Reviews - Britannia Adelphi Hotel, City Centre

3

Ranelagh Place, Liverpool, L3 5UL

Price From 264.81 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Good

All reviews (297)

59% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • John D

  • January 2016

Very disappointing

I tend not to believe the bad reviews of hotels - however, I can see why the Adelphi has got such a bad reputation.

The hotel is an iconic building in a really convenient location near to Lime St station and the city centre, but they are living on past glories. The room I booked was an "Executive Double". It was definitely NOT high quality, with strong draughts through the windows, no heating in the bathroom and generally tired and broken fixtures and fittings. The attitude of the staff doesn't help - I won't go into details here, suffice to say that my already jaded view of the hotel was not improved by the way I was treated. If the room had been half the price I paid, it would have still been twice as much as it was worth. Pick one of the many other hotels in the city until this place pulls its socks up.

  • Dianne B

  • January 2016

Girly weekend

Hotel is in great location, close to the train station, city centre and bars.

Room was clean and very warm and the bed was very comfortable,there was a certain amount of traffic noise but nothing that kept us awake!

  • Carol A

  • January 2016

Student mom

Excellent value for money.

Helpful and friendly staff. The hotel entrance, bar, lounge absolutely beautiful - reminiscent of a bygone time. My room was spacious, clean, well furnished and the bed very comfy. Huge bath tub which was wonderful for a relaxing soak. It was great to stay in a hotel room that didn't look the same as every other hotel room I stay in. Loved it and will stay again when visiting my son.

  • nicolettee b

  • December 2015

Britannia Adelphi Hotel, City Centre

avoid

  • L Jones

  • December 2015

not happy at all

Massive bedroom but very sparse .

Everything about the room was tired from decor to the cleanliness of the bathroom dirty grouting and a smell of body odour. The hallway leading to the room stank of rotten veg which was really off putting. Not recommended for the price !!!

  • K Harper

  • December 2015

In city centre other than that over priced and rubbish never again

  • Sharon A

  • December 2015

Beautiful hotel ... Rooms need a facelift and needs new lifts

Booked the hotel for myself, my husband and 2 others (3 rooms).

On entering the hotel I was very impressed. Gorgeous features, Christmas music playing, thought I was into a winner. It was exactly 2 o'clock and the queue to check in was huge. It didn't go down very quickly either. When we eventually reached the desk, we had booked through 2 agencies for 2 nights (getting the best price). I had rung the hotel ahead to make them aware to make sure we had the same rooms, but it was obviously a wasted phone call. On explanation (again) I explained that I didn't have to check in twice I would pay now and eventually the receptionist checked us in. I asked him to put comments on my friends rooms (they travelled separately) but unfortunately his instructions were lost in translation to their receptionist. We waited for the lift. We waited. We waited. 2 lifts for over 400 rooms and both tediously slow. (My friend was stuck for 5 minutes at one point in it). After an age it came. On getting out on the 3rd floor it was obvious that tlc was needed. The carpet needed a good shampoo. It was clean though and the marbelled walls that led the way to our room were like something out of poirot episode. Charming. I was disappointed with the room after seeing the grand features outside. Small, basic, badly lit and a bit like my old nans spare room. Old furniture (old hotel so why not) but in need of a little restoration. It had the potential to be beautiful and without spending a fortune on it. The bathroom .... Lovely marbel tops. But a 1960s suit. It wasn't appealing. There was toothpaste in the sink and lipstick on the glasses, as well as dust in the corners of the floor. Oh and the plug chain was broken. But serviceable.

This leads me to breakfast. After spending the night in a surprisingly very comfortable bed, we made our way to breakfast. We walked down the stairs so to avoid waiting for the lift for ages. The stair case was beautiful. Like downtown abbey if I'm honest.

We will skip past the enormous queue as it was the busiest time. Lots of choice it has to be said. But my ... They really want to make sure that bacon is cooked. Both days ... Cremated and leathery bacon. Not very appetising. And the eggs running in fat still cooking. But got at least and fresh. The staff were really helpful. Coffee was in flasks on each table but you had to flag down anyone with a teapot to pour you a cup.

In summary. A beautiful hotel with so many original features and the reality that for a facelift it could be back to its former glory let down by silly things that could be easily rectified.

  • Kimberley Roberts

  • December 2015

Filthy

Got to our room and there was a big ball of someones hair under the TV unit (room 365) and the tao in the bath just fell off.

Pokey room for two as well. Not good. May return for a second chance

  • kevin a

  • December 2015

Pleasant stay

Plenty of character.

Friendly staff. A little dated but just adds to the character. Room was lovely always warm and hot water. Breakfast was amazing. The wave bar on the side was really good although don't think the lady wanted to serve me, pleasant enough when she did (eventually). Reception lady was wonderful and helpful. Fabulous location. All good for me and the husband.

  • Joanne P

  • November 2015

Would rather have slept in the car!

Stay clear of this hotel.

For such a grand hotel in the heart of the city this was such a disappointment. Carpets filthy and threadbare. Shower had two set points - Baltic cold and scalding hot. Windows rattled all night in the wind. Food like slop and to make matters worse we had to queue up just to get into the dining room to eat that. My husband commented that he had stayed in barracks better than this. On checking out we were not even asked if we enjoyed our stay or if everything was ok - I think they know better than to ask guests this now. Even the staff uniforms were shabby with white blouses an overwashed drab shade of grey. Charged £90 for the privilege of staying here and to be honest next time I would rather sleep in my car than spend another night here.