No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Beckett Guesthouse

3Visit England Assessed Guest Accommodation Ratings explained
58 Bootham Crescent, YORK, YO30 7AH
EXPERIENCE THE PERFECT CITY CENTRE LOCATION. ENJOY THE PERFECT START TO YOUR DAY WITH OUR TRADITIONAL BREAKFAST AT NO EXTRA COST. ONLY FIVE MINUTES STROLL TO THE MINSTER AND OLDE WORLDE COBBLED SHOPPING STREETS. IDEAL FOR WEEKEND BREAKS PAUL & MELISSA welcomes you to some genuine hospitality in her lovely, 140 year old, Superior Victorian Town house. A warm welcome, fantastic freshly cooked full English breakfast, comfortable rooms, bed and breakfast, easy walking distance to all attractions City centre. Family run. short breaks, business travellers and couples. Visitors from all over the world. Repeat bookings. Lots of cafes and restaurants close by. Our guests come back to us time and again. The guest comes first in The Beckett. **PLEASE NOTE: ALL OUR GUEST BEDROOMS ARE NON-SMOKING**
Free on-street parking
Picture of Beckett Guesthouse, YORK at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 10 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
88% recommended this accommodation to a friend 88% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

My host was friendly and helpful. Staying alone I felt comfortable and welcome. Lovely breakfast, a good selection to choose from.

Reviewed by
Jacky S

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Value for money
Fantastic weekend in York! Hotel is conveniently located and only 10 to 15 minute walk to town centre. Free on street parking with permit. Room basic, decor a bit dated but room very comfortable and clean. Fantastic hostess and attentive waitresses at breakfast. Breakfast was the highlight of the stay! Fantastic choice and great quality well cooked hot food!

Reviewed by
Dawn Lavery

From Eccles Manchester , UK
Who stayed in May 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Outstanding home from home
I'm always put on alert when I see so many effusive and ultra positive reviews about a guesthouse or hotel and I expect many others are too.
So I'm going to put them all on alert. The Beckett lives up to it all - Melissa and her crew were all so wonderfully welcoming and helpful that I feel I might just go back to York and stay with them for its own sake: the joys of York are many, but here they have a little edge of joy and friendship that transcends all other reasons for going.
There: and I've never done a positive review before.

Reviewed by
Jeremy English

From Romsey, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The little jewel of York
I had to find some accommodation quickly as close to York centre as possible a couple of weekends ago. I chanced upon the Beckett guest house and booked a single room. I arrived much later than planned but I still got a warm welcome. I found that I'd been upgraded to a double at no extra charge. The room was small but perfectly adequate, a little on suite shower and loo and even Wi-Fi. Another hassle for me was the fact that I'd miss a cooked breakfast as I was to leave too early to enjoy it. Not a problem for the Beckett though, a fabulously thick bacon sarnie was waiting for me at reception as promised as I left. Smaller than the kind of room you'd get in a Travel Lodge but so much more friendly and accommodating. Treated like a real person.

Reviewed by
andrew starkey

From Stoke on Trent, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good Value for Money
Warm room, comfortable bed, friendly service, good breakfast

Reviewed by
Geoff T

From London, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

York Uni
Melissa was very nice, thanks for a nice stay!

Reviewed by
Andy Lyndon

From Wednesbury, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent locality for football and local bars. Would have no hesitation in returning and recommending to others it suited us for our short stay as our trip was associated with football. Thank you for the warm welcome and friendly atmosphere.

Reviewed by
elaine Carson

From Antrim, England
Who stayed in September 2013

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Exceptional value for money
Really impressive, well furnished, friendly and quiet B&B. Excellent breakfast, 15 mins walk into city. Booked for £30 per night B&B via late rooms - can't fault it, would strongly recommend for this price.

Reviewed by
J Roughton

From Hereford, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great stay
I work away a lot and this is one of the best guest houses I have stayed in, we were made to feel welcome the room was clean,confortable and nice and warm with all you needed in it with wifi, car parking right outside and a 5min walk to the city centre. I hope to stay here again..

Reviewed by
peter boyle

From Warrington, UK
Who stayed in February 2013

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

York Guest Houses

Reviewed by
D Noble

From Plymouth, UK
Who stayed in November 2012

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.