No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Britannia Adelphi Hotel, City Centre

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Ranelagh Place , Liverpool, L3 5UL
The internationally famous Adelphi hotel is a superbly appointed hotel, right in the heart of Liverpool adjacent to Lime Street Station. The elegantly appointed public areas and restaurants have been restored to provide stunning facilities. All 402 en-suite bedrooms and bathrooms are Edwardian style with plenty of character.

You will be spoilt for choice at Crompton’s restaurant which serves delicious French Cuisine, Jenny’s offers the perfect Carvery dishes.
The stylish WAVE bar is funky and fashionable with large screens for viewing sporting events. Jenny’s bar opens all day and ideal for that pre-dinner aperitif.

Boasting a Leisure club, with swimming pool, gym and much more, take advantage and allow time to unwind, per Session, £4.00 for an adult and £2.00 for a child. Towels are available for hire at a cost of £1.00.

The hotel has 14 Conference Rooms that can cater for up to 1500 people, one room holding 850 people alone. WIFI is free to all guests and is available in all public areas of the hotel.

We have limited car parking with an over night price of £6 and a 24 hour price of £12 which matches the NCP car park opposite.

Picture of Britannia Adelphi Hotel, City Centre, Liverpool at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 463 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
60% recommended this accommodation to a friend 64% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Adelphi Hotel Liverpool
For our visit this hotel was perfect in its location ( approx 300 metres from the railway station ) and was also within walking distance of the venue we were visiting.

Reviewed by
b clark

From UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great location for the city
Excellent location to visit all parts of Liverpool Centre
The only issue was one of the lifts not working however this did not cause any inconvenience.
I asked for decaffeinated coffee for breakfast and the waitress obtained this for me without problem even though it was not readily available and the buffet breakfast was good.
I have stayed here before and will stay again.

Reviewed by
Frank S

From Leigh, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Britannia Adelphi Hotel, City Centre
Brilliant stay staff were excellent. Will be coming again.

Reviewed by
Sean Marsh

From Bolton, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

what a disapointment and waste of money
we stayed at the Adelphi hotel in Liverpool and paid £189 for one night
the hotel did not have there own car park so there was a charge of £12 to park the car overnight
it was purpose to be a nice romantic night for valentine's day with a superior room with a Jacuzzi bath and a large double bed sounds nice BUT the room was NOT that clean with stains over the carpets the paint work was all chipped and flaky in places
the bed was only a small double
the Jacuzzi bath was such a let down there was mould all round the bath and when we tried the Jacuzzi it fill the bath with crap and floating bits of crap it was enough to put us off from using it even the toilet roll holder was broken
we were meant to have free internet with the room but it was locked and there was no password given at check in
I know these are only small things but it was enough to spoil our valentines evening and we will not be going back there again

Reviewed by
ian davies

From Wrexham, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not a good experience
Where do we start? I took my wife for a surprise, last minute Valentine's break to Liverpool.
When we arrived I was told I didn't have a booking. Then I was told that we were booked in on the wrong day and they'd charged me a no-show fee, however to be fair to them they did admit their mistake and offered to take the fee off the price of the room.
However, I had paid for a luxury double room with a Jacuzzi and they didn't have any left, so they gave us a standard double FOR THE SAME PRICE. I did question this and they just shrugged it off and said that the rooms were listed wrong on LateRooms, and that was the only room they had.
After we complained to LateRooms, a rep phoned the hotel to try and sort it out, but they called back and said they offered us dinner and breakfast as a 'peace offering'. I didn't want dinner or breakfast, or a peace offering. I wanted the room we'd bought at the price we'd paid. But my soul was already destroyed at this point.
Then it got worse.
The room we were given was grubby and poorly maintained. The cold tap in the sink didn't work at all, the hot tap leaked, there was something resembling pizza smeared up the side of the lampshade, a rip in the carpet, strange brown splats down the back of the radiator, inches deep of dust on the skirting boards, and damp coming through the wall.
The room was tiny and definitely not worth £140. I've stayed in hotels in better condition with larger rooms for half the price.
And the noise... my god. There's a nightclub in the basement and it was thumping out music for hours, and hours. We were on the 5th floor, right at the back of the building, and it was unbearable.
Had we paid £50 for the room, I wouldn't be complaining, but at £140 for one uncomfortable sleepless night this place was an absolute joke.
Never going back again.

Reviewed by
John B

From Shipley, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

weekend in liverpool
Not sure what the other rooms were like in the hotel but ours was awful. Room on the 6 floor with mould around the ceiling and wallpaper hanging off, floor carpet didn't reach the edges of the room and sticky bathroom floor.

Reviewed by
jenny t

From UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

room a little tired but overall good value
had a pleasant stay all staff very friendly breakfast very good location excellent good value big fine old building in need of a little TLC but overall saticfactory for priice

Reviewed by
s donald

From Workington, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Disgusting and filthy
we stayed in room 617 - it was filthy, dingy, very dated and tired with furniture being broken - this resulted in the whole room being deep cleaned in our absence in the evening. This has always been an iconic part of Liverpool history - my visit shattered all illusions of any prestige or grandeur. I have made a formal complaint for compensation and I am awaiting a response from the hotel manager. I would not reccomend a stay in this hotel to any visitor to Liverpool.

Reviewed by
Debra W

From Bedford, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room
Was a really nice hotel staff were good when we checked in. The only bad part was the morning after when I wanted a shower the mixer taps were broken so when we was checking out I told them and they didn't really seam bothered not even a sorry which I thought spoiled the whole experience.

Reviewed by
Wayne B

From Doncaster, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice hotel
Pleased with my stay. At first we got a shabby room, but we only use the room for sleeping. It was a event or something on the evening, so it was loud music and the floor was shaking in our room. Went down to the reception and got a new room right away. The new room was very nice and we did not hear any noise there. The hotel is very central. Will probably stay there again, if the price is okay.

Reviewed by
J Iversen

From Norway
Who stayed in February 2015

Group of men

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next