was great and we got upgraded free of charge due to there being some sort of mould/fungus in the first room. The room we stayed in wasn't much better.
My partner and I wanted to get married at wokefield park hotel but after spending the night and looking around we have changed our minds.

Reviewed by
Billy P

From Bagshot, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Business stay

Reviewed by
Mark A

From Melton Mowbray, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Extremely disappointed with this hotel (business travel)
having stayed in numerous De Vere hotels over the years travelling on business, we expected this to be a equally positive experience, which it was sadly, not.
Having not read the reviews before coming (my colleagues had), we needed to book this hotel due to a business event taking place there, lack of options really - however we have used De Vere for many bookings before very successfully so assumed this would be no different.
I really don't know where to start about what was bad... almost everything, the whole experience was a million miles away from a 3* commercial hotel venue of this size and brand.
The sat nav took us roughly to the venue, although with the lack of signage outside (in the dark, no lights on the entrance either) we missed the venue the first time around and had to double back, not the best start but not detrimental either.
On arrival the reception lady was poorly trained, didn't make eye contact hardly throughout the conversation - she wasn't serving anyone else, just messing on the computer.
We had booked 4 days before, via Laterooms, yet they couldn't find our booking! (not the best start!) - we had paid in full on the options of no cancellations via Laterooms with the confirmation stating that payment had been taken, yet she told me it hadn't and that I would have to pay again (which I politely refused) after negotiation she booked us into the rooms.
We left with our keys after being pointed towards a door, and off we went with 3 room bookings for multi sex co-workers. The rooms were disappointing, small, scruffy and very poorly maintained - not at all the usual standard we have come to expect from De Vere.
The first and second rooms was a double (not a problem, two women sharing), the third was a double also, despite us booking a twin as it was for a male and female.
We trudged back to reception and complained, they changed the room fairly quickly, for a twin, one much nearer the reception and also much nicer! (so they do have nice rooms)
The new room was well decorated, spacious, clean and much more modern and well maintained than ours just a few steps down the corridor, overall, not a great impression.
By this time, after 4 hours driving we were simply too tired, so went to the bar for some food, it was only one night after-all....
The bar was an experience in itself - when we walked down the bizarre exhibition area from reception (with a random car parked in there!!) we took a few steps down to the bar, where we were immediately faced with piles and piles (looked like days) of dirty plates, leftover food and cutlery shoved in the right hand corner, which had tried to be disguised by a roller banner ... what a nice thing to see when entering an eating establishment.
We couldn't go anywhere else because its literally in the middle of nowhere, so we sat down, and ordered food at the bar.
The bill came to over £250 and the food was more than poor - stone cold, we had to send three peoples back, crap quality and again lacked anything we had at other hotels (and we travel a fair amount) + our starters came out at the same time as the mains, and all we got was ' sorry, its all been cooked now, where shall we put it!' .... are you kidding me?
The bar staff (all male) were very busy pissing around behind the bar, soon changed the channel to football so they could all watch the match.... great!
Overall, shocking experience, I don't have much good to stay about the place!
Not a 3*... more like a 1.5*

Reviewed by
Claire C

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very helpful and friendly staff.

Reviewed by
Vivien M

From Leominster, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not bad for a 3 star
Room was dusty, smell of damp and musty
Décor dated and not of high quality
furniture dated
Receptionist struggled to understand I did not have breakfast on the day I checked in, I had to repeat 3 times, not sure she really understood then.

Reviewed by
Kevin R

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not as cosy as Highfield
Prior to staying at this De Vere we stayed at the one in Hampshire for the same price and I just felt there was a nicer ambience. Although the room was big there was a spider and two dragon flys in the room on the nets. Check in was basic check out was much more courteous

Reviewed by
Rainon A

From London, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next